We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience, good sleep”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #100 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Good experience, good sleep”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked the Hilton Chicago online via an opaque service where you name your own price, at a substantial discount off rack rate. Check-in was easy and we were assigned a high room with two beds that had evidently been recently re-modeled. This was a wheelchair-accessible room, but rather than compromise, the room had two bathrooms, a standard shower/tub, and a roll-in shower. The furnishings were clean and modern, the bedding comfortable, and climate control worked well. When I was ready to depart, I tried to check-out using the automated TV system, but it was non-functional. Bad Hilton.

Now my big complaint: There was a computer monitor of some sort in the room (flat panel display) which was welcoming me to the room by name, and pushing me to interact with it. This was both creepy and annoying--very reminiscent of the billboards calling after Mr. Anderton in MINORITY REPORT. And like those billboards, I couldn't seem to get the monitor to turn off and leave me alone. I was ready to defenestrate the whole thing. It even woke me up in the morning by it's lighting up the otherwise dark room. Furthermore, this monitor had a webcam built-in to it, aimed directly at the bed. VERY inappropriate. In the future, if such consoles appear in hotel rooms I will demand that the hotel either remove it or provide a covering to hide it. You should, too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeaEarleGreyHot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,898
    1,634
    925
    415
    208
See reviews for
1,065
880
240
2,188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here in the summer of 2012 and were very happy with the rooms. The rooms were roomy and the beds very comfortable. The service was excellent even though we were there at a very busy time. Very clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Ilinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Service was amazing. I was quickly greeted in the Diamond line, and my early check-in and suite upgrade were flawless. The hotel and rooms were spotless. The room was a little smaller than other suites, but that is to be expected in a major city filled with skyscrapers. The property is centrally located and it's easy to walk or grab a cab to downtown. Room service meal was above average, and the executive lounge was great for coffee and late night snacks. Would stay here again and would recommend you do, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, corner suite, with a view of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was attending a large convention and shared a room to save on cost. We were given a large room on the 22nd floor. It was not one of the newly renovated rooms but was in very good condition and some excellent views from the windows. Most of our meals were included as part of the convention and were both delicious and professionally served. The Grand Ballroom is like a page out of Versailles.

Room Tip: If you are sharing a room (2 beds), request a room that has two bathrooms. Many of the pairs of very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iam12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Checkin at the HHonors desk was pleasant and fast. As a Gold member, I was upgraded to the Executive Club floor with a lakeview on the 24th floor. The room was smallish but very well appointed with beautiful travertine, classic wallpaper, and high-end furniture. There is a bit of noise from the street, but certainly not a problem and to be expected in a large city.

The executive club offers a good complimentary breakfast with some nutritious options like oatmeal and hard boiled eggs in addition to baked goods. The coffee is very good considering it is an automated espresso system. In the evening there are hot and cold hors d'oerve (sp) and soft drinks for free plus beer and wine that they charge for.

The conference center is huge and spread out. Staff are helpful in providing directions. Wifi coverage is better than most venues. Acoustics in the breakout rooms are very good, although the ballroom sound is rather muffled.

Restaurant prices are high but in line with other big-city conference hotels. The food itself is reasonable. The lunch buffet is a sound choice.

All in all, if you are scheduled for a conference here, you should expect to be comfortable. Do be prepared for crowds.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dlafky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stay at this location at least once a year service is ++++++ the common areas have been beautifully redone love the "Market area" with quick things to grab for a snack - Everything very clean, Great service would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Lakeside very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vann j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed last summer at Hilton Chicago along with my family. It's a big hotel that should be luxurious, but I thing it's an ok hotel.
I had some problems during checkin. I stayed there durinh Chicago's 175th anniversary. There was a promotion where you should pay 175 dollars a day and have 75 dollars back to spend with the hotel facilities. The front desk girl forgot to consider the promotion. I only discovered when I tried to use my $75 credit. So I complained at front desk and they only considered the promotion apart second day.
The room deco is recent. Good furniture and spacious. Inside the hotel has some restaurants, a Fedex office, garage etc.
In some occasions, the maid didn't clean up the room.
When I did checkout, they didn't include some spenses in the promotion. I had to convince the front desk girl showing in my cell phone the inormations on the website where I bought the promotion.
The hotel has good facilities as a four stars, but its staff is not that good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Souzaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 190 in Chicago
8,962 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#139 of 190 in Chicago
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#89 of 190 in Chicago
6,722 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Property: Hilton Chicago
Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelPower, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing