We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best....”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #100 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rockford, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The best....”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I hesitated to book after reading some of the other reviews but I am glad I did book it. This was the best hotel we have ever stayed in, in the city. For $107 a night (AAA rate) it was a steal, really. The rooms were larger than most city hotel rooms. Many complained that their rooms were dated and worn. We stayed on the 17th floor and our room was fine, two double beds, a desk, sitting chair, plenty of space for two adults and a child and the bathroom was huge and in beautiful shape. The pool and gym facility was incredible as well, top notch. It all really exceeded our expectations. The snack shop in the lobby was a bit pricey, but not unexpected, you normally know you are going to pay more for in hotel food items but. But there is a real Starbucks two store fronts down. This hotel is a little further down Michigan Ave than some, it is a bit of a walk up to American Girl, etc. but very, very close to Grant Park and the Art Institute - none of which would be an issue when there isn't 40 mph winds and it is warmer! But, that's no one's fault but mother nature. I would recommend this hotel for business travelers, couples and families - the rooms are bigger than you are going to find elsewhere and again, the pool is very kid/family friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinleyparktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,898
    1,634
    925
    415
    208
See reviews for
1,065
880
240
2,188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is my first time staying in downtown Chicago and my my first time at this historic hotel, the lobby facing the lake is gorgeous. Their staffs knew how to treat their visitors right but i was expecting more from the Hilton Hotel (for the amount you pay for the night) the room was clean but small and dated, you can hear your next door neighbors conversation as my guess there are no noise barriers between the rooms.i stayed at 18 floor facing north and all i could see was the brick wall from the next building(not a pretty sight) thank god i only stayed 1 night but i did appreciate the welcome message from the computer screen that was a nice touch, overall my experience on this hotel was somewhat with mix feelings. If you are considering staying at this hotel and you are staying for more than a say i would ask for a room that is facing the water the view is priceless.

Room Tip: if the room is available facing the lake take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cityboyWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and I only had a double bed booked, but requested a King bed on the 19th floor and the lady at the desk was awesome...she said no problem to both requests...with a smile...have to say my best check in experience!
Got to the room and I had 2 bathrooms, King bed with 2 windows overlooking the Sears Tower...and I wasn't expecting such a great view...the Hotel was built in the early 1900's, but the furnishings are top notch...flat screen tv with a great picture!...Wish I could have stayed longer...
and the fitness center is an entity all to itself with an indoor track, treadmills, precore elipticals, precore machines and they do have tanning, 2 whirlpools, sauna , and showers...lap pool...this place is superb...the food was also great!...there are also several gift shops! Great location...Went to the McCormick for a convention and got there in 5 minutes by taxi!...The #3 bus also goes straight to the McCormick...if you want to save a couple bucks!

Room Tip: Get a room on the closest to the top floor for a great view and less chance of someone above you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alleygator1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This an historic hotel with gorgeous ballrooms, lobbies, etc. that go along with it including the seating areas on each floor surrounded by the banks of elevators. I stayed on the 20th floor, which is not one of the recently renovated ones. The rooms are admittedly tired, but everything worked and the in-room computer provided access to some great amenities like printing your boarding pass. Due to the massive size of the hotel and the many conference attendees there was sometimes a wait for cabs out front.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmingle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The common areas of the hotel are beautiful. We chose this hotel because we needed to be downtown so we could walk to a college we were visiting. Didn't want to have to drive everywhere. The room was ok - dated, cracking ceiling, drafty. Many little things happenened that spoiled it for us. Burned out lightbulb, couldn't find room service menu, could not get touch screen to respond, no heat. Could not get any heat in the room. After three days found out there was no battery in the thermostat. Seems like housekeeping didn't check things to make sure they were working - depend on guests for that. Restaurant closed awfullly early for a weekend. Front door security personnel were rude.Maybe this is what a stuffy high class hotel is supposed to be like. We will be going back to 'middle class' for the next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hansolozach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, TX
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This was a great hotel! I would stay here again in a heart beat just for the work out center. It was a little far south, but for us since we were going to a conference at The McCormick Center it was perfect.

The bellman and people out front (I can't think of their title) were wonderful. The restaurant was delicious and Kitty O'Shea's was a fun place to hang out. The Starbucks line was very long in the mornings due to this being one of the conferences main hotels. But they were fast and nice.

Great place to stay, just far from the Magnificent Mile shops.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Downstairs lobby, bar, ballrooms, etc are very nice, and there was a lovely seating area on each floor by the elevators, but the standard rooms are a bit worn. Some peeling paint and wallpaper in the room. The bathroom is pretty small and the marble floor, while pretty, was absolutely freezing to stand on. Service was fine.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank businesstrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 190 in Chicago
8,959 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#139 of 190 in Chicago
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#89 of 190 in Chicago
6,722 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Property: Hilton Chicago
Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelPower, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing