We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a little get away and a good nights sleep.”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #103 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton for an awards banquet that was held there. It is a very beautiful hotel and everyone was friendly.

We had a room with a king size bed. It also had 2 bathrooms which I guess is common for this hotel. The room was a little small but, we weren't there to just be in the room.

Everything worked great and didn't have any problems. I love the fact that hilton's have recently updated all there beds and bedding. It is so nice to have a good nights sleep even though you are staying at a hotel.

The Grand Ballroom is beautiful and has a cozy feel to it. The food at the banquet was great!

We ate breakfast at the Pavillion, an in hotel resturant. It was a little pricey for what you got, but we were in the city and prices are a bit higher there. I would not recommend there omletes as the eggs were not real eggs. The waiter was great and very helpful if we needed anything.

Check out was a breeze.

Parking was 41.00 for non-valet and you need to get your ticket validated at the check-in desk.

What a great piece of history to be in.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smily21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,647 - 4,653 of 5,239 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2008

We just returned from a stay at this hotel. We have gone to this hotel every year for the last 10 yrs. The hotel is beautiful, service is great --- but this year we were alittle disappointed. The room was ok, lots of renovating going on. The food was not as good as normal. We always do the breakfast buffet - best deal for your money - there was no omelets when we asked about this they said it was due to the fact the numbers are down in the hotel, so many of the normal food items were not available this weekend. We also noted that normally there is a shuttle to the shopping district., again this weekend it was not available.

The hotel is very nice and you can get great deals on the web. But overall this year we were not as happy with the hotel as in previous visits. Our group has decided to try again next year just to see if this was just an 'off weekend" for the hotel. (which we hope it was) The past 9 years have been great.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank LizzieChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2008

This was a truly magical Christmas experience so much so that we have stayed there 3 times and would go back every year. Kitty O'Shea's and Buckinghams steakhouse in the hotel were brilliant.

The decoraion in the hotel was OUT OF THIS WORLD, there was a pianist playing classical and Christmas Carols throughout the day. There is a huge tree and wooden life size soldiers greet you at the door. There is no escaping the festive season.

The facilities and rooms are immaculate and very spacious considering this is a city centre hotel. We had a view into Millenium park which was great to see when the snow was falling heavy.

Although not 'on' the mile please do not let this put you off we enjoyed walking each day to really experience Chicago. State street is only a few blocks away and the shopping is fantastic. Anywhere they could hang a wreath with a big red bow it was there, even the police horses had wee santa hats on. There are always sales on the day after thanks giving so take your plastic.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FranGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

My daughter booked the Hilton for a 2-night stay as a gift to me and it was wonderful. She was concerned that it was not on "the mile" but it wasn't an issue at all. The L is very close and a cab ride was very reasonable - if you want to ride to the heart of things. There is also a free shuttle from the hotel to the Miracle Mile that ran hourly, but only until 5:00 pm. If you are in Chicago to visit museums the location is great as they are walking distance. The hotel has the grandeur that you only find in older hotels, which I love. In warmer months I am sure the location is a real plus as it is right across from the park. The room was beautiful and had two bathrooms - which was an added bonus. We had dinner in the Irish Pub and the food was great. I would definitely stay here again when in Chicago.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristyPor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2008

Travelled with my 2 children and hubby to Chicago from Dec 24th - Jan 3rd. Had the most wonderful stay at the Hilton, the staff could not do enough for us. Booked and paid for a two double bed room with bathroom. When we arrived we were upgraded to a 2 double bedroom with 2 bathrooms and given a lake view. It must have been the irish accent!! The hotel was beautifully decorated for christmas and it also had a great buzz about it. The health centre was great to relax in after a day of sights and shopping.

The food was lovely though a little on the expensive side. Free paper every day of our stay. Free shuttle bus to the mag mile every day from 10am - 5pm. Also received free drinks in Kitty O'Sheas when they heard I was from Limerick. The barmans relatives were from Clare. Buddy Guys Blues Bar is around the corner from the Hotel, had a great night there and met the man himself, the highlight of the trip for my husband. He sat and spoke with us for over an hour and signed many autographs for us. Overall we found the hotel, the people, shops, food and sights fantastic. As Frank Sinatra says " Its my kinda town".

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank vonnyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

We had a great experience at this hotel. The hotel is Huge! The rooms were very clean, well appointed, and our room was very roomy with a great view of the snow covered park. The Staff was so nice and very helpfull. Donald, at the the Concierge desk scored us tickets to WICKED the day of the performance, and on a Holiday weekend too. They were great seats and a reasonable price. He worked very hard for us to see that show.

They truely topped off what was a Fun New Years Celebration. This will be my first pick when I return in the spring.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank jhowardjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2007

The HIlton Chicago is a huge convention hotel with 1500+ rooms. Although built in the 1920's, the hotel has been nicely refurbished while keeping with period decor. The public areas are well maintained. My room was very clean and comfortable with modern furnishings. The only negative thing I encountered was a buildup of rust around the bathtub drain that should have been cleaned up before the room was assigned to a guest.

The hotel has an extensive gym with a variety of workout equipment, an indoor track, and an indoor pool. The gym also has locker room facilities. The restaurant across from the front desk offers a very nice and extensive buffet. Luggage storage facilities are available for a $2 per bag fee if you have an afternoon flight. The hotel also has a business center with a copy machine and computers with Internet access, but you must pay for use of this equipment.

Overall, I had a very pleasant and comfortable three night stay. Every hotel employee I had contact with was pleasant, friendly, and helpful. If you plan ahead you can find sub $100 room rates during the "off" and "shoulder" seasons, which is a great deal for such a nice hotel.

The hotel is located at the corner of Balbo and Michigan Ave. Although the hotel is south of the "loop", downtown and a variety of public transportation alternatives are within just a few minutes walk.

HOW TO GET TO THE HILTON ON PUBLIC TRANSPORT

From O'HARE:

Take the Blue Line train towards Forest Park. Get off at the Jackson Street Station. Transfer to the Red Line train by walking down the stairs in the center of the platform (look for the Red Line signs). Follow the tunnel to the Jackson Street Red Line Station and take a Red Line train towards 95/Dan Ryan. Get off at the next stop (Harrison Street). Take the escalator up to the fare gates and exit to the right. At the top of the stairs, turn right and walk south on State Street one block to Balbo Street. Turn left and walk one block to Wabash Street. The entrance to the Hilton is on your right in the center of the block.

PUBLIC TRANSIT TO THE CHICAGO SIGHTS

I recommend you purchase a visitor pass. The passes are a great deal and allow you unlimited use of buses, subways, and some trains; 1-Day=$5, 2-Day=$9, 3-Day=$12, 5-Day=$18.

To the FIELD MUSEUM and SHEDD AQUARIUM

Exit the hotel via the Michigan Ave doors. Walk 1/2 block to Balbo Street and cross the street (towards the lake). The bus shelter is on the other side of the street. Take the #146 bus. It's about a 7 minute bus ride. On a nice day you can walk to these museums in about 20-25 minutes.

TO the SCIENCE and INDUSTRY MUSEUM

Walk to the bus stop described above and take the #6 or #10 bus. It's about a 12-15 minute bus ride to the museum.

TO the CHICAGO HISTORY MUSEUM

Walk to the bus stop at Dearborn and Harrison (about 4 blocks) and take the #22 bus towards downtown. The bus stops across the street from the museum at North and Clark Streets. Alternatively, you can take the Red Line train (towards Howard) and get off at the Clark Division Station. Exit via the Clark Street S.E. exit. Walk up the stairs and the bus stop is right there. Or, go left and walk four blocks up Clark Street to the museum

TO the NAVY PIER

Walk to the bus stop at Balbo and State Streets (1.5 blocks). Take the #29 "Navy Pier" bus.

TO the MAGNIFICENT MILE & HANCOCK TOWER

Exit the hotel via the Michagan Ave doors, turn left and walk to the corner of Balbo, cross the street, then cross Michigan Ave. The bus stop is a few steps from the corner. Take the #3 or #10 bus (about a 10-12 minute ride).

Enjoy your stay in Chicago!

Stayed: December 2007
10  Thank travelstuff0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 192 in Chicago
6,935 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $104 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing