We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #103 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed at the Chicago Hilton for a conference in late November and was very impressed with the historic hotel from the start. It was my first visit to Chicago and I asked for a room with a view and was given a lovely and very large room that faced Lake Michigan. Grand view of the park and fountains below. The museum campus was to the right and Navy Pier was to the left. Room was very clean and well appointed. Shower head needed to be replaced and was promptly attended to. Staff was attentive and helpful wherever we went. The hotel has a small museum and it was very interesting to see the history of the building and all the historical events that have taken place there. I recommende getting the trolley package where you can hop on and off for two days and get around pretty well and avoid the taxi fares if where you want to go os on the route or close to the stops. great location to visit all the typical attractions.

Room Tip: A room that faces Lake Michigan is fabulous. Very quiet on the 16th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NTexastraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,067 - 3,073 of 5,230 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

recently stayed here when going to Packer/Bear game. Perfect location for us to walk to the game, we have 2 small dogs and they were welcomed here and the park across the street worked very well for them to potty..on Michigan Ave and easy walk to shopping, restaurants and area attractions.. would definitely recommend

Room Tip: 8th floor has indoor pool and fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssw61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton for 4 days, 3 nights at the end of December right before New Year's. We had a great time at this beautiful hotel which is in a perfect vacation for many of Chicago's great sights.

When booking, we called the hotel and were able to arrange a special package which included parking in our room rate, we had in and out privileges but did not use it since the location made everything within walking distance or a very cheap cab ride away. Check in was very smooth and the front desk associate was friendly and quick.

Our room was on the 19th floor, we booked a lakeview and also called the hotel a couple days in advance to request a room on the very outside of the hotel. We did this, because we were worried that we might end up with a room with a partial lakeview. The view was spectacular. The room was very clean but a little smaller than we anticipated; although we had two windows the tv/dresser partial blocked the lakeview window, not terrible, but it did make it a little difficult to fully enjoy the view.

We enjoyed the lobby areas which were beautifully decorated with plenty of sitting space. It never felt crowded. My one issue with the hotel is the lack of free wifi in the guest rooms; but at least there was wifi in the lobby.

We did eat at the 720 restaurant within the hotel which, from the information in the elevators, is a newly created restaurant. The food was nice and the wait staff prompt; but the prices were definitely high (as can be expected at any hotel). There is no complimentary breakfast.

All the hotel attendants were very friendly. At check out, we were running a little late but the front desk had no problem allowing us a later check out. Overall, an excellent stay, I cannot stress enough how great the location of this hotel is; it is within a 15 minute or less walk to the Art Institute, Millennium Park (The Bean), The Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, Adler Planetarium, Soldier Field, and much more. I would highly recommend and would stay here again in future visits to Chicago.

Room Tip: Request a lakeview room on a higher floor. You won't avoid the road noise totally, but it will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

A great location for the Art Institute, theaters, Bears games, Millennium Park and surrounding museums. The hotel is clean and easy to get to. The Irish Pub downstairs can be a lot of fun. The concierge floor is nice also.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ann985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I love this Hilton, the old but classy Lobby is very tasteful. I love the location of the Hotel. The rooms are dated but has class. The check out saves so much time. The only problem was I was cold throughout the stay. The blower was blowing cold air. Overall I enjoyed my stay. The bed was small but comfortable didn't have any problems sleeping

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Terri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I liked staying at this hotel. It was clean and the price was right at this time of the year. The beds are small but very comfortable. It has a lap pool, not sure why because if was filled with families, but it was a good size pool for a Chicago hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank popocass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our stay was perfect as well as in January when I was there for my 65th birthday. There are no words to express the happiness I felt not just because my children n grandchildren were with me but because of the way I was treated by your staff. From the doormen the housekeeping staff and most of all Alicia Greene at the front desk. When she found out it was my birthday she said we have to do something special for you. She went somewhere n brought my some candy n bottled water n a free breakfast which was delicious. This time it was my granddaughters birthday n she did the same also for her. We remembered her n she remembered us. I told my husband we will always come to this hotel. Which we have in the past for different occasions. We tried a different hotel one time n said never again. Every hotel should have an Alicia Greene. She's the best.
Thank all of your staff for us. You have a beautiful hotel n beautiful people working for you.
Thank you and God bless all of you, Frances Casillas

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#86 of 192 in Chicago
6,928 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $105 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing