We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crazy busy hotel , not for those whom don't like crowds”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #98 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
463 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Crazy busy hotel , not for those whom don't like crowds”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Ok first thing to remember , this is a big city and this is a big hotel ( 3000 rooms) . They cater to business conventions ( why i am here) so don't expect this to be a quite romantic getaway even at the weekend . I stayed for 5 days over haloween and downstairs was like a zoo which means check in takes 30mins , getting a coffee at Starbucks takes 30 mins etc.
I was on the executive floor but my room was not "updated " as some of my colleagues , which mainly means the bathroom was clean but well worn ( all the taps and pipes had flaky gold paint on them). Staff were nice , but busy as heck which lead to small things like not having the coffee / tea replaced in the room or stirrers - little things but just annoying.
Its a great place for location of McCormick place , you cant get closer and not bad for visiting the city though if i come back with my wife I would probably stay downtown in a smaller boutique hotel less crazy

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room , not facing the CTA trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bvlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,793
    1,554
    877
    379
    185
See reviews for
992
825
227
2,067
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This has to be one of the largest hotels I have ever stayed in. The booking in desk was very helpful and efficient. They sorted out my problem of door key extremely well and showed high concern and generosity in resolving the problem. The hotel as a whole is quite oppulent but welcoming. The room was pleasant and very clean. After a long flight the shower and comfortable bed were very welcome. The hotel is very well positioned to see Chicago with bus stops just outside and Lake Michigan within a short walk. We ate in the hotel restaurants, service and food was good. Breakfast in the main restaurant was excellent and I would recommend this. The Concierge was very helpful, making our stay very enjoyable. Buses for the airport (O'Hare) park just outside so this is a good venue for business traveller and tourist alike.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedcoatEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very large Hotel. Staff was very helpful and nice. My favorite part in the Hotel was the small cafe/store down in the lobby. It had everything from drinks, to Starbucks, to hot food and cold snacks and salads. Was so great!!! The room service menu was very limited so this was a great alternative. Kitty O'Shea's was good to. Nice Irish Bar. The corned beef was excellent. Very nice gym and indoor pool was great. Great Hotel but expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlgrl821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Book a renovated room and if sharing with someone, 2 bed, 2 bathrooms. 2 bathrooms make a huge difference in convenience. The service was good and they followed up any request. Negative, had to call for housekeeping to get shampoo, etc for 2nd bath, one light not working and dark in room-never repaired. Room less money than the 5 star hotel but all other cost for food, drinks just as high. It was warm and humid outside and the air conditioning not cool. Hotel either has heat or air and cannot change with the weather.

Room Tip: Higher floor better, renovated rooms only, try to face to lake and they can open the window if coole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harris14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

its nice and clean & in the midle of down town chicago. big room very good service, stylish view was awesome to se lake michigan.we have fun time deauring our sty in the hotle and the city of chicago is great one of my favrot city in the world

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOMIART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I recently spent two nights at the Chicago Hilton on Michigan Avenue for business. The hotel is older and historic but is very well maintained. Some of the floors have been renovated and are appointed with modern furniture and decor while the non-renovated floors have a more classic hotel look to them.

The main reason I'm writing this is because I want to comment on the service I received. I had an issue with my first room and the front desk, IMO, really went out of their way to make sure I was satisfied. I really felt as if solving my problem was a priority. It was taken care of promptly and they even comped my breakfast.... and my issue wasn't even that big of a deal (it had to do with noise from outside the hotel).

Really, really nice people!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scratch_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great location right at the Park, albeit a ways south of the main shopping area on Michigan Ave.

The hotel has great history and some of the ballrooms are Versailles style, very nice.
The Normandie room on 2nd floor is nice, a touch of history (with chairs from the French oceanliner Normandie).

We got a newly renovated room on 11th floor with 2 bathrooms, very nice. The beds are comfortable. The down comforther is just sandwiched between two sheets so if you move about a bit you end up waking up with the inner seldomly-washed comforter in your nose. Guess I could just let the sheets stay tucked in under the mattress.

Service is OK.
The pool is large and well kept. There is also a large gym, all at 8th floor,

Parking is not cheap (45 USD non valet) and they charged me 2 nights even if I said only 1 night.
My mistake to not check.

The restaurant is strangely placed like an afterthought along the lobby. There was a closed restaurant area behind a wall but nobody was allowed to sit there. So for romantic dinner it is best to head out in town.

All in all a nice place. Not a generic Hilton, but a big building with atmosphere - even if ver big.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#101 of 187 in Chicago
8,489 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#127 of 187 in Chicago
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 187 in Chicago
2,001 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Property: Hilton Chicago
Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#59 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing