We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms not up to par” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #109 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Kelowna
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rooms not up to par”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had a corner room with a great view but it smelled musty and showed signs of water damage. Just not really what should be expected at a Marriot. The location is great close to shopping and many places to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snipes28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    1,006
    588
    222
    101
See reviews for
445
394
103
1,221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta,ga
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott this weekend to celebrate the 10th anniversary of my 40th birthday. You can do the math on that one later.

Location and walking:

Ahem. Now for the review. This is a great location. It's in the heart of all of the glitzy shops found on Michigan Ave. Chicago is my hometown but I live in Atlanta now. It was great to take in the city as a tourist. You can walk just about anywhere from this hotel. You only need a rental car if you are going way out somewhere. Walking is probably the top option all would choose during the summer and fall months. We were able to walk to Navy Pier in 15 mins. There are plenty of buses, cute trolley cars (which I believe are free) and cabs to get you to all the tourist destinations.

Concierge:
The concierge desk is manned with at least 3 people to assist. They are located in the super beautiful lobby area. The bar is right smack in the middle with plenty of seating. It's truly a "hot spot" for everyone staying there. On the 2nd floor is a business center with a FEDEX office if needed.

Breakfast:
Speaking of the 2nd floor, this is the location of their awesome breakfast buffet. You can order off the menu but as your server will explain, anything and they mean Anything off the menu can be found in the buffet. They will also custom make an omlette for you at no extra charge. I also highly recommend the chicken sausage.

Noise:
Now for the noise. No worries about noisey guests. It's the noise outside that may get to others. Since I am from Chicago, I was not surprised to hear sirens. This hotel and others are located very closely to one of the best hosptials in the city (Northwestern Hospital). You may hear sirens of ambulances on the way to the ER. If you think this would be too much, you may want to consider hotels that are further south on Michigan Avenue passed Wacker Drive...go ahead I know you want snicker. :-)
Walking is feasible but when you head South on Michigan Ave, there is not too much happening unless you go on State street. For ambiance in my humble Chgo gal experience, I think Michigan Avenue is better.

Shopping at the hotel:
I should mention this hotel is connected to a Nordstrom and Forever 21 so that may be another reason to stay here. There are other stores inside.

More on the room:
The bathrooms are a little small but the big plus was having a couch in our King size bed area.
Overall I would stay here again if given the option. There are other Marriott properties in close proximity like Marriott Courtyard and Marriott Residence Inn.

Overall..phenominal stay for a birthday weekend!

p.s. Ignore my rating on the spa. They don't have one. I was clicking too fast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melnatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This trip was the most amazing experience and it's all because of the customer service at the Marriott hotel on Michigan Ave. I'm a Marriott Platinum member and have been for the past 7 years. This was far and away the best hotel I've stayed at. Upon check in I was named "Guest of the Day." The hotel staff upgraded me to a suite with 2 bedrooms, which was very exciting for my girls weekend with my 3 aunts. I recieved 2 complementary drinks at the bar, 2 complementary breakfast buffets and a complementary appitizer. We had a few issues with the room (the TV didn't work...simply unplugged, the room was very hot and wouldn't cool down and the toilet ran), no big deal. The customer service was incredible. Things were fixed in a matter of minutes and the hotel staff was on top of everything and very apologetic! On Friday evening I asked the lady at check in if I could trade in my drink tickets for a free movie and of course she agreed. In fact, she let me keep the drink tickets. The bellmen were wonderful, the check in folks were curdious and I will stay here everything I come back to Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaBebe_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansastraveler74
Level Contributor
321 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel! Excellent views overlooking the city! We had an excellent experience! Nice large suite on the 45 floor. Very helpful staff at check in.

Breakfast buffet was average.

Overall, great hotel in an excellent location. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkansastraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed here three (3) nights while attending a conference and enjoyed the comfort, cleanliness, and amenities of the hotel. Disclaimer: I did stay in a hospitality suite. My only complaint was the lack of power outlets convenient to the bed in the suite: no place to charge my mobile overnight and have it beside me with the white noise app playing. There are plenty of restaurants and bars in downtown Chicago to keep you fed and watered for weeks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeganTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is my second visit to Chicago in the last 18 monhts. Last time we stayed at the Sofitel. We tried booking Sofitel this time but they were fully booked on the dates were were in Chicago.

Comparing Downtown Marriott to Sofitel, Marriott is definitely more run down in terms of the room size, especially the washroom. The shower is weak and so small. You can hardly find space to place the shower mat. There was no mini fridge nor electric kettle (they do have a coffee maker). Consider such a brand name hotel, they only provide paper cups for client use. Price-wise, it is comparable to Sofitel. Definitely not good value for money paid.

What good about this hotel is the location. it is in the center of the Magnificent Mile and is easily access to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Nothing to add
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Illinois
Level Contributor
189 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

From the minute we got out of our cab, someone was there to help us. Check in was fast and the staff helpful and pleasant. There was staff waiting to make sure everyone was taken care of promptly. There is a bar in the center of the hotel that is very busy and can be loud later in the evening. My room had a king bed and was a little small but this is downtown Chicago! The bathroom was also small and there were some minor cosmetic things that could be fixed but I was very pleased with the room. Phone worked, air worked, plenty of towels, room service was good, and view was beautiful from the 20th floor!!! I hope to being my husband and daughter back soon.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jamiern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#73 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,167 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#3 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,162 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 540 N Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#88 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 1198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're not your average Michigan Avenue hotel. We're your host to help you experience Chicago to its fullest. Magnificent shopping. Renowned dining. Chicago's top attractions - Navy Pier, American Girl Place, Millennium Park, Theaters and Museums- a walk away. And when you are done exploring, we've got renovated luxury Chicago hotel rooms to relax and recharge. With 90,000 sq. ft. of versatile event space, we are a Chicago luxury hotel that provides a polished setting for productive business engagements, cherished social gatherings, and elegant wedding receptions. When you are with us, forget your standard hotel lobby and discover the M.I Greatroom, where business and pleasure come together in an expansive, comfortable, workable place. Grab a bite at Rush Street Pantry, our new lobby marketplace concept, with Chef-crafted food focusing on fast, fresh, gourmet options. At the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel, we don't want to just be your place to stay. We want to help you travel brilliantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing