We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palatial and Historic!”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #105 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 3, 2013

When you walk in the lobby, you can imagine the opulence of this historical hotel and how it would have been magical when it first opened. You can envision the gowns and elegance as it oozes out of the walls.

This massive hotel has terrific views and boasts chandeliers, marble, accents and historical photos that give insight to an era of luxury and excess. The rooms are smaller than more modern facilities, but the views of the lake are specatacular. We were on the 23rd floor and found our frosty winter view breathtaking.

As a HH Gold Member we had access to the Executive Lounge - nice apps and snacks. Also a fantastic view! Free continential breakfast and WIFI. We had a super quick, friendly and efficient check-in.

The health club is one of the best I've been to in any hotel. HUGE, with a running track and pool. The equipment is clean, plentiful and in excellent working condition. I could have spent more time there if I didn't have a busy schedule.

We had drinks at the lounge on the main floor. Excellent service and a cool place to sit and relax. Music was cool jazz/ chill lounge genre - loved it.

This hotel is very close to almost every tourist attraction on the CityPass list. We bought the book online from CAA (AAA) and saved some $$$ and taxes. We walked from our hotel to the Planetarium to the SkyWalk and visited the Aquarium and Field Museum inbetween - it was a hike - but great exercise.

All in, I wish we could have stayed longer. The comfy bed and pillows were just one more feature that will bring me back here again.

Room Tip: 23rd floor with lake view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank endsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,819 - 3,825 of 5,386 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

This property probably has some historic significance - if so, the hotel does a poor job of showcasing it. Old properties can usually be classified into 2 categories - Quaint / Historic (like Hotel Coronado) or a shadow of its former glory (Hotel Pennsylvania).

This one is definitely in the latter category. The lobby can be misleading - they probably spent most of their updating budget on it. However, once you take elevators to the rooms - the age is quite visible. The elevators themselves hark back to the Prohibition Era and are prone to breakdowns (happened twice in 48 hours at the property). The rooms are spacious and comfortable but you cannot escape the dated feel - particularly in the bathroom and its fixtures. The service is very slow - we ordered a bottle of wine to the room and cancelled the order when it didn't arrive in 45 minutes.

Parking in the property is reasonably expensive but we found garages within a 2 block radius that were much more affordable. Chicago doesn't disappoint in terms of food - the up and coming North Chicago area is a short taxi ride away. Field Museum too is about a mile from the hotel - a nice walk through the park (perhaps not in the peak of winter when we went).

Having said all this, I am sure Hilton realizes all this and prices the property accordingly. At this price point, this hotel compares very well with its competitors. So If your intention is to enjoy Chicago and use this hotel more as a crash pad at night - this is very good option.

Room Tip: Rooms with a Lake View have unobstructed views of Lake Michigan especially from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KaustuvDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very good experience overall. Good spacious room. We had fantastic view on the lake from our 12th floor. Location is convenient. The stuff was pretty helpful and friendly. You will pay extra for the Internet and (!) for the fitness center, but the pool is free. The fitness center is really good, and the rooftop access from the pool area is a nice feature. There is an extra charge for the bell service.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank AlexD-ROC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This historic hotel is a great place to stay. it is truly a luxurious destination. The staff was excellent, upgraded my room upon request and waived the fee. The room was absolutely quiet and the bed was comfortable. The wireless is good. I would have expected a coffee maker in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for the upgrade from standard a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Hilton Chicago is arguably the finest hotel in Chicago and by reputation in the conversation with places like the Waldorf Astoria and the Beverly Hills Hotel. Our overnight stay during our Christmas holiday travels was everything we hoped for and more. It was our Anniversary and we were fortunate enough to get a Lake View Room upgrade. The view from the 16th floor of Lake Michigan was beautiful. We loved our large comfortable bed and huge LCD television. There was even a computer kiosk in the room that allowed us to look up restaurants and tourist attractions. After we returned to our room in the evening, there was a complimentary bottle of Champagne and Strawberries waiting for us. It was a most gracious and welcome surprise that really made our night special and one to remember.

We absolutely loved the luxurious and classic atmosphere of the entire hotel from the grand lobby areas to the chic modern bars and restaurants on-site. The location is fantastic on the famous Michigan Ave. We were in walking distance to the Shedd Aquarium and a long walk from some other Downtown hot spots.

Would absolutely stay here again and wish to thank the front desk staff for such a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Request a Lake View room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmericanAbroad17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Paid $15 upgrade to Business Class since we were going to need internet every night which is a $15 fee. So, with upgrade, we got a larger room on a higher floor (no good view though).
But honestly surprised Business Class would not include a coffee maker to make it to an early meeting the next day. Room service coffee charges mount, including: coffee, plus 18% tip, plus local and hotel taxes, plus a $4.25 in-room dining fee, plus local and hotel taxes on top of that.Then, the waiter actually hands you a slip to sign where you are invited to add yet another tip.
A coffee maker would have been a nice touch.

Room Tip: Go for upgrade to lake view, that might be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel888travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

i like this hotel everything is good, the location is very good. however one problem is some people at the lobby are not that helpful. And also the network is not that worth of that much money. But everything else is very good

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuzhou Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#89 of 192 in Chicago
7,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $113 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing