We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel. .”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #103 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel. .”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We've stayed here many times but I've never reviewed this hotel. Just came back from a 4 night stay with my husband for a convention at McCormick Place. We were upgraded to a double suite with a great lake view. The room was in great shape and had a couch, couple chairs, desk, and a wet bar. Nice lighting as well. The bathroom was small and needs an update but it was OK.
The hotel is close to the lakeshore, the museums, shopping, and great dining and theater.
The staff was very business like but accommodating. Had some trouble with the TV and that was fixed immediately.
The gym is large and is open to public membership. The equipment is mid range quality--Life Cycle but pretty basic features. They have a good selection of weights, bands, etc, and there is a running track around the machines. Nice locker rooms.
Room service was fast and good. We did not eat at the hotel restaurants this time.
I will stay here again. Wish I could gush about something but it's just a nice hotel in a city of great hotels. No complaints, no raves. We are HH members so when we head down to Chicago we stay at the best priced Hilton brand hotel at the time in the downtown area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohcandida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to hear of your appreciation of the Hilton Chicago, staff and its great location to the surrounding museums, shopping, dining and theater. I was also very pleased to hear you enjoyed your guestroom accommodations with the great view of the lake, our athletic club and Room Service was fast and good.
Thank you for being loyal guests to the Hilton brand and for being members to our HHonors program.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.
Sincerely,

Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,883
    1,623
    918
    411
    203
See reviews for
1,047
875
239
2,177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2014

During my trip here my cell phone got wet to the point it wasn't working. After i checked in I stepped into the bar near and Guillermo A, asked me if he could help. I explained my situation and asked if I might be able to get some rice to try and dry out my phone. Guillermo stated that he would be glad to help but that he had to deliver a few drinks first. Several times during in the course of his regular job, Guillermo stopped, appoligized to me for being busy and that as soon as he was able he would get some rice. I don't think I had to wait more than 5 minutes he Guillermo was able to run to the kitchen and grab me some rice. I immersed my phone over night and so far so good. Hats off to Guillermo, there are several things he could have done include send me to the restuarant which was in the process of closing if not closed, but instead he offered to help, and did.

Thank you to Guillermo! Excellent customer service above and beyond expectations!

Thank you

Dave S
Minneapolis, MN

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to hear of your appreciation with the quality of service you received from Guillermo! I am always delighted when I hear a team member goes above and beyond to ensure a great experience for our guests. Please be assured, I will personally “thank” Guillermo and inform him of your appreciation for his service.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.
Sincerely,

Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Rohan, the bellman, is terrific!!
But, the freaking HCN Navigator screen won't stay off. I guess Hilton management thinks it is okay to turn the damn thing on during the night. They are lucky I didn't throw it out of the window (but, the window is screwed shut to keep insects and spiders out =)
Vito Longo room 1948

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlongo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to hear of your appreciation with the quality of service you received from Rohan and to hear he Rocks! I was delighted to hear he was terrific!
Please accept my sincere apology for your disappointment with the HCN unit. Please be assured, we appreciate your feedback especially; as it relates to the HCN unit as it is comments such as yours that allows us to focus on opportunities for improvements.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.
Sincerely,

Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The Hilton Chicago is one of my favorite hotels in the Windy City. Built in 1927, the building has a lot of history. Although renovated, the entire hotel retains the architecture and feel of a true classic, The rooms are generous size and the furniture is reflective of the period. Convenient to the Art Institute and Lake Michigan, if desired, the subway is only a few blocks walk on Wabash Ave. and O'Hare is reachable by train with one change.

Room Tip: Get a Lake view and high floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear David B,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of the Hilton Chicago and that we are one of your favorite hotels in the windy city. I was also pleased to hear you enjoyed your generous size guestroom and found our location convenient to the surrounding establishments and easy access to the airport.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Chicago. Its central location makes it accessible to entertainment, shopping, and great restaurants. The staff is extremely helpful and wonderful to work with.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Cathy S,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us and for recommending us. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of the quality of service you received from our staff and our central location to the museums, shopping and great dining establishments.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just returned from a business trip in Chicago. The Hilton was as expected. Large, and historic with a good location. The only real people I came into contact with were the doormen who were amazingly nice and friendly and helpful. The little market in the lobby is also nice. It was understaffed so the service people were stressed.

The lay out of the hotel is odd, that is because it is a historic hotel and has lasted through generations of travelers. I find that Hilton offers fewer and fewer amenities for the price. No water in the rooms, no free wifi unless you are one of their top customers. Small-ish bath amenities etc.

Overall you pay for the location of this hotel. It's walking distance to Miracle Mile, Lincoln park, museums, lake front. it's a short bus ride to McCormick. It's not terribly far to Wrigley or the airports.

I have stayed here before and would return. I just wish they would do more to impress the road weary traveler.....

Room Tip: I had a room with 2 beds AND 2 bathrooms but no view. Depends on your needs. View did not matter t...
See more room tips
Green Features: They have a recycle bin in the rooms. I did hear about their composting efforts and rooftop garden which is great. I applaud that. Guests should be encouraged to recycle and do more for the environment in the rooms. Save water? Don't throw away paper? not sure...
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadlesstvled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our large, historic hotel with a good location to surrounding park and establishments. I was also very pleased to hear of your appreciation with the quality of service you received from our staff especially, the doorman.
Please accept me sincere apology for your disappointments with the added charge and amenities. Please be assured, we work hard to maintain one of the most competitive pricing for a downtown area hotel and that we appreciate your feedback as it is comments such as yours that enables us to focus on opportunities for improvements.
I’m happy to hear you appreciated our green features. We too are very proud and dedicated to our continual efforts to the Green environment!
We look forward to serving you for many more years in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were so excited to stay at this hotel, and the location was perfect for us being so close to so many great restaurants and attractions, plus it does have a great view of Lake Michigan. But, the problem that we experienced was that we were initially placed in a parlor suite with the attached bedroom as an upgrade. But, what we learned when security knocked on our door was that the door to the actual bedroom had been mistakenly left open by housekeeping and that our bed was the one on the floor - a murphy bed! When we called the manager on duty to voice our concerns, it was emphasized that even though we didn't book a room with a murphy bed that those were the only rooms they had left! Then, the whole view of Lake Michigan was so emphasized, as it would be a plus of staying in a room with the most uncomfortable bed! Along with incredibly expensive parking, and overly unresponsive staff - apparently, it is okay to not greet your guests as they are walking by, and being helpful isn't a priority. We were told that a Manager would follow-up with us, but we never heard from anyone. Ultimately, we felt quite unwelcome to stay here. It is a shame because the history of the hotel is fascinating, and the location is terrific. But, we will never stay here again. There are far too many better choices in this city for our future trips.

Green Features: Perhaps they are environmentally friendly, but we saw no evidence of this being an actual practice.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HalfMarathonTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of the history of our historic hotel with a perfect location to great restaurants and attractions and a perfect view of the lake.
Please accept me sincere apology for your disappointments with your room accommodations and the level of service you received from our staff. Please be assured, your incidents are not the typical level of service that we are known for and I’m very disappointed to hear your experience was not a welcoming one and truly hope you will visit us again and give us the opportunity to show you the great hospitality we provide all of our guests. We appreciate your feedback as it is comments such as yours that enables us to focus on opportunities for any necessary re-training and improvements.
In 2013 we won an award for our sustainability efforts and are very proud and dedicated to our continual practices to the Green environment! Within guests’ use we offer recycling bags in our rooms, recycling bins on our guest floors and we recycle a lot of our environmental work behind the scenes’ with composting, paper, cans and bottle recycling amongst other things.
We look forward to serving you for many more years in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.
Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 190 in Chicago
8,863 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#137 of 190 in Chicago
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 190 in Chicago
2,069 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 190 in Chicago
6,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Property: Hilton Chicago
Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#62 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing