We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“$110/night winning Priceline bid on 4* North Michigan Ave. area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #109 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
342 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“$110/night winning Priceline bid on 4* North Michigan Ave. area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Don't be afraid to use Priceline, as all their hotels in this area are pretty good. This hotel was no exception. We had two rooms and they were able to give us one room with two queens and one with a king sized bed right across the hall from each other. One room was available for early check-in, which was nice. When we walked into the hotel, one of my teens announced that it reminded him of a cruise ship. This is because the lobby is also one big bar, filled with people. It's hard to hear. Because the free wireless is only available on the first and second floors, there are also people sitting around on laptops everywhere, too. The rooms were small, particularly the bathroom. It may have been the smallest bathroom I have ever seen, as you could stretch your arms and practically touch both walls at once. The rooms/lobby are nicely decorated, but showing some mild wear. Beds were comfortable and the shower pressure was great. Views from our rooms on 15th floor were excellent. I thought the elevators were more than adequate during our stay. Special thanks to George, in security, who made sure a letter was held and then delivered to me when I checked in.
TIPS:
1. The main hotel entrance is actually on Rush Street. Don't even bother looking for it on Michigan Ave, unless you are walking, as there is no place to pull up a car to unload.
2. Parking is $40 is you self-park at the garage at the corner of Rush and Ohio. The entrance is on Ohio. If you use the hotel valet, it's $50
3. For breakfast, I recommend the Corner Bakery. Go out the Michigan Ave. entrance and take a right. It's one block down the street.
4. If you want a quiet, romantic bar, walk next door to the Conrad. They have a rooftop bar on the same floor as their lobby.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to use Priceline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tamaralea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    1,006
    588
    222
    101
See reviews for
445
394
103
1,221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Was here in business. The hotel does a lot of convention business, so check in was a bit of a mess as the previous convention was leaving when I arrived. Neverless, the desk clerk was friendly and did their best to get people moving as quickly as possible.

Rooms are showing their age. The outlets in my room were pretty scary. Very loose and worn. Beds were decent, but nothing special. I did appreciate that they had several types of pillows, which is always a nice touch. Bathroom is small, but fiunctional. Oh, and they charge for Internet access.

Bar was nice, but expensive. Staff did a great job of dealing with a constant crowd.

Location is prime, with the front door right on Michigan Ave. Very nice shopping in the area, and wonderful restaurants and other night life. Walking distance to Navy Pier.

Overall, pretty much an average hotel. There was nothing that stood out at particularly positive, and nothing that stoof out as particularly negative. Well, maybe the shoddy electical outlets.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank eldub1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Had a great winter experience in Chicago while staying at this Marriott. The rooms are quiet and clean, the location is a perfect starting point for sight-seeing and shopping, and the Starbucks in the lobby helped prepare me to face the cold each morning. They happened to have a really cool gingerbread display when I stayed there (in December), too. Normally hotel bars don't seem very popular, but this one was always lively as I was coming and going. Helpful staff when we needed public transportation information.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank proudbrunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Beautiful lobby and VERY comfortable beds, pillows and a great shower (really what else is essential when traveling??). The room was not large but three adult females and their shopping purchases fit in it with no difficulties for a weekend visit. The elevators were very slow though we were luckier than some folks and only waited a maximum of about five minutes. I would certainly recommend this hotel and stay there again on a future visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewHampshireSusieQ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

I stayed with my wife and two young daughters for two nights in late July. We booked the hotel at a really great price via Priceline. Overall, the hotel was very nice. Below are the pros and cons:

Pros:
- Great location on Michigan Ave. Really close to the River and all shopping. Even Navy Pier is not too far
- Room was very clean (we had a King Executive with pull-out couch)
- Bathroom was very clean, albeit small
- Staff were very helpful at all times (see below)
- The bed was very comfortable and the furnishings were new and nice looking

Cons:
- They must have broken elevators. We needed to use the low-rise ones based on being on the 16th floor. However, at times, we would have to wait 5-10 minutes for the elevator. It made running down to the lobby to go to Starbucks out of the question. There was no quick way to leave the floor. We often had to wait in lines in the lobby to catch one back up. They really need to get this corrected.
- Small bathrooms
- Costly parking ($48 for valet per day)
- Pulling up to valet is difficult as the drieway can only hold 4-5 cars. The street (Brush I think) gets backed up waiting for cars to turn into the hotel.
- Pool was closed for one part of the weekend while they tried to determine the cause of some mysterious bubbles on the water surface. Pool was a little small but otherwise okay. Some rowdy children in the pool so some oversight by the staff would have helped (as the parents were not doing their job).

My one daughter had a little accident in the pool (no, not that kind) and needed to go to the hospital. The security staff assisted us in getting transportation to the hospital (offered to call an ambulance but it was not necessary). They locked out our room (as it was near check-out time) and were there to assist us once we got back from the emergency room. That was greatly appreciated.

All-in-all a good experience. Would stay there anytime I am in Chicago if they get the elevator issue sorted out.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fit4lyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed in the Marriott in Chicago in late 2010 as a couple for 4 nights and it was wonderful. We were lucky enough to book it through priceline and so ended up paying only $100 a night (which to us Brits at £50 is amazing!) At that price, it's really good value for money (positives and negatives listed below)

Positives:
1. Location - fantastic, central and close to all the shops, walkabe distance to the museums and harbour/beach.
2. Room - our room was HUGE due to the fact that at the last minute, rather than giving us a standard double, they gave us a disabled room on one of the top floors. Therefore, we got about four times the size of a normal room, with FANTASTIC views of the city (I appreciate that this is not a typical benefit of the hotel).
3. Service - we had everything in our room, from the typical TV's, hairdryers etc to the more luxurious fridges and a microwave. The maids and staff were fantastic throughout.

Disadvantages:
1. Minor comment that breakfast wasn't included (unsurprisingly because of the cheap rate we paid).

Comment to all the non-chicagoeons:
For a traditional Chicago Pizza, go to Uno Chicago Grill nearish the hotel - they do traditional deep-pan pizzas (which are more like pies), but are lovely!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oreo_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We held our convention in Marriott Hotel Downtown Magnificent Mile. I may not have gone out for a tour of the city since i am part of the officers in this busy convention but I have met the many departmental managers who made us feel so very welcome and important. The staff of the hotel are very attentive to our needs during the many events of our group. The chef had done his best to accommodate our food requests and our gala food was perfect in serving size and great taste. The catering event order manager was so patient working with us all the way through the last day of our event and there was not a snag in every step of the way in our activities. Great staffing and great hotel to stay and deal business with.

Room Tip: Well just tell your request when you book the room and then call them back a few days to remind them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelitaBCasibang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#73 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,168 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#3 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,162 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 540 N Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#88 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 1198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're not your average Michigan Avenue hotel. We're your host to help you experience Chicago to its fullest. Magnificent shopping. Renowned dining. Chicago's top attractions - Navy Pier, American Girl Place, Millennium Park, Theaters and Museums- a walk away. And when you are done exploring, we've got renovated luxury Chicago hotel rooms to relax and recharge. With 90,000 sq. ft. of versatile event space, we are a Chicago luxury hotel that provides a polished setting for productive business engagements, cherished social gatherings, and elegant wedding receptions. When you are with us, forget your standard hotel lobby and discover the M.I Greatroom, where business and pleasure come together in an expansive, comfortable, workable place. Grab a bite at Rush Street Pantry, our new lobby marketplace concept, with Chef-crafted food focusing on fast, fresh, gourmet options. At the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel, we don't want to just be your place to stay. We want to help you travel brilliantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing