We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value if the price is right” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #109 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Ohio
Level Contributor
286 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Good value if the price is right”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very good location, very good staff and if you are traveling with kids, they seems to cater to families.

Dated rooms, wall paper bubbling up. Very small rooms, many kids running around the hotel. Noisy rooms at night, not the best sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xcapeohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    1,006
    588
    222
    101
See reviews for
445
394
103
1,221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northwest IN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here this past weekend and had a wonderful time. The guy that checked us in was extremely nice and helpful. The rooms were pretty average but we loved being on the 42nd floor. The hotel was full but we never had issues with waiting for elevators. We loved the pool area and my husband said the workout room was great. The lobby seems to be a very popular place. There is a bar in the middle and tons of seating. It was always full of activity when we were there.

The location is great. There is a mall next door (we discovered this after walking several blocks down to Water Tower). Also, it is about a 15 minute walk to Navy Pier. There are a ton of restaurants to choose from. I recommend Grand Lux Cafe, which is only a block away. This place was awesome - beautfiul and great food! We went for breakfast and then again on Easter.

When booking the Marriott. look at the packages. We were able to get park and stay package for the same price as the room alone. We stayed two nights and parking is $42 a day at the parking lot across the street, so this saved us a TON. It also made it the cheapest hotel option. (we were originally going to stay at the Springhill or Courtyard, but with the parking package the Marriott was the best value).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indianatraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the downtown Marriott on Magnificent Mile during my daughter's spring break from HS. We enjoyed a wonderful couple days shopping, dining and seeing the sites. The location was perfect, we could walk to everything! Money saved from cab fare added to our shopping spree. Marriott staff were very friendly and accommodating, from check-in, to conceierge to housekeeping. A special thanks to Devon who helped u s check in and get our bearings as to where we were on the Mag Mile and ideas for dinner that evening. Will definitely go back next time we want to stay in Chicago!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This Chicago Marriott is right downtown and is in a good location to everything. We were in town for a weekend meeting and use the hotel F&B services which were excellent. The rooms are typical for a convention style hotel. This is a very large property. One thing that could be changed is that the club needs to located away from the main lobby (it is located on the second floor rather than on a high floor with a view).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orthodontics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of the Magnificent Mile with lots of shopping and restaurants at its door step. It is a large hotel with many rooms and therefore not as quaint or personal, but the staff did a nice job of offering suggestions and being helpful. We requested (and received) two adjoining rooms. The beds have the special memory foam mattress topper which make for an extremely comfortable nights' sleep. The rooms were on the smaller side, but that was fine. We had a lovely view of the city from the 28th floor. The rate was competitive. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canandaiguanative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
381 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

A last minute decision to stay in Chicago led me to this hotel. I got a great rate. Upon arrival by taxi the hotel entrance was flooded with people. The doorman did not open the door and when I requested he eventually gave me a tag for bags that I would eventually give to the bellmen. I checked in went up to my room (which I was not too pleased with) and went down to Rush to have a drink before dinner. Daniel the bartender was great and lobby bar was hopping with guest who were a part of a medical conference.

Before I went to dinner I stopped at the front desk and to be moved. When I returned from dinner I was moved into the exact same on another floor - facing the city. The next morning I stopped at the Elite desk where I was then changed into a larger king size room with a great water view and my visit got better from there.

Everyday this hotel was filled with people watching the NCAA basketball games. The homemade chips with onion dip was so good. The gym was pretty cool. Room service was timely. In the end this was a good place to relax in the heart of town feeling the pulse of the city and a nice weekend hideaway.

The cable connection on back of the TV had to be jimmied to maintain a consistent picture. The nights stands were mismatched in this room. No worries, when all was said and done... the wifi internet and phone connection was consistent ($14.95 p/d) and I was able to take a couple of conference calls Monday morning and get some work done before heading to lunch with friends.

Room Tip: 3918 was a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dMoniqueRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Marriott downtown for easter weekend. We booked the park and play package which was great as it included parking. It was a beautiful weekend weather wise and location was awesome so we took advantage and walked around quite a bit. Location was perfect lots of great restaurants nearby as well as the movie theatre not to forget MI ave if needed to shop. Hotel itself was just ok. The rooms were a bit too tiny for me but location made up for it all. Had a drink at the Rush bar in the lobby and our bartender Daniel was great. I think we will definitely be back as the weather warms up.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dearly4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#73 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,167 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#3 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,161 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 540 N Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#88 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 1198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're not your average Michigan Avenue hotel. We're your host to help you experience Chicago to its fullest. Magnificent shopping. Renowned dining. Chicago's top attractions - Navy Pier, American Girl Place, Millennium Park, Theaters and Museums- a walk away. And when you are done exploring, we've got renovated luxury Chicago hotel rooms to relax and recharge. With 90,000 sq. ft. of versatile event space, we are a Chicago luxury hotel that provides a polished setting for productive business engagements, cherished social gatherings, and elegant wedding receptions. When you are with us, forget your standard hotel lobby and discover the M.I Greatroom, where business and pleasure come together in an expansive, comfortable, workable place. Grab a bite at Rush Street Pantry, our new lobby marketplace concept, with Chef-crafted food focusing on fast, fresh, gourmet options. At the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel, we don't want to just be your place to stay. We want to help you travel brilliantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing