We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“please do not stay here”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #105 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 15, 2008

I had the misfortune to stay at the hilton chicago.The reason i chose the hilton was because i was running the marathon & it was the nearest hotel to the finish line offered to me by the organisers.A week before departure i rang the hotel to order a transfer from o'hare airport,i even checked the day before departure ! On arrival at the airport from the long flight from london,, guess what no transfer awaiting.. i called the hotel & an hour later a driver turned up.A taxi would have been better but there were 8 in our party.On arrival at the hotel the entrance facade is beautiful .. that is where things end.Check in was labourious & unfriendly.The one saving grace i thought was all the rooms were together.The rooms were like living on the dark side of the moon .. no daylight at all ...& for 400$ a night.our room was smelly as well.The restaurants well if you could call them that... no 1 another irish bar with food. No 2 the courtyard rest with a very average menu & barely edible food.Surly service rather than friendly .To cap things off on the day of departure at lunchtime.. guess what ?? ... After a morning's shopping we fancied a drink .. all the hotel bars were closed.. Pathetic.
All in all do not stay hear unless you are the US President ,they say they all have stayed there,It certainlly shows because a refurb since abrahan lincoln would not go amiss !!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firefly30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,722 - 4,728 of 5,386 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2008

We stayed in the Hilton Tower Hotel, in Chicago in August. We were assigned a large spacious double room with excellent amenities but had requested a room with a view of the lake and Millennium Park. While tempted to stay in this spacious room, we requested a move when we realised that the fridge cum mini-bar were unlocked and not working. We phoned customer service and were given a room on the 20th floor with a marvellous view of the lake. We were given complimentary breakfast vouchers for the in-convenience. This was a great hotel from which to explore Chicago and would definitely recommend. This was our 2nd stay with the Hilton Group and would definitely look out for their hotels in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JMOP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

I recently had a one-night stay at the Hilton Chicago and it was, possibly, the most average hotel experience I have ever had. Not too good, not too bad...just very bland.
The desk clerk was professional and friendly, but just friendly enough to do his job...very stand-offish. So it begins: nothing really negative, but nothing positive.
My room was smaller than expected, but the bathroom was very nice. Very average.
The food at Kitty O'Shea's was very average, and the service was just friendly enough, but not at all engaging. I wouldn't recommend the bar to anyone, but I wouldn't discourage anyone either.
Overall, I have no real complaints about the place, but no rave reviews either. So if you want an extraordinarily average hotel experience at an average price, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KJR0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton because we got a good deal. The staff were rude and not helpful. The first night was fine. The second day we were going to leave for the day to sight see and a housekeeper was near by. She asked us if we were checking out and we said no just sight seeing. We returned in the evening to find the contents of our suitcases flung around the room, my purse on the bed spilled upside down. Some jerk took off with my husband's bookbag with his laptop, PDA in it. We called security and they were slow. There was a bad that was ripped up that didn't belong to us. I demanded a different room. The housekeeper didn't even finish cleaning the room. We filled out an incident report and talked to the security manger who gave us the run around and claimed the 'housekeepers' didn't see anything. WHATEVERRRRRR! He tried blaming it on us. My husband works for a police dept and he checked to make sure the door was locked!!! All our pictures of our kids on the computer are gone. The morans who stole it are in for a treat, that laptop and PDA doesn't work right. If you go to a hotel, never bring anything valuable. Luckily for me, I took most of my personal things like credit cards, personal info with me in my pocket.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iscream4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

There's nothing like sweeping in the front doors of the Hilton Chicago, a "grand hotel" in the early 20th century tradition. The wide, marble stairways, the high ceilings, the hustle and bustle and delicious smells wafting in from the restaurants -- it's truly like being in a very cool movie, despite the omnipresent conventioneers.

Overall our one-night stay was lovely, but marred by some deferred maintenance issues -- and surprising disinterest from the staff. We had a terrific corner room. Although just two double beds, the room itself was quite spacious, with windows on two sides and a partial Lake Michigan view where we were able to watch the fireworks (from Navy Pier?) that began shortly after we arrived.

The downside: poor lighting by just two dim bedstand/desk lamps , which could have easily been remedied by adding a floor lamp (certainly plenty of room). The desk was sufficient but with a chair so low as to make it unusable. As others have noted the rooms also lack sufficient electrical outlets, which meant the coffee maker had to be plugged in either at the base of the bedstand lamp or in the bathroom (we couldn't reach the outlet behind the TV/minibar console).

The real maintenance issue, though, was the bathroom, with badly peeling paint and some crumbling plaster on the ceiling above the tub, as well as strips of epoxy missing from the tub itself. The drain was also badly clogged -- or simply not up to the task of draining from a high-powered showerhead -- which we didn't discover until in the morning too close to check-out time to call the maintenance staff. (We showered in mid-calf high water; ugh.) When we mentioned this at check-out (the peeling paint , the crumbling plaster, and the nonworking drain), the clerk said simply, "Gosh, I'm sorry to hear that," and proceeded with the check-out transaction. We weren't looking for a discount or a comp, but it's really been on my mind since then that we received such a lackluster response -- perhaps because the staff already knows that the ceilings and the drains need work but can't do anything about it. A gentleman behind on the way said out that this has been a problem in the rooms before when he's stayed there.

The bathroom issue really makes it difficult to recommend another stay, although we otherwise loved this grand old hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jengaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

We travel to Chicago regularly and have always wanted to stay at the Hilton Chicago. We booked a PriceLine room on the weekend of the half marathon. The place was busy, but the staff certainly found time for each individual guest.

The room was nice and just what we expected. The pool area is also very nice for a downtown hotel.

The location was great as we were taking in the Bears 49ers game on a Thursday night and a Sox game on a Friiday night.

We would certainly stay there again and would recomment it to others.

Great quality even at the regular room price.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cshager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2008

Hotel is clean, comfortable and about as quiet as a big city hotel can be. Our room was clean but showing some signs of wear. Staff was pleasent and friendly, and for the price we were thrilled. The neighborhood around the hotel could be a little better, but if you're heading to the museum park area it is a great find.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gvwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#89 of 192 in Chicago
7,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $113 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing