We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome bed, but a little too noisy”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #100 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Awesome bed, but a little too noisy”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I'm used to staying at Westins and love the Heavenly Beds, but I think the bed at this Hilton was equally comfortable. I was in a renovated room and it was very nicely done. The conference facilities were good. I would probably stay closer to Michigan Avenue if I was there for a family trip. The only problem I had with the hotel was the noise level. I heard quite a bit of street noise and I was woken up at 5:00 am when I heard the person in the room next to me talking. It is an older building, so the soundproofing isn't very good.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BadcopBubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,898
    1,634
    925
    415
    208
See reviews for
1,065
880
240
2,188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Decent rate we were able to book for hotel stay in Chicago. We came in for a family wedding and the majority of our family stayed at this hotel from a Friday-Monday. Easy to get to the bus and train stops quickly. Very close to Yolk and Eleven City dinner which are both great places to eat in the morning, since we were not offered free breakfast with our stay. Notice, in order to get WiFi you have to "upgrade" for $25.00/extra a day. That's a bit steep considering WiFi is offered free at most other hotels. Parking is very expensive as well, so we opted to take the train/bus everywhere so we didn't have the additional $45/day parking fee. Not sure if they offer mini refridgerators in other rooms, but ours didn't have one, which was a bit annoying since I had a 1yr old with us. Would have been nice to have it to keep milk cold and left overs in along with some beverages for the morning. The water had an odd smell to it first thing in the morning. Not sure if it's the pipes due to age or if I'm just not used to 'Chicago' water. other then that, average hotel nothing special. Pool is freezing cold water. My son cried the whole time and his lips were turning blue. Hot tub super hot! they might want to check into turning the hot tub down and the pool heater up!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Danib1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a very big hotel (when it was first opened it was the largest hotel in the world!), but it is also very well designed so the guests never feel lost. I spent four nights here in May 2013. The room was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel has a great pool, which for some reason was never busy. The staff were friendly and efficient, and checkout could not have been easier, with no waiting in line at the front desk. The location is very convenient, with the Art Institute just up the street, and plenty of buses and L trains nearby. My only complaint would be the excessive internet charges. At a time when most hotels offer free wireless, many 4 star hotels seem to think it is okay to nickel and dime their customers on this service. And $12.95 per day is not cheap. If I had not had an excellent Hotwire rate on the room, I would have been more annoyed. Each room comes equipped with a computer setup, or you can buy wireless for your laptop. I'd recommend using your laptop, the hotel supplied service was pretty clunky and had some problems.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a business/vacation trip. I'm not sure if we would have chosen it if we had to pay for the whole stay ourselves as it's a bit more expensive than I would have liked to pay but the service, decore were very nice and the location was pretty good as well.

It's on one of the main roads withing 20min walking distance to most of the typical attraction in the city.

Cons:
- No free breakfast
- No mini fridge

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomasz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I can not say enough good things about your staff and my stay last week at the Hilton Chicago. I was staying at your hotel for the Printing Hub 2013 conferences and users group sessions. From the moment I walked in the door, you were offering to hold my bags as I checked in. I called for toothpaste one morning, had to leave for a brief moment before I was able to get it, and it was there waiting for me when I returned! I felt truly taken care of on all levels. The food preparations were fabulous as well. I was NEVER hungry on this trip :) Please extend a BIG thank you to your entire staff. You ALL deserve an A+!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Katelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I was a bit nervous booking this hotel. Will it be too big and noisy? Well, it was busy, but was a well organized and heavily staffed place. Has a cafe in lobby with packaged sandwiches and breakfast items to take on the go or sit down. They were all yummy. Rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable. Towels and linens were super nice and new. Room had alot of updates, including bathroom. I was in Rm 1703, and it has a view of Navy Pier, Art Institute, Millenium park, etc. King bed, TV, Computer, hair dryer. It was street side so did have a bit of honking/sires noise at night from Mich Ave, but quieted down after 11pm or so. This room does connect to a suite, so has a connecting door which was locked. The person in this room smoked so I got some 2nd hand smoke under door. A towel at the base of the connecting door solved the problem. Overall, staff friendly, clean/comfortable rooms, close to Buckingham Fountain. Only thing I would change would be get a better door between suite and room, or maybe just a strip for base of door to prevent smoke from getting under. This hotel also could use a bit of updating on hallway carpet...seems a bit outdated. Otherwise great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truparkhaysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have nothing but happy memories of our long weekend at this hotel. I had not read the reviews before we went on our trip, and reading them afterwards I am wondering if we just had the luck of the draw. The front desk was very nice at check-in. Our room was on the 23rd floor with a view of Grant Park and absolutely lovely. We enjoyed having two bathrooms - a first in our travels. The room was quiet and the beds were comfortable. We enjoyed the appetizers at the Executive Lounge as well as the breakfast, and took advantage of having a pub/restaurant on site for some late-evening drinks and dessert. The ambience of the hotel is wonderful, as is the history. We walked everywhere from the hotel and thought it was an ideal location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraBtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 190 in Chicago
8,962 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#139 of 190 in Chicago
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#89 of 190 in Chicago
6,722 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Property: Hilton Chicago
Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing