We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looked great online but really undelivered. Old fashioned, in need of updating.”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #103 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband is a Hilton Honours member and we have stayed in several Hilton hotels now for both business and pleasure, including Rome Cavalieri, London Bridge, Paris La Defense, Hilton Malta, Hilton Berlin and Hilton Metropole Brighton. And, as good as Chicago may look online due to the sheer size of it, this was sadly the most disappointing. A real shame as Chicago is such a great city and we expected more.

We were in town to go to the marathon and upon arrival the place is impressive - the entrance is very grand. We were offered an upgrade to a King suite, lake view and whilst very happy at first, we were soon disappointed by how dated and old the interior of our room and indeed the whole floor was. Old brown swirly carpet, a stale smell to the room, old brown furnishings, corny marble lamps, an old bath that was about a foot deep very short in length, bad wallpaper everywhere, awful brown and gold curtains... it really failed to impress. There was a fridge but an empty one; 'they don't have mini bars in this hotel'. (Very odd for such a big hotel in such a grand city) and no bathrobes, slippers etc. These things aren't necessary to enjoy a hotel (bathrobes) but I have had them in lesser graded rooms in smaller hotels, so this was a bit disappointing. Especially as it was just over $500 per night!

As a Hilton Honours, we have also been used to a bottle of water being left in the room, maybe with a complimentary jar of nuts or sweets with a welcome note... but nothing was left here. Again, for $500 per night you would expect something.

There is actually one floor of the hotel that has been updated and one bar, but that is only one floor ... out of about 24!

The Executive Lounge was poor. The continental breakfast was not continental ... cereals were kids cereals, some bagels, dry muffins and small pastries. A bit of cut melon and some oatmeal. No yoghurt, no meats, cheeses, eggs, tomatoes etc etc. Again, the furniture and decor was old and seriously out of date, and just all felt a bit scruffy, especially for an Executive Lounge where you would expect more... and again, considering the prices of the rooms.

The pool and gym are nice, and the changing facilities adequate but still rather dated.

I should imagine that in its day, this was all very grand but not so now. It certainly needs a facelift and for the money, a lot better service and additional touches. We wanted to love this hotel but it fell short of the mark for the cost.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the more contemporary rooms on Floor 14!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quitefrankly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMcArdle, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear your husband is a HHonors member! Please accept our sincerest apology for any disappointments you experience during your stay especially with regard to your guestroom accommodations and the Executive Lounge. It appears that we fell short in exceeding your expectations and for this we sincerely apologize. Please be assured, we value your feedback, comments such as yours enables us to focus on opportunity for improvements.

Earlier this year, we began renovations of various areas throughout the hotel with future renovations planned. Please visit us again and come enjoy one of our newly renovated rooms with added amenities such as a refrigerator and in-room safe.

We hope you will afford us future opportunity to serve you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,

Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,165)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,733 - 3,739 of 5,165 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you like something grand from the last Century, this is a must-stay hotel in Chicago. I would not stay more than 2-3 nights and without Club access, where my parents munched most of their breakfasts for free, costs can mount quickly.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
Thank TheGraysRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here the weekend of Chicago Marathon and the hotel was sold out. I asked for a quiet room on a renovated floor and got a corner room with lake view on floor 9. Everything was very nice in the room, the renovations are really classy.

The downsides was the traffic noise from Michigan Ave mostly all night. The cab drivers park there and yell and honk horns constantly. The hotel staff often whistles loudly to signal them. This noise is very noticeable as the windows are thin and also drafty. I had to use a white noise app on my iPhone to get to sleep. The windows on the lake side should really be replaced with thicker glass that closes properly. At least I didn't hear anyone throughout the halls as I was on the corner.

I liked the design and furnishings in the room, service from the front desk, the Executive lounge, and the food/drink options at the small store off the lobby. This place had everything from beer and wine to gelato, pizzas, subs, snacks, candy...all at really good prices. The Irish Pub looked to be packed each night, however we didn't check it out since we had to run the race. There are multiple bars in the hotel but none have the NFL Sunday Ticket.

Room Tip: Ask for your preference when it comes to the rooms - lake view, remodeled or not, one or two bathroo...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brauntosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Expensive £300+ per night for Lake View No free wi-fi or in room safe. We paid extra for high floor, corner room . Lake view is worth the extra but basic rate is high. Busy hotel, we stayed marathon weekend which started/finished in Grant Park opposite hotel so ideal location for us. However we stayed at Amalfi Hotel one hight before (see separate review) which offers better value. Room and bed comfortable bathroom good plenty of space. Good TV but in house computerised information system not good. Coffee shop okay, restaurant okay no fine dining. Location good but southern end of Magnificient Mile. Enjoyed our stay but you pay for it.

Room Tip: You have to pay for good views.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winerunner52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Pros : nice location near the park, rooms with view on the lake offer a beautiful view
Cons : empty minibar, crowded public areas, impossibility to book a taxi (nor to book a limo at short notice), general public is also getting cabs from the hotel hence queues that can last for more than 30 minutes, complains to staff on this respect received no answer but "just have to wait". Wasn't it for a cab driver insisting on taking only a ride to the airport I would probably have missed my flight.
Rooms on the street can be quite noisy windows' soundproofing isn't very good.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here while visiting University of Chicago. Huge hotel across from park. The hotel is historic and was a very nice comfortable place to stay. The rooms are large and asked for park/lake view and received it with not extra charge. The bathroom a little dated but still very nice and clean. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frefutravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here recently on business. The hotel is old and historic, and while I think renovations would help (lots of cheap gold fixtures), I was pleasantly surprised. Unlike a lot of reviewers, our room essentially had a view of other hotel rooms although we had a great Sears Tower view if you craned your neck a little. The closet was tiny and we had only one bathroom - the reviewers who refer to two bathrooms had an upgrade compared to my room. But we had plenty of towels, the bed was comfortable, and the room was clean. It was very quiet despite the urban location. There was a computer on the desk for no clear reason but overall the internet at the hotel was expensive, slow and unreliable.

The entire hotel was huge and we thought our conference was a little scattered across all the space. The elevators were sometimes slow. The coffee shop in the lobby was often crowded so I usually went to the nearby Dunkin Donuts or Starbucks, both within 2 blocks. The food served at our meetings was average to good.

It would also have been nice to be closer to the Magnificent Mile. If that's what you're going for, choose another hotel. This location is OK for the Art Museum and Grant Park.

I'd highly recommend eating at Mercat a la Plancha located just across the street (in the Blackstone Hotel) - incredible tapas.

Overall this is a fine hotel but I don't think you couldn't do better.

Room Tip: Apparently I should have asked for a lake view!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoBlue_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 191 in Chicago
9,087 reviews
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 191 in Chicago
6,827 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $111 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing