We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hilton- You need to be one”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #97 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albany, United States
1 review
“Hilton- You need to be one”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A very clean and pleasant hotel that costs quite a bit for any facilities that other hotels provide free or at a nominal rate. This one charges a good deal for internet in the room and $25 a day for the fitness center. I'd rather stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay.
Please accept my sincere apology for your disappointing experience as it relates to the additional internet and athletic club charges. Please be assured, we work hard to maintain one of the most competitive pricing for the downtown area so that we may bring any additional saving to all of our valued guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to serve you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,823
    1,570
    884
    389
    188
See reviews for
1,004
833
231
2,103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Good: Irish bar on lobby level, room size, location.

Bad: run down, not well maintained and totally overpriced for what it offers.
No minibar/refrigerator, no safe in room.
WLAN access in room costs USD 12,95/15.95 per day. This is per device, not per person! Have never come across anything like this.
Heating system (air condition/ventilation systems) cannot be adjusted by guest, it is either too cold or too warm. Filter/ventilation system not well maintained, bad air.
Bathroom: appliances are old, not well maintained and some are in actual need of repair.
Hotel lobby is not isolated well, it is cold inside, when it is cold outside.
Long queues in the morning to buy breakfast (not included in price).
Queues in front of registration (check in/out).

Not recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakoba K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. Please accept my sincerest apology for your disappointing experiences with HVAC, lobby, registration, dining experience and with your room accommodations. Please be assured, your experiences are not typical standards of the Hilton Chicago and that your feedback is greatly appreciated as it is through feedback such as yours that enables us to focus on opportunities for improvements.
Please allow me to take this opportunity to inform you that we recently underwent a renovations project that included some of our guestrooms accommodations with future renovations planned for the near future. These new exciting changes are including amenities such as an in-room safe and a refrigerator. We hope you will visit us again and come enjoy these new changes happening to the Hilton Chicago!
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2013

If you are expecting a great meeting hotel, do not select this property. It is in dire need of renovation. The meeting service needs improvement and does not measure up to usual standards and expectations. The location is central in the city, but beware, the train will keep you awake at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jihanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay. Please accept my sincerest apology for the disappointments you experience during your stay. Please be assured, we value your feedback, as it is comments such as yours that enables us to focus on opportunity for improvements.
Last year, we started renovations of various areas throughout the hotel with future renovations planned. This renovations project included some of our guestrooms, restaurant, lounge and a few meeting rooms just to mention a few. Please visit us again and come enjoy one of our newly renovated rooms with added amenities such as a refrigerator and in-room safe.
We hope you will afford us future opportunity to serve you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I was staying in Chicago on business and needed a place to stay. This Hilton was a good choice; the rooms were well done and the staff was efficient. Food was affordably priced and tasted rather good. Overall, a very good value.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdmiralPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The only thing good about this hotel is the Beautiful Christmas tree they had up early (in November). The rooms are dark, enclosed, and uninviting. The lobby area is not comfortable, unless you are standing to check-in (think Vegas style MGM lobby). Awful heater that only blows dry air and works whenever it feels like it. Even if you call to get this taken care of, no one will come to your room. Terrible location, as there is nothing to eat if you are there with no car. You cannot walk anywhere to get any food or quick convenient bite. And you could forget about any room service there to get these needs met, either. Not that there is anything wrong with walking a lot when you are visiting a city, but In general, when a hotel is not near any eateries, they should make up for it by offering something of their own. This was impossible. Felt like a big factory hotel where customers are treated like unknown numbers or herds, although It wasn't so crowded that they could even have an excuse for making me feel that way. I have been in hotels where there are no stores or restaurants nearby, and the weather is cold , but the hotel made up for it by offering their place as a home. This is not one of those hotels. I do not recommend this hotel. I would not go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great location that was close to McCormick Place where the ASHA Conference was held. Shopping, excellent restaurants, lake shore, and attractions all within walking distance. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Bring some extra cash to tip this wonderful staff. The parking was a little expensive, but I expect it when visiting downtown Chicago. The only thing I would change is not charging to use the fitness center.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ickie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Can't say enough good things about our recent trip to the Windy City. We went there just for a "second honeymoon" after 20 years -- having never been there before. We kind of expected Chicago to be kind of busy and full of uncaring and brash people, but it was a very friendly "people" place. It reminded us of Washington, D.C. There was so much to do right in the vicinity of the hotel -- the Field Museum, the planetarium. We LOVED Harold's Chicken Shack and your Kitty O'Shea's pub. We hope to go back some day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,598 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#129 of 188 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Property: Hilton Chicago
Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#59 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing