We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Majestic Hotel on the Chicago skyline ...”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #103 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a very busy large historic hotel (over 1500 rooms) directly opposite Grant Park on S.Michigan Ave. Originally opened in 1927 this is a Hotel built to last and has been lovingly restored. The internal artwork appears faithfully restored and looks magnificent. My room on the 7th floor was a decent size and quite welcoming.

Check-in staff member was very friendly and knowledgable. Concierge knew everything. Plenty of taxi cabs always available and 15 minute flat walk to Roosevelt on Orange/Red lines.

Really enjoyed my weekend in this historic Hilton and would happily return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldsk8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,534 - 3,540 of 5,308 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

The staff, especially the concierge staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast buffet enjoyable. Ask for a lake view, it's great, especially for watching the Navy Pier fireworks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert2861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed while attending a conference. It was within walking distance to McCormick Place (walked there the first day . . . took a cab the second day). Overall the hotel served its purpose as a place to stay. I would certainly consider staying there again. Nothing spectacular ... but it was adequate.

I feel like the fee for wireless was too high ... but I needed Internet access ... so I paid the fee.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked this hotel through priceline.com making a bid, and got a very good deal. I was happy with what the hotel provided us for the price, but I am not sure I would say the same if we had paid full price. The hotel itself was a bit dated, but this was somewhat charming because of the history of the hotel, which you get bits and pieces of through the elevator slideshow. The room we stayed in had no view, but was more updated than the rest of the hotel and and was up to Hilton standard's with cleanliness and size. I would stay here again for the deal price we paid, I am not sure how much more I would pay for it though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Recently Stayed at the Hilton Chicago, location was the number one priority since this was a leisure visit to Chicago. Located right across from Grant Park and minutes from Millennium Park, The Art Institute of Chicago, and many other attractions. The Hilton is by far the most historic hotel you can find in Chicago with an amazing history behind it. From the entrance, lobby to the upgraded rooms. Ask for a Deluxe upgraded room, Bed is amazing. We had a city view and could see the Willis Tower. The rooms have have been upgrade from top to bottom. Overall the experience from Check-in to Check-out was amazing, staff is friendly. The Snax grab n'go is stocked with many items, Kitty O'Sheas has a great menu with really good dishes and truly Irish. The 720 has good items as-well we had Breakfast there, which was really good. Parking is great if you find a good package that includes it, very convenient and secure! Highly recommend parking on-site. Over all experience was amazing and will definitely stay again on our next visit to Chicago to finish all its other attractions. If your looking for a hotel with a historic impression the Hilton Chicago has it all! *** TIP- if you cant find your coffee maker look below the tv, in the drawer ***

Room Tip: Choose city view, Upgraded rooms or Deluxe option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F1racing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Hilton Chicago is a beautiful building with a great history and a fabulous presentation but there are underlying problems. As a Hilton Honors member you would expect certain perks such as free WiFi, room upgrades or at least a king sized bed when you register as a couple. When you stay at the Chicago Hilton you can expect to pay for everything (including directions). The location is excellent and the view we had was fantastic. The proximity to Grant Park, the lake and Buckingham Fountain were a big reason for staying at the C.H. Will we stay there again? Possible but not probable...

Room Tip: Book well in advance so you can get a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel itself is beautiful, and the people who work there nice. That's where it ended. My room (at $270/nt) was the size of a matchbox. Maybe two feet of walking space around the bed. The large dresser that the television sat on was oversized and basically useless. At one time it must have contained a refrigerator - today there is a huge hole with no purpose or use. A side chair fit only in a short hallway leading to the bath - couldn't use it to was television or anything else. The window was in a recessed area of the building, so no sunlight was allowed in. Summary: very tiny room with no natural light. The phone in the room were circa 1980 and yellow from years of smoke buildup. The clincher was a reminder message that stated I was due to check out on June 6, 1913. Really? Sorry Hilton, this one was a bust.

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMcArdle, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Please accept our sincerest apology for your disappointing experiences with your room accommodations. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it is through feedback such as yours that enables us to focus on opportunities for improvements.
Please allow me to take his opportunity to inform you that we recently underwent a renovations project that included some of our guestrooms accommodation with future renovations planned for the near future. These new exciting changes will include amenities such as an in-room safe and a refrigerator so we hope you will visit us again and come enjoy these new changes happening to the Hilton Chicago!
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 192 in Chicago
7,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#75 of 192 in Chicago
5,119 reviews
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $113 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing