We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convention Stay”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #99 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Convention Stay”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

I was continually impressed the 4 days I spent at this hotel. All staff we had contact with were exceptional, (friendly, helpful, & pleasant). We visited during a convention. The hotel staff was informed and navigated the large number of people with grace. Our room was spacious and very clean. Parking was pricey ($78/24hrs) but we found a spot 2 blocks away on spot hero. It was very convenient and cost $68 for all 4 days with out in/out privileges. Lots of nearby restaurants and things happening in the 2 parks across the street. Total thumbs up for this hotel! A gem on the edge of the magnificent mile.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JohAnna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of the Hilton Chicago and with the quality of service you received from our staff. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your spacious and clean room accommodations and all the surrounding establishments. It’s always good to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests come to expect and deserve.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,858
    1,593
    907
    401
    196
See reviews for
1,026
853
236
2,146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Creston, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2014

A fantastic stay.....beautiful room with two bathrooms, grand entrance, tasty breakfast buffet and great location to enjoy the arts and shopping. The staff was very helpful and polite. I hope to return to the Chicago Hilton and encourage others to experience "Hilton Happiness!"

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our hotel, great location and with the quality of service you received from our staff. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your beautiful two bathrooms room accommodations and our breakfast buffet. It’s always good to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests come to expect and deserve.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed at the Hilton Chicago while In Town for business. The room was fantastic, bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The staff was very helpful and was quick to respond to an issue I had. A water pipe broke in the ceiling above the closet, soaking all my clothes and luggage. They quickly came in and inspected the room and apologized profusely. They then took and laundered all my clothes and dried my luggage. When I returned, I was upgraded to a lake-view room and was provided with $150 in gift certificates to the hotel restaurants and room service. Although this unfortunate and unusual incident took place, the hotel staff acted as professionals and made the rest of my stay fantastic.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms offer a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrOldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our hotel and with the quality of service you received from our staff. Again, please accept our sincere apologies for your experience due to a broken water pipe. I am delighted to hear the staff responded accordingly and made the rest of your stay fantastic. Our goal is to always provide the best possible service our guests come to expect and deserve.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had a great time at the Hilton Chicago! We had a very nice corner room which had views of Lake Michigan, the Navy Pier, and the Field Museum. This hotel is within walking distance to all major attractions in Chicago. The walk along the lake is easily accessible and beautiful. The bed was very comfortable. We thought the hotel was very expensive, but I suppose most hotels within Chicago are. There is a nice, small museum downstairs which explains the history of the hotel. It is definitely a classic hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a view. We saw rooms on the inside hallway, and they were VERY small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our classic hotel and convenient location. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your nice corner room accommodations with the comfortable bed. It’s always good to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests come to expect and deserve.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I would say this is my favorite hotel, it reminds me of a huge casino hotel in Vegas without the gambling with all the shops & places to eat!! The location is right across grant park on beautiful Lake Michigan ave. The rooms very modern with a vintage building feeling!!! The staff is top notch!!!

Room Tip: Ask for Lake view room at check in, better price than booking in advance on-line, it might even be f...
See more room tips
Green Features: Paper bags in rooms for cans & plastic great idea!!!!
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our hotel, convenient location and with the quality of service you received from our staff. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your modern room accommodations. It’s always good to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests come to expect and deserve.
Thank you for noticing our Green features and practices. We are very proud and dedicated to our continual efforts to the Green environment!
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenup, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Our family choose to stay at the Hilton during a trip for its central location to Chicago attractions. We opted to get a Lake View room and was astounded by the view we had. Our room was clean, furnishings were like brand new, and staff was professional. Only issue we had was during check in. Was paying with cash and had an issue with placing a hold on my debit card for the room due to not having the full reservation amount in my account. Had to spend time dealing with my bank to get approved for it but in the end didn't need it. Only needed to have a hold of $100 of my card since I was a cash customer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our hotel, convenient location and with the quality of service you received from our staff. It’s always good to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests come to expect and deserve.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Then you should go to Hilton Chicago. The room was extremely dusty the furniture’s were old and worn-out and the remote control to the TV was poor. Lots of hair was found in the bathroom when I arrived to the room, a thing that I find disgusting. The windows were very dirty with lots of spiders as well. On the positive side the hairdryer was functional, the breakfast was good and the service in the reception area was also what you would expect from a Hilton hotel. The view from my room on 20th floor was spectacular with a beautiful view over the Lake Michigan to one side and the city center to the other. Most rooms at the hotel though do not have a view at all considering the architecture leaving most roomviews: a wall. If you travel to Chicago with the purpose to see the city center this Hotel is located a bit far away and you need to walk for 20 minutes to reach the shopping center.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and the spectacular view of the lake.
Please accept my sincere apology for your disappointments with your room accommodations. Please be assured, your experience is not the normal level of service we provide or are known for. Please allow me to inform you, we recently completed a renovations project on some of our guestrooms with more rooms planned for the near future. These renovations brought new amenities such as in-room safes and refrigerators so we truly hope you will visit us again and come enjoy a newly remodeled room.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#131 of 189 in Chicago
1,959 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 189 in Chicago
8,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,047 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 189 in Chicago
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Property: Hilton Chicago
Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing