We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Across from Millenium Park” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #96 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Across from Millenium Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here on our first trip to Chicago. We didn't know what the location would be like so far south on Michigan Ave. Its not the greatest location - despite the amazing view of the park and the lake. We would've rather been a few blocks north though, closer to the river, the restaurants, the shops, etc. The hotel was in the process of being renovated while we were there. We started in a tiny closet of a room, but it was fully renovated and beautifullly modern. We moved to a larger, unrenovated room which was quite old and tacky. Staff was helpful, there's security before you go up in the elevators in the evening so that was nice -- but worrisome too! The hotel is so historic and it was interesting learning about it. Overall, a good hotel -- but try not to pay full price, unless you want to be south of "the loop".

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake/Park facing renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoTraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,770
    1,544
    873
    377
    183
See reviews for
985
820
226
2,044
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

my boyfriend and I stayed here for a long weekend getaway and had a great time!!
We were in one of the executive suites on the 23rd floor and the room was fabulous.. great size with 2 full bathrooms. Very clean. My only concern was that on the last day my boyfriend cut his foot slightly on a piece of glass shard in the bathroom... we have absolutely no idea where it came from. It wasnt bad enough to be too worried about it though.
The service was immpecable, absolutely every staff member we were in contact with were amazing. SO friendly and attentive!!! If you have any questions at all (even if its just a good reccomendation for a restaurant) dont hesitate to ask the concierge. We had a great view of the water from our room.
A good location, but it was a little far from locations such as magnificent mile and the navy pier. But we didnt have a problem with it... if you dont mind walking a lot then you will be fine. We also had the opportunity to travel by public transportation (both the EL and by bus.. if you are in town long enough get the 3 day transportation pass!! $14 and its good for a full 72 hours) which was very easy and tourist friendly.
Keep in mind if you are driving that parking is $45 per day.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, and stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jame_3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I asked for a quiet room and got one. The location was within walking distance of some very good restaurants and attractions The hotel bar and adjacent cafe are severely overpriced with below average product---go elsewhere for dood and drink

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OragneCountyThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota, USA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I visited the Hilton for a conference and while many parts of the hotel have been updated and renovated, others have not. I was in a clearly dated room on an unrenovated floor while my colleagues were on a more modern floor. The water pressure in the bathroom was poor, the closet door was broken, and the lighting was extremely dim. The hotel elevators were also horribly slow. After every major session the wait was unbearable to the extent that you would get on whatever elevator opened and ride in the opposite direction if necessary. In a non-conference situation, I think I would have liked the hotel more.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face Michigan Ave. for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BFR1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I travel twice yearly to Chicago and this was, surprisingly, my first stay at the grand old Hilton on Mich Ave. Its a huge, historic facility, with loads of character. Its also really busy and chaotic, so don't expect any quiet moments here. The cafes and restaurants are always packed, which can be good or bad depending on your perspective. Also, if you get an inner courtyard room, you will look out on a brick wall. Ho hum, time to keep the shades drawn the entire visit. The technology is okay, but the in-room screen is a little clunky. The pool ROCKS, but you will have to pay extra to use the gym. The staff is harried and its not warm and fuzzy, but still decent for a business trip. Would not recommend for a family visit at all.

Room Tip: Try to avoid courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDSConcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

What a surprise this was! We are used to staying in Hilton's all over the world but this we rated 'the daddy of them all'! It had everything, old traditional style and quality mixed with updated modern amenities and it was enormous! In fact, when it was originally built in the 1930's it was the largest hotel in the world. After the war, Conrad Hilton bought it for a third of what it cost to build and he performed the most expensive refurb of a hotel in history, a staggering $137,000.000 which I believe still stands today! It has the most fabulous history attached to it with photos of guests who stayed there over the years which include legends like Al Capone and Marilyn Monroe and all the American Presidents that have lived through it's era.
The quality of the bespoke carpets/drapes/furnishings etc were of the best I have seen anywhere and it is apparent that money was no option when it was put together and because of that it still looks as good today as it did when it was created 50 years ago. It reminded me of our old Savoy Hotel but on a much bigger scale.
I think it has 3000 bedrooms on 24 floors with every floor being served by 14 lifts - truly amazing!
We had a room on the 21st floor overlooking Lake Michigan which is so huge it could have been the ocean. It was our first visit to Chicago and we were very impressed with how clean and safe it was with beautiful manicured lawns and gardens flanking the lake and the citizens were all very happy and proud of their home.
If you are thinking of visiting Chicago, I would recommend a stay here in the Hilton downtown.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the front have views of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank almwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Virginia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a conference and found the hotel to be quite nice. I usually stay at less expensive hotels because they usually offer amenities like the fitness room and wireless Internet for free instead of charging extra. I bit the bullet here and charged $25 for the fitness room for my entire stay but I just couldn't do the $12 a day Internet. I enjoyed the documentary on the hotel which ran on a loop on one of the hotel TV channels. The Chicago Hilton, the Palmer House and the Drake have long and interesting histories. The ballrooms are jaw-droppingly gorgeous! The hotel staff were super nice. The room was comfortable but nothing fancy. I wish the hotel was located further north on Michigan Ave. We took the bus to go downtown -$2.25 each way, have your money ready - and had a great time shopping and enjoying the city.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimkokomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#97 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,395 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#126 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#16 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Property: Hilton Chicago
Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#59 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing