We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it...location was GREAT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Ranked #135 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved it...location was GREAT!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

We were looking for an inexpensive place to stay in Downtown Chicago for a wedding this summer. The location was great, right off the Magnificent Mile and the service was great too. There was convenient parking right across the street (you almost always have to pay separate for parking but it was very easy to get the car in and out, and we still paid less for the room & parking than we would have spent at another hotel just for the room.) Close for public transport too. It was not an upscale place, but the value was much more inportant to us! Would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillKuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    572
    695
    283
    174
See reviews for
412
454
217
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

Location was good, a few blocks (walking) from Grant Park. Hotel and room was average. We stayed in a room with 2 double beds. The room was very small. Beds weren't that great. The shower sucked! No water pressure, so it took me 10 mins to rinse shampoo out of my hair. Parking is in a parking lot across the street from the hotel and is $28 per day. The price of the hotel was moderate for downtown Chicago, $154 per night with a AAA discount. But I have stayed in nicer hotels downtown for less.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waslka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

Was extremely disappointed with this hotel. We stayed there for 4 nights and never had any hot water. When we told reception about this we were told that no else had complained and was never given a resolution. House keeping only came 1 day out of three, I asked reception for clean towels but they never came. Hotel was really old but I expected that from reading other reviews (which I should have listened to). Our room was right next to the air-conditioners which were noisy and made the windows vibrate which made sleep difficult. At the end of our stay when we complained about the above we were basically told that was to bad which is just bad customer service. Hotel was in a good location but I would never stay there again. Otherwise I really enjoyed Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sim1y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

I stayed at this Travelodge, 65 E.Harrison, Chicago on October 4 & 5, I was supposed to stay one more night but had to leave and pay for another hotel. I was bitten and had swollen red patches on my arm (4-5 areas), my neck, my cheek. They were very itchy, large red blotches, the size of dimes. I had business meetings - what a nightmare. Now I am worried about going home and any bed bugs in my luggage/clothes.

I notified the hotel management and front desk staff. They said they would check into it.

A very old hotel, very old carpets and furnishings.

This hotel is one of the cheapest and often included in Orbitz/Travelocity in a very cheap air+hotel package - but avoid it - please - don't suffer like I did.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhay25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeChicago, Public Relations Manager at Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Dear Abhay25,

We would like to have more information regarding your issue. To our knowledge, we did not have a bed bug issue during your stay. Please contact our Director of Operations and reference your reservation, so that we may look into this matter further.

We understand the impossible task of assuring that there will never be a case of bed bugs. Recent studies and media investigations have shown that they will never be eradicated due to EPA regulations and the resilience of the species. They have shown that high-end shops and luxury 5 star hotels are just as much at risk as a road-side motel.

We have researched this issue extensively and have procedures in place to assure that if there is an isolated instance, it does not become a bigger, more permanent problem. We have also utilized measures such as; preemptive treatments by an innovative pest control company that researches the newest and best methods in the business, mattress encasements and even certified bug sniffing dogs, to name a few, in an effort to be as proactive as possible toward this nuisance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

Just stayed at this hotel for one night for the I.M.T.S. show and we were impressed. Got to Chicago at 10:00 a.m. and just wanted to check our luggage with a bellman, but they said our room was available and we could check in, after a three and a half hour car ride that is good news. Staff is very freindly and the location is great. We did not live in the room so if you are looking for a clean room, a comfortable bed, and a shower that works this is a good deal!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishman864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

We booked this hotel because we were on a budget so I was a little nervous about what we would find when we arrived. The hotel was the cheapest in the downtown area, but I was pleasantly surprised by how nice the staff was and how clean the room was. It was a clean, comfortable room and from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out everyone we encountered on the staff was friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Chicago on a budget. There are two restaurants attached to the hotel and convenient access to parking. The hotel is not far from the Red Line making it easy to get anywhere in Chicago quickly. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patproc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

This hotel was a great value. We were traveling on a tight budget so when we booked this hotel, which was the absolute rock-bottom cheapest we could find, we were expecting to be staying in a dump. But surprisingly the hotel was very nice, clean, and definitely a good value. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. Obviously, this is no 5 star hotel, but for the money it was definitely a good choice.

Tips: Park across the street from the main entrance in the parking garage. The valet will park your car for you. They will give you a ticket that you need to get validated at the hotel. This will save you about $5/day on parking.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#126 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#97 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Property: Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Address: 65 E Harrison St, Wabash St & Harrison St, Chicago, IL 60605-1614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago 2*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Travelodge
Chicago Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing