We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent service, fading grandeur”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #103 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 16, 2014

A brief 2-night stay at the Hilton Chicago. The Hilton is old, huge and heavily trafficked. I was on an unrenovated floor. Very wide, very long, very beige hallways that were once very grand but today recall the Overlook hotel in Stanley Kubrick's film "The Shining." There was always a wait at the front desk. Free wi-fi in the lobby was fast and easily accessed. In-room wi-fi sucked and cost $16 per day (charge was kindly refunded at check-out due to hassle). Almost all staff and reception were friendly and very helpful. My Northeast corner room was decent-sized but oddly configured with dated decor. Room could have been cleaner but I left note for housekeeping and they did a pretty good job. Room was otherwise comfortable with great views of Grant Park and Buckingham fountain.

Booked at last minute and there were conventions in town so the rate I paid per night was unconscionable (for Chicago). However, the hotel is in a fantastic location. Walking distance to almost all major Downtown Chicago attractions as well as all South Loop retail and grocery stores. The lobby and ballrooms are beautiful and well-maintained. Would only stay at Hilton Chicago again if I could get a better rate -- and I would insist on a renovated room.

Room Tip: Request renovated floor. Corner rooms are slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcHollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our great location and excellent service you received from our staff. I was pleased to hear you were comfortable in your room accommodations and you enjoyed the views.
Please accept my sincere apology for your disappointment with your internet experience. Your experience is not the typical service we provide. Our recent renovations project included our restaurant, bar, lobby, SNAX, our grab and go store and some of our guestrooms with more rooms planned for the near future. These renovations brought new amenities such as in-room safes and refrigerators. We truly hope you will visit us again and come enjoy a newly renovated room.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,793 - 2,799 of 5,239 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

Excellent location downtown, a spectacular old building with excellent rooms. We only stayed a night but had the service we would expect in a place like this. We had to cancel our second night due to a medical emergency and they refunded our payment no questions. The room was very comfortable but you could hear people in the hallway and the traffic noise on the streets below even with closed windows. I was surprised that you had to pay extra for WIFI in your room, extra (per-person) to use the exercise room, and of course no breakfast included. Perhaps that was how they manage the somewhat reasonable price per room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our hotel, excellent location and your comfortable room accommodations.
Please accept my sincere apology for the added internet and athletic club charges. Please be assured, we work hard to maintain one of the most competitive pricings for a large downtown area hotel.
Thank you for noticing our Green features and practices. We are very proud and dedicated to our continual efforts to the Green environment!
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

It took 4 attempts over two days to get key cards that actually opened the door to my room, and hotel staff was only marginally helpful. Having to stand and wait for help when I am a Gold member was frustrating, and level of service was just not up to normal Hilton par

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Sharan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and for being a loyal guest of the Hilton brand.

Please accept my sincerest apology for your disappointing experience with your attempts in obtaining a key card and the level of service you received from our staff. Please be assured, disappointments such as yours are not typical of the Hilton Chicago as we constantly strive to provide all of our valued guests with professional service and exceptional accommodations. I have spoken to the department head to ensure such incidents are not repeated and that any necessary re-training takes place.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My daughter had outpatient surgery that required a post-op overnight hotel stay. The Hilton staff made our stay incredibly comfortable - ensuring we had a quiet floor with a room close to the elevator bank, helping with wheel chair transport, arranging for food, calling to see how we were doing, and generally doing what they could to help in a stressful time.

Those that we had the most contact with made sure we had their names and direct numbers in case anything was needed (Thank you Ernestine and Marion!), and the other members of the staff were quick to respond to requests, too.

All in all a quality stay, and we're looking forward to going back in July for a night or two of fun.

Room Tip: Rooms with interior views are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TweetMeAllAboutIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation with the quality of service you received from our staff especially, Ernestine and Marion. It is always good to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests come to expect and deserve.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We recently spent a few days in Chicago and stayed at the HIlton. We have 2 kids, 7 & 10, and they loved the hotel. It is not only a beautiful hotel but also a landmark for the city. They are currently doing renovations to the hotel, and our room had not been updated. The rooms are on the small side. The beds were doubles, I personally feel queens should be the standard, but they were very comfortable. The TV was a flat screen, but the carpet and walls were still outdated. There was not a microwave or refrigerator in the rooms that have not renovated When we arrived the bathroom light was out, I called and withing minutes it was fixed. The parking is very expensive, around $50 a day, but there are several parking garages withing walking distance that are cheaper. We had also purchased Trolley tickets and the HIlton is one of the stops, which was very convenient. You have to check out the Ballroom, it is absolutely beautiful.

Room Tip: I booked online and got a better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Response:
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn you had a great stay and of your appreciation of our beautiful hotel and ballroom. I was pleased to hear your kids loved the hotel. As we continue our guestroom renovations, we are placing new amenities such as in-room safes and refrigerators. We look forward to your next visit in a renovated room and providing us with your feedback.
Please accept my sincere apology for our parking charges. Please be assured, we work hard to maintain one of the most competitive pricings for a large downtown area hotel.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Waiters, valet parking, cleaning ladies excellent service, very serviceable persons, love them !!! Reception Staff seems tired, not helpful at all, didn't clarify anything at check in, ending up paying more in parking because of their lack of clarification, wrong breakfast coupons, had to go back at least 2 more times to get it corrected.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Francisco Javie... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation with the quality of service you received from our staff especially, our waiters, valet service and housekeeping staff.
Please accept my sincere apology for the level of service you received from our Front Office staff. Please be assured, your disappointment is not the normal level of service we provide or are known for and that we constantly strive to provide all of our valued guests with professional service and exceptional accommodations.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This was the 3rd time I have stayed at this hotel. I have had good experiences each time. This time I had my 10-year-old granddaughter with me. I found the staff very helpful and courteous as they worked to check me in well before check-in time so that we could put our luggage in the room before we headed out to explore. My room was not one that had been recently remodeled, but it was clean and well-cared for. The hotel is massive but in a great location. The Hop on/Hop off bus has a stop at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiniMississippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of the Hilton Chicago, great location and with the quality of service you received from our staff. I was pleased to hear we were able to provide early check-in for you and that you enjoyed your room accommodations. It is always good to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests come to expect and deserve.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 192 in Chicago
6,935 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $104 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing