We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great site-seeing location, nice hotel”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #103 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great site-seeing location, nice hotel”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Hilton Chicago was located across from Grant Park, and a short walk from the Shedd Aquarium, Art Institute, Planetarium, Field museum and Millennium Park (home of The Bean and face fountains). It's also across the street from Buddy Guy's Legends blues joint.

With the nice weather we had, it was the perfect place to be. Service was decent but not at Ritz Carlton levels. I stayed in a King Lake View but being on the 5th floor the view was not quite as expected and the room was clean but definitely an older model. There is a nice bar downstairs but I'd recommend skipping their Irish pub Kitty O'Sheas unless you want incredibly greasy/fried food.

Overall a very nice place to stay close to the water and museums with an impressive history.

Not a must stay, but definitely a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,883
    1,623
    918
    411
    203
See reviews for
1,047
875
239
2,177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed 4 nights at the Chicago Hilton for a convention. The hotel is an architectural classic, and you can feel the history as you walk around. Its not the most modern, or most up to date, but that's not a problem if you appreciate the history of the space.

Very good location, close to the blue line, parks, walks and shopping. Great service in the bar too - enthusiastic, fast and friendly.

There is some room to improve, specifically in the rooms. Our room was comfortable and clean, but felt dated. Some peeling paint here, a rug stain there, just gave a feeling that an update should be coming soon. Most distressing was the wifi. As a hotel that caters to conventions, the wifi was painfully slow. I could barely connect in the guest room, and when I did, anything more than downloading an email resulting in getting kicked-off - so forget Netflix. The signal in the convention area was better, but still spotty.

Overall, a very nice place to stay, but it could be great with a low-cost refresh and an IT consult.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed hear over Thanksgiving break with family. Executive floor was well run. Location was fantastic. This hotel has lots of history and family enjoyed seeing some of that on entry floor. Liked having two bathrooms with kids (common in many rooms)...but property is looking a little worn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelReview_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My family stayed here overnight while visiting Chicago. We had a newly remodeled room on the 14th floor which was awesome!! Two double beds, two bathrooms and a computer work station!! The 8th floor where the pool was needs some work you could tell still. Were very impressed w/the fitness center, but disappointed that it cost extra to use the weight area. Running/walking on track was free. No kids allowed there though. Pool was WAY crowded, but it was Spring break, so to be expected. Quite an awesome find in the center of downtown! Great location w/the 3 museums right across the street. We even walked all the way up to Navy Pier along the lakefront! Great path there for walking/running. I called direct and got a cheap rate w/parking included!! ($99) From Navy Pier we took the bus to Willis Tower ($2.25/person) and from the Tower we walked back to the hotel. Not as many resturants as the North part of town, but we still found some great ones within 1-2 blocks of hotel. The snack shop is pricey, but the room had a fridge, so glad we had our yogurts and drinks along. Nice to be able to get my Starbucks in the morning though. The hotel is beautiful and worth just walking around inside and looking at all the ballrooms, fountains, and chandeliers! We felt like we were in the white house or something. Overall, we were very pleased with this hotel and the staff was really friendly and accomadating!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WH261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed here because of location but the rooms were over priced which could have been due to lollapalooza concert. The room they originally took me to was supposed to be non smoking but stunk like old smoker's house! I asked them to change my room which they accommodated and gave me a room in their new wing which did not smell. However for a 380 dollar room or so I did expect a view better than the Air conditioning! Still had a pleasant stay visiting family.

Room Tip: Get your room in their new wing and don't stay during Lollapalooza unless you are attending it s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shima R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here many times. The hotel is now undergoing renovation on a floor by basis. This was my first stay in a renovated room and it was great. One oddity though: all new furnishing and fixtures throughout EXCEPT the faded and less than responsive 1980's era thermostat in the room. Room was really great though. The blackout shades completely blocked the sun rising over Lake Michigan each morning. I did have an experience with a very rude restaurant employee, but I didn't see this as epidemic or management problem, just a single bad staff member that has no business in the service industry which requires a smile at all times. I will be back again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Capt_Wyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My family of four stayed for two nights at this great hotel. It is very conveniently located to museum campus and within reasonable walking distance of just about everything. Our cab ride from the train station was only $8.35. We arrived at the hotel about 1pm and our room was ready. It was nice to be able to check in early and not have a problem. We were asked if we would like to upgrade or would we like to stay in the floor with the pool. We chose the pool floor since we had our kids with us. The floor was quiet and we had an OK view of the lake and navy pier. The highlight of the room in my opinion was TWO BATHROOMS!!!! this made getting ready at the beginning and end of the day so much easier. One was a traditional bath. The other was more a 3/4 bath. It had a large shower stall instead of a tub. The room was ample in size and had a limited use computer in the room. You could pay to use all the features of the computer but concierge services, hotel services and restaurant look up were all free. You could even print directions and boarding passes from this computer and pick them up in the lobby using a Pin number assigned to you. The hotel despite being older is in very good shape and well maintained. and VERY CLEAN!!!! The beds were comfortable but the pillows still left something to be desired.

We only ate at the SNAX shop in the hotel once. the food there was mediocre at best. But it did have a good selection of wine and beer to purchase to take back to your room as well as fresh fruit and beverages. Just don't waste your money on the fountain soda that can make any flavor you want it all tasted the same and was pretty gross.

Overall we would stay at this hotel again due to its location, cleanliness, service, and and overall rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 190 in Chicago
8,863 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#137 of 190 in Chicago
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 190 in Chicago
2,069 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 190 in Chicago
6,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Property: Hilton Chicago
Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#62 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelPower, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing