We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Elegant Octogenarian”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #103 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Wow, I hope I look this good at 85+ years old! Consider this. Tens of thousands of twenty-somethings (and younger) descended upon Grant Park, directly across from the Hilton Chicago, to participate in the annual music festival known as Lollapalooza, and thousands of those revelers camped out in the rooms of the Hilton Chicago. Although the lobbies were always filled - and from the looks of things, all the rooms, too - my business-class corner room was totally quiet. I heard nothing but music from the festival grounds. The view was fantastic, facing east toward the park and the Lake. To the north I could see Navy Pier, allegedly Chicago’s number one tourist attraction. The bed was incredible; I didn’t want to leave it. The shower worked perfectly, the amenities were quality, the Wi-Fi fast, and the room itself quite spacious. In the bathroom was a built-in night light (see the photo). Ah, such joy. Don’t you hate to turn on bright lights in the middle of the night for a short run to the facilities… All of the hotel personnel were polite and thoughtful, and bearing in mind the pressure of a hotel filled with what seemed to be mostly kids on spring break, they were accommodating beyond the call of duty. The hotel is perfectly located – easy walking distance to all sorts of public transportation, a variety of restaurants, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, shopping, theaters, everything. The Hilton Chicago itself has a fascinating history. Read about it here in Wikipedia. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hilton_Chicago

Room Tip: Grab a lake-facing room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantaFeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,964 - 3,970 of 5,310 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

I had two rooms here from August 2-6. My daughters attended Lollapalozza across the street in Grant Park and my wife and I toured the city. We purchased lake view rooms overlooking Grant Park and had a wonderful and lively view of the concerts. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained and I was very impressed with how the staff handled concertgoers with gentle firmness, particularly during the weather evacuation when they flooded the hotel all at once. There is a taxi stop for six or seven taxis in front of the hotel making transportation very easy. We had rooms 1314 and 1370. Both were modern and clean with spectacular views. Cons: Wireless internet is free in the lobby but pricey in the rooms. Also, the front desk line moves slowly and the staff forgot to call me when my rooms were ready. But we were treated very nicely by everyone at the hotel and were impressed. We had meals at both the Irish pub and the lobby hotel. Both were good. Great experience overall.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Black_Francis26508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel is very good. First, the entry is very fancy, with old-fashioned opulence. The main entry had both a door and a revolving door, which allows for easy access (especially when you're carrying stuff). The lobby is well air-conditioned and quite refreshing (despite how hot and humid it was outside). The beds in our room were comfortable. Our room had two bathrooms! There is a pool on floor eight, which was just the right temperature (not too hot, not too cold). There was also a fitness center that had a running track! The service at the hotel was very nice -- they gave us a free upgrade even though we had purchased our room through a set deal. The only minor problem with this hotel is that you have to make sure to choose the right elevator to get to your floor.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XanderJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Great lobby. Even if you don't stay here check out the michigan ave entrance. This is the way hotels should look. Great lobby bar and Irish pub and the location can't be beat. A walk thru grant park in am in summer is superb
Be warned a lake view room has a really small window unless I assume you pay way more
Check in staff was great
Housekeeping? Took them until 5pm to get to my room but in fairness I was working in room this am until 11am with do not disturb sign out
Nice place great location wonderful history
Will stay again

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Hotel is in excellent shape for something that's 100+ years old. Great ambiance and well-maintained. Few small issues... if you're on a low to mid-floor, you'll have to take 2 elevators to get to the exec lounge. Parking is also extremely expensive but that goes with the location. I was also charged for internet as a HHonors Gold member but that was rectified upon talking to the HH desk. Lastly, my room had one bed and two bathrooms - not complaining, just odd.

Room Tip: High Floors for easy access to Exec Lounge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munjalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have stayed in quite a few hotels but I always seem to have poor experiences at the Hilton. This particular experience was one of the worst. I paid a premium price for my room. The hotel room was dirty and in need of remodeling, the hotel staff was overall very unfriendly and everything that was usually included in my other hotel rooms was an added charge at this hotel. I had to pay for parking (almost $50 a day), gym use and even the internet. They didn't even have wireless available to customers for free. I manage a small business and we would NEVER think of charging our customers for wireless internet. Just when I thought I got out of there without them finding another way to charge me for something they tacked on another day of parking at the gate since I didn't "get out before 3PM". Even though I arrived at 6PM the previous day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKP333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMcArdle, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback Please accept our sincerest apology for any disappointments you experienced during your stay. Our goal is to always provide the finest in guest services and from what I understand we failed to do so in this instance. Please be assured, your experience is not typical standards of the Hilton Chicago.
Please allow me to take this opportunity to inform you of a renovations project we recently underwent that included some of our guestroom accommodations. This project brought new modern rooms with added amenities such as an in-room safe and refrigerator. We hope you visit us again and experience a newly renovated room.
Please be assured, we work hard to maintain one of the most competitive pricings for the downtown area on added charges. With this being said, I am excited to inform you that as of January 1st 2012 we started offering complimentary wireless internet access in the lobby and restaurants of our hotel.
We truly hope you will allow us future opportunity to serve you again in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,

Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Firstly I want to say in my experience, hilton hotels are far superior to starwood properties. I would always recommend hiltons over starwood.

That said, this hotel did not disappoint. It is so grand when you walk in - beautiful and opulent! We are hilton honors diamond elite members, and the service was superb. Our room was very nice, with a great corner view of the Navy Pier. However, I should note that the room was very small.

The executive lounge had very good breakfast, and nice views. The service in the lounge however was not up to par. There was one woman there and she was pretty rude.

Overall the hotel was beautiful, in a great location for us on business and had overall great service. If you are staying as a tourist however, note you may need to take cabs often. This hotel is not really within walking distance to a lot of places. Other than that, I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenBlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#86 of 192 in Chicago
7,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#75 of 192 in Chicago
5,121 reviews
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $113 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing