We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch on Nearly Every Account”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #105 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Nearly everything about this hotel was wonderful, and I got a fantastic price on Priceline.

I was in Chicago for a quick weekend to attend a friend's wedding, and shared the room with my (adult) niece. From the moment I checked in, I could tell that the stay would be great. Despite arriving very early - my flight got into Midway at 11AM, I was able to check in right away. Staff at the check in desk were very friendly and accomodating. The room was very clean and comfortable, a nice size, and was set-up perfectly for sharing, two beds, two closets, two bathrooms.

This is a very large place with lots of meeting space, and is popular for weddings and conventions, and the weekend we stayed was no exception. The lobby area was always bustling and busy, and is perfect for people watching. Because we were in town for a wedding, we didn't spend much time in the hotel restaurants, but did have a very nice - if pricy - breakfast buffet in the very casual lobby restaurant. It was fast, and the made to order omelettes were especially tasty.

If anything could have been better, it would have been nice to be a tiny bit farther north, but that's really just nitpicking. The hotel is located very close, within easy walking distance, of Grant Park, Millenium Park, and the Art Institute, and everything in the Loop. Though it's a bit south, we even easily walked to Watertower Place and back.

All in all, a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the 2beds, 2baths rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bookish12866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonChicago720, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Hilton Chicago. I was very happy to read your very detailed comments and learn of your appreciation with every aspect of your stay with us from the check-in process, guest rooms, and breakfast in the Pavilion Restaurant. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff and General Manager. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,476 - 4,482 of 5,386 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2011

Good location, fairly clean hotel. Unfortunately, our non-smoking room wreaked of smoke after we checked in. Promptly brought it to the attention of Customer Service, who after much discussion, informed me they could only offer me another room on their smoking floor which was all they had available! I find it hard to believe I was in the only open non smoking room in a hotel the size of the Hilton Chicago. Customer service offered to have housekeeping come freshen the room, I don't believe they ever did because it still wreaked of smoke when we returned later in the evening. For the price, there are nicer, more modern options where I have received better service in downtown Chicago. The W, Hyatt Towers, and Palmer House Hilton all come to mind.

Bottom line, my experience at the Hilton Chicago was average at best.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheechman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonChicago720, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us. I am sorry to read your comments regarding the smokey smell in your non-smoking guest room. Thank you for bringing it to our attention right away, but I'm sorry our response did not meet your satisfaction. I will address your comments with the Director of Housekeeping and the Director of Front Office Operations. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.
Thank you again for your comments and your time in completing this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We booked at priceline,it is really a good value. the location is convienient. everything is good.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ye z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonChicago720, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your first stay at The Hilton Chicago. I was very happy to read your comments and learn of your satisfaction with your stay. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I arrived in the morning, but the woman at the desk offered me options to have a room immediately. The restaurants had great food reasonably priced with terrific staff members who were friendly and helpful. The staff answered my questions about the locations of rooms and neighborhood venues and were generally really fabulous. I would definitely stay there again when I return to Chicago.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonChicago720, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your first stay at The Hilton Chicago. I was very happy to read your great comments and learn of your appreciation with every aspect of your stay with us. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff and General Manager. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Well just to start with this hotel has a lot of history. It is a beautiful hotel with a very nice and helpful staff. Kitty o' Sheas (the restaurant) is amazing. The rooms are quite spacious and comfortable. If you are staying on the front side of the hotel you have a great view of Lake Michigan. If you are staying on the other side you have a view of the "Windy City." The pool and fitness center are in the best condition possible, and the pool is heated all year so if you go in the winter, YOU CAN SWIM! So if you're going to Chicago any time soon stay here, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: To get the best room sign up for upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerboy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonChicago720, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2011

Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your first stay at The Hilton Chicago. I was very happy to read your great comments and learn of your appreciation with every aspect of your stay from your guest room, to Kitty O'Shea's, to the fitness center and pool. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff and General Manager. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed recently at the Hilton after getting a great price on priceline.com. The hotel itself is beautiful, and while it is south of the Magnificent Mile, we had decent walking shoes so we walked to pretty much everything closeby. The room was smaller than we expected, but given the price and location, we were fine with it. Front desk did offer to upgrade to a lake view for an additional $50 a night, which we didn't accept. Good service, and a nice, historic place to stay on a quick visit to the city.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breesgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonChicago720, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2011

Management Response:
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Hilton Chicago. I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your time here. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed at the Hilton on Michigan Ave on Easter weekend. I called the morning before arriving to confirm my reservation and was told I may arrive for an early check-in at no extra charge. when we arrived I asked for an upgrade, which they did give us a 2 bed, 2 bathroom upgrade. The room is super small, but we were never in the room anyhow. It was nice having the 2nd bathroom since we had a teenage girl and boy with us. One bathroom has a stand up shower while the other has a bathtub. The beds were small, but worked, especially considering I shared my bed with my neice and it was fine and my husband shared his bed with our son, no complaints from anyone. The pool and jacuzzi were very busy, but we still managed to get a spot and enjoy the jacuzzi tub. BTW-there are 2 jaccuzis by the pool, so that was a plus. The pool is very large, and I'm sure one of the largest you'll find in Dowtown Chicago.
The location was ok, we wanted to be as close to the museums as possible. The Shed and Field Museum are both within walking distance. We did get an all day bus pass on the second day, since the museum of Science and Industry is way to far to walk. The bus pass was only $5.75 each and we ended up going from the hotel to the museum, to Ed Debevics, Navy Pier, and Willis Tower, so it was well worth the cost. Much cheaper than a taxi cab would have been. There wasn't really any restaurants close by, except for Buddy Guy's Legends. Do yourself a favor and go there, I had the BEST jambalaya ever, no wonder its rated in the top ten of the taste of chicago. My neice had the Gumbo and it was also fantastic. Stay away from the chicken, husband and son had that, they both said it was dry. While we were there, we even got to enjoy some blues music. My first ever experience and it was awesome. Also you can bring kids as long as its before 8 pm, and btw- after 9 pm its a $20.00 cover to get in..We were there on a Friday night, so not sure if that cover is every night.
There was a liquor store by the hotel which was an easy walk for beer, pop or wine and I must say they have a HUGE selection of wine, plus on that Friday they had a wine tasting event going on at the store, so I was able to try a sample of $80.00 bottle of wine that I will never buy.
If you get the bus pass, ask the concierge at the hotel to write down what #'s or name of roads that you have to get on/off at. That way if your not familiar with the area your aren't questioning every bus driver to which stop you need to get on/off at.
I am appalled that the Hilton charged me $7.68 for a bottle of water that I never touched. Its ridiculous that they would even leave the bottle of water in your room, with no note stating how much it cost. Now I did call the hotel today when I saw the charge on my account and they said they are reversing the charge, but I still think charging that amount for water is CRAZY! Also there is no internet service????? I did stay at the Hilton, right??
Overall, it was a good stay, but paying $159.00 a night(Included parking-booked on Travelocity) I do think the hotel could have included breakfast and internet, but we are in Chicago.
Always, Always ask for an upgrade, the worst they will do is say no.
BTW- I did ask for a late checkout and we got one, at no charge.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebe_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonChicago720, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2011

Dear Traveler,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. Your review was very thorough and gave a very accurate description of our location and offerings in and around the hotel. I'm sorry for the experience you encountered with the bottled water in your guest room and I will address it with the appropriate department. We appreciate your thoughtful suggestions. It was a pleasure to read your comments regarding your stay and we hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for your time in completing and posting this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#89 of 192 in Chicago
7,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $113 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing