We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #105 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Three of us (mom and 2 adult daughters) showed up mid-morning on a Friday (with a reservation). Without even asking, we were checked in (offered before we agreed to an upgrade) and found our upgraded room, in the renovated part of the hotel well worth the extra tab: 2 full bathrooms!! Room was quiet and clean. Pool was excellent. Would return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsmyturnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,458 - 3,464 of 5,380 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great location for a nice, historic hotel. Rooms are large compared to a lot of other hotels in the area. Faculties are nice, and every interaction with a service staff member was pleasant. I was there for a conference, and found the conference facilities to be great, and we are able to make great use of the facilities.

Not really a complain, but the rooms are older and could probably use an update. Not in a sense that anything was really wrong, but just in the sense that everything seemed a bit old and dingy.

The hotel has obviously paid attention to the common spaces. They are nicely upgraded, while retaining the historic touches where appropriate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eldub1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have neutral feeling on this hotel. The room was nice, clean and spacious. I wish they had make up mirrors installed as the lighting in the bathroom is dim. We had a king bed and they only provided two large towels, it would have been nice to have a third to dry hair with. Our room was ready (we were there by noon) so that was nice. The check in person was cold, I didn't have my honors number with me and they grilled me like I was trying to slip something by them by standing in the honors line. When they finally found it the response was, "it's under your husband's name" (which I had indicated it may be and then wouldn't proceed until he was there with me - he was parking the car). We got a decent rate with parking considering it was a weekend in the city. If you wanted a safe, refrigerator or to use the health club, you had to "upgrade". Hate "add on" charges at hotels. It has been remodeled and the addition of more relaxed "Starbucks like" coffee shop is welcome. We had some issues at the restaurant (Kitty O'Sheas) but I will save that review for the restaurant section as I am not positive if it is hotel or independently owned.

Room Tip: Some have been remodeled, some not. If you need a safe, refrigerator or the health club make sure y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsmdlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Booked a 1 night stay via our corporate travel booking online site. Chose a standard, non-discounted rate. My meeting changed dates. Hilton wouldn't accept changes done via our corporate booking site.

Took 5 calls and a full hour on hold. Still never reached a human being at the hotel. Called central reservations and was given 45 minute runaround. Three levels of supervisors later I was told--guess what--"Call the hotel"!

The fourth, truly delightful supervisor was very helpful, even though she had to hold for 15 minutes to speak to a human being at the hotel. Finally, after nearly 2 hours of the circle jerk, which I'm sure cost Hilton more than the cost of the reservation, they rebooked me miles away at another hotel in their portfolio. Moral: Do not use this business unfriendly hotel if you need flexibility, quick response, and value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank KLM072938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I would rate the condition of the room I occupied a one star out of five. The service at the front desk was slow and below average. I have stayed at many Hiltons for both business and pleasure, this was by fay my most disappointing. I would not recommend it to any of my business or personal friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Room was spacious, comfortable beds, nice amenities. Best part of the hotel was the indoor pool (which the kids loved) and attached outdoor deck, both of which are not common in central Chicago.

Drawbacks are all somewhat minor: It's a bit farther south than I'd want to be in Chicago normally, but it is only a couple of blocks to an El station. Extra fees for wi-fi, and working out at the gym, which seems like nickle and diming guests, Those are the reasons I didn't give the hotel five stars.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stpaul66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This past weekend, My girlfriend and I decided to to go to Chicago. Our main goal of the trip was to visit the Shedd Aquarium, and we wanted to find a nice hotel close to the Shedd. We decided on the Hilton Hotel. We arrived in Chicago via the Train. From the Train Station to the Hotel, It was about a $8 or $9 cab ride. Once we arrived at the hotel via cab, We were met in the street by a gentleman from the Hilton who offered to help us with our bags. We only had 2 small bags and didn't need help. He also let us know once in the front door, check in was to the right. We arrived at the hotel around 11 AM, and wasn't sure if we could check in. We walked to the desk, and the gentleman who checked us in was a little over friendly. He was friendly dont get me wrong but was a little too friendly. I don't really like the fake friendly. The friendly were they always call you by Mr so so and no problem Mr. so so. I like to have a regular everyday conversation where my last name doesn't need to be used to start the sentence. They let us check in early which was awesome. We went to the Room which was Room 712. We immediately turned the air down to 65. The coldest our room got was 70.5 the whole stay. The air conditioning wasn't working the best but thats OK. It was a corner room. We had a view of the lake just over the tree tops, and a pretty good view of the street which was nothing special. Sodas in the vending machine are $2. Sodas in the little shop on the first floor are $3 and $4. We didn't have breakfast or any meals at the place. We didn't check out the pool. The bed was comfortable, lots of pillows, and everything was good. I would recommend this hotel for your next stay. Parking is $65 for Valet, and $50 for self park. This is for 24 hours. The concierge desk does offer $38 Shedd Aquarium passes - You must pay with CASH. No credit cards or checks accepted. If you are going to the Shedd, I highly recommend this. The line to buy passes for the Shedd was an hour long, and with this Pass, you just walk right in and start your adventure.

Room Tip: 7th Floor is a great floor. It is over the tree tops, and rooms are not a premium price. 9th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Packerman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#90 of 192 in Chicago
7,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $114 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing