We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected. Good service > OK rooms”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #103 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Didn't expect much from this conference-oriented hotel knowing some of the rooms (including the one I was assigned) are on the smaller, dated side. However, the overall experience over several days was positive and I can see why it is such a popular destination for business and leisure travelers.

What wasn't great:

1. "King Room" consumed mainly by the bed, requiring me to store my luggage and other bags in the closet to have any walking space.
2. Un-adjustable desk chair designed more for sitting than working.
3. Dated old monitor/gaming system taking up desk space.
4. Annoying, dated menu system requiring multiple keystrokes to get to the regular TV menu. I solved this problem by leaving the TV on when I left the room.
5. No laundry bag left by housekeeping any of the days of my stay. To be fair I didn't ask.
6. Long lines at the SNAX center. Why not have one line for folks ordering food and another for those just picking up water, etc?

What made up for it:

1. Very quiet, well ventilated space albeit with no view whatsoever. Great sleeping.
2. The fastest elevators of any hotel I've been in recently.
3. Plenty of bell staff ready when and where you needed them (thanks Nick, Pat, Brett, and all)
4. Helpful, pleasant concierge team
5. Convenient Fedex centers (2)
6. While I didn't use myself, colleagues raved about the hotel pool.
7. While not on the Miracle Mile, an easy walk to inexpensive carryout food like Corner Bakery. Less frenetic for walking around the neighborhood.

For a business stay, this hotel is well situated and priced. It's some distance from the N. Michigan corridor but very convenient to art museum and theatre district. Would try it again and ask for a room on the higher floors which have been modernized.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sss45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,806 - 3,812 of 5,297 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Chicago during the 2012 Chicago Marathon, and while it was busy with marathoners, we had a great stay. Everyone was very helpful and room service was great! The room we had was pretty good, no view, but we didn't stay inside much so we didn't care about that! We LOVED the fact that it had two bathrooms (every hotel should have this feature), but were disappointed there wasn't a fridge or microwave to keep the expensive drinks and food you could buy downstairs either cool or warm (and there was space for both). Thought that was strange. I'm pretty sure the beds were doubles; I think we were expecting at least queens for what we paid! But they weren't small enough to keep us from going back. We did love the fact that you could walk to the Field Museum, the Shedd Aquarium, and various other places that were on our agenda through the park across the street. That was a great surprise! The restaurants downstairs were pretty good and we also ate at the pub one night, which wasn't bad. Overall, a great first trip to Chi-town!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCSweetie216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked the Hilton Chicago online via an opaque service where you name your own price, at a substantial discount off rack rate. Check-in was easy and we were assigned a high room with two beds that had evidently been recently re-modeled. This was a wheelchair-accessible room, but rather than compromise, the room had two bathrooms, a standard shower/tub, and a roll-in shower. The furnishings were clean and modern, the bedding comfortable, and climate control worked well. When I was ready to depart, I tried to check-out using the automated TV system, but it was non-functional. Bad Hilton.

Now my big complaint: There was a computer monitor of some sort in the room (flat panel display) which was welcoming me to the room by name, and pushing me to interact with it. This was both creepy and annoying--very reminiscent of the billboards calling after Mr. Anderton in MINORITY REPORT. And like those billboards, I couldn't seem to get the monitor to turn off and leave me alone. I was ready to defenestrate the whole thing. It even woke me up in the morning by it's lighting up the otherwise dark room. Furthermore, this monitor had a webcam built-in to it, aimed directly at the bed. VERY inappropriate. In the future, if such consoles appear in hotel rooms I will demand that the hotel either remove it or provide a covering to hide it. You should, too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeaEarleGreyHot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here in the summer of 2012 and were very happy with the rooms. The rooms were roomy and the beds very comfortable. The service was excellent even though we were there at a very busy time. Very clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Service was amazing. I was quickly greeted in the Diamond line, and my early check-in and suite upgrade were flawless. The hotel and rooms were spotless. The room was a little smaller than other suites, but that is to be expected in a major city filled with skyscrapers. The property is centrally located and it's easy to walk or grab a cab to downtown. Room service meal was above average, and the executive lounge was great for coffee and late night snacks. Would stay here again and would recommend you do, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, corner suite, with a view of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was attending a large convention and shared a room to save on cost. We were given a large room on the 22nd floor. It was not one of the newly renovated rooms but was in very good condition and some excellent views from the windows. Most of our meals were included as part of the convention and were both delicious and professionally served. The Grand Ballroom is like a page out of Versailles.

Room Tip: If you are sharing a room (2 beds), request a room that has two bathrooms. Many of the pairs of very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iam12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Checkin at the HHonors desk was pleasant and fast. As a Gold member, I was upgraded to the Executive Club floor with a lakeview on the 24th floor. The room was smallish but very well appointed with beautiful travertine, classic wallpaper, and high-end furniture. There is a bit of noise from the street, but certainly not a problem and to be expected in a large city.

The executive club offers a good complimentary breakfast with some nutritious options like oatmeal and hard boiled eggs in addition to baked goods. The coffee is very good considering it is an automated espresso system. In the evening there are hot and cold hors d'oerve (sp) and soft drinks for free plus beer and wine that they charge for.

The conference center is huge and spread out. Staff are helpful in providing directions. Wifi coverage is better than most venues. Acoustics in the breakout rooms are very good, although the ballroom sound is rather muffled.

Restaurant prices are high but in line with other big-city conference hotels. The food itself is reasonable. The lunch buffet is a sound choice.

All in all, if you are scheduled for a conference here, you should expect to be comfortable. Do be prepared for crowds.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank dlafky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 192 in Chicago
7,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#75 of 192 in Chicago
5,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#64 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $110 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing