We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #103 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stayed at the Hilton Chicago on Michigan Ave during the first week in August 2011. Although this was not the worst hotel I've stayed in, it certainly was not the best. The lobby and main level area were neat and clean but my room was not. On the day of check in, the room had only been half cleaned. The floor had not been vacumed, the toilet had not been cleaned and there was no soap or shampoo in the bathroom. The shower faucet never stopped leaking and there was black mold in the corners of the bath/shower. The pillows smelled like cigarette smoke and body odor and even though the room was "cleaned" while I was gone during the day, the floor was never vacumed. I know this because of a small piece of white debris on the carpet that did not move for 7 days. Apperantly, high price is what makes this a high end hotel. On the good side, with the exception of an overzealous female security gaurd, the doormen in the drop off/ parking rotunda area and the front desk workers were very accomidating.

Room Tip: Be sure to tell them exactly what you want. 1 bed or 2 beds, 1 bath or 2 baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quetzalcoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonChicago720, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the Hilton Chicago. We are happy to hear of your appreciation for the quality of service you received from our staff. Please except our sincerest apologies for your inconveniences as it relates to your room accommodations as this is not typical of the service the Hilton Chicago provides. Please know your experience and feedback as been shared with the Executive Team to better meet the expectations of our valued guests. We at the Hilton Chicago pride ourselves on our commitment to excellence in service and take it very seriously when we fail to live up to our guests’ expectations.
We value your business and look forward to the future opportunity to serve you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton is known.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,334 - 4,340 of 5,308 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

Pretty tired property. They are starting the process of making it modern and I am sure it will be beautiful again. The location is right across from Grant Park. I had a room that had views of the park and the lake. Lollapalooza was in the park for a couple days hosting 240,000 kids over a few days. I could hear the music but wasn't bothered by it. You can also see the Navy Pier and the fireworks

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gr1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonChicago720, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments. We hope you enjoyed the music from Lollapalooza and we are happy to hear the concerts and all its attendees were not an inconvenience too you. We value your business and look forward to the future opportunity to serve you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton is known.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The Hilton is one of the older hotels in Chicago. However, that doesn't mean it is run down. Rather it means that you should expect smaller rooms, grand ballrooms, and a large expansive hotel.

The rooms are well appointed but the bathrooms are a bit old. One side of the hotel has great views of the Park and Lake Michigan. Other rooms can overlook other rooms or the city.

The location is on the southern end of Michigan Ave (think Field Museum/Soldier Field) so if you want to get to the shopping areas prepare for a walk or cab ride.

Overall, a nice old gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xy223yz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonChicago720, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments as it relates to your recent stay with us.
It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation for our hotel. The Hilton Chicago is indeed a historic hotel with lots of history. We are very proud to service valued guests such as yourself and provide the quality of service you come to know and expect. We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting and exceeding the expectations of our guests.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels is known.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I put down a deposit on a check which they cashed in short order. They promised to refund my money upon check out. They wouldn't give it to me. It is over a month. I made 4 phone calls and finally left a message for the finance supervisor. As of yet, I am missing hundreds in a deposit. I never used internet or room service. I'd think the Hilton chain could afford to return a couple hundred bucks to someone who never even spent it at their hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank depositless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonChicago720, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments as it relates to your recent stay. We are very pleased you chose the Hilton Chicago for your accommodations.
Please except our sincerest apologies for not meeting and exceeding your expectations. Our goal is to provide the finest in guest services. Please contact Amy, our Assistant Director of Finance @ 312.431.6958 so that she may personally handle your matter.
We pride ourselves on our commitment to excellence in service and take it very seriously when we fail to live up to our guests’ expectations. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience and look forward to resolving this matter urgently.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My college best friend and I choose to visit Chicago for a weekend and wanted to find a hotel with a good price and a decent location. The Hilton Chicago fit the bill and had a Hilton double points offer, which was very appealing. It was also just a short cab ride from the train station.
The check-in process took quite awhile as we had to wait in a rather long line. However, we were given a complimentary upgrade to one of their double-beded/two bathroom rooms with a lakeview (we had only booked a double-bedded room so I believe we got a bit of a deal). We were happy to have a lake view and it was immensely helpful to have two bathrooms! However, there was only one hairdryer but we deduced that was so we don't blow a fuse, and we took turns.
Though it is not on the busy Magnificant Mile area (it's a little farther south), it is still in a good location and a short walk to the Field Museum.
The lobby and common areas are really impressive, with historic decor.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spartan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonChicago720, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments as it relates to your recent stay. We are pleased you found your room to be accommodating and that our location was not an inconvenience for you and your friend. We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting and exceeding the expectations of our guests.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels is known.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We are at the Hilton Chicago now, we have been here for 5 days. We arrived for Lollapalooza a couple of days early, and I must admit, we were a little worried before we got here about air conditioning (because of some of the previous reviews). However, once we arrived, all my worries were gone. We checked in, which was a breeze, and the lady who checked us in was a sweetheart. We get to our room (which was upgraded on request), and it has been a breeze since. We are staying in a Lake front suite, and it has been amazing. We were not sure how room service would be, because, last year we stayed at the Palmer House for Lollapalooza, and the room service would take 2 hrs for a couple of burgers. This is a very busy weekend for all hotels and restaurants so we understood, however, the Hilton has made every effort to ensure all is well. We got back last night, along with a couple thousand other people (and the night before), we ordered room svc right away, and each night, we waited only about 25 min. It was more quick than on a standard night in any other hotel. About the air conditioning. We haven't had a problem at all. When we walked into our room, it was stuffy, but all you have to do is "Turn it on !!" I read negative reviews, and I'm not sure if those people just don't know how to work a thermostat or what, but we were out in Grant Park for the last three days and it was HOT, and coming here afterwards was an absolute treat. We consider ourselves seasoned travelers, and I will return here, especially for Lollapalooza next year. This is a great location, great food all around, Thank you Hilton for making another year at Lolla perfect, We will be back !!

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake View Rm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Speyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonChicago720, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for your feedback as it relates to your stay.
It is truly our pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your appreciation with the quality of service you received from our staff. We are delighted you found your room to be accommodating and comfortable. As you so well know, Lollapalooza is a very busy time for us here at the hotel and we are happy you received your room service order within 25 minutes. We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting and exceeding the expectations of our guests.

We look forward to having you back next year during Lollapalooza!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We booked a last minute trip to Chicago, and ended up at the Hilton. It was a great location for seeing the things we wanted: the Art Institute is very near, and a fun little Segueway tour is nearby too. It's got a little historic value as well. When it was built, it was the largest hotel in the world, and the first one to have all rooms with bathrooms en suite. It's been updated since then, of course! I did feel that the lighting was a bit dim in the public areas, but a minor quibble. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abylover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonChicago720, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for sharing your comments as it relates to your recent stay.
It is truly our pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your appreciation with the quality of service you received from our staff. We are pleased you enjoyed our grand hotel and that you found our location to be accommodating for your surrounding activities. We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting and exceeding the expectations of our guests.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels is known.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 192 in Chicago
7,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#75 of 192 in Chicago
5,119 reviews
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $113 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing