We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap place to stay - here The Loop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Ranked #138 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed December 6, 2009

I got a nice Kingsize Bed which was really cosy. one negative topic is the soud of the metro next to the hotel, or the noise of shjowering people from the level above or below

Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
Thank asraehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,880 - 1,886 of 2,224 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2009

I had to attend a convention in Chicago and couldn't afford the conference hotel (Palmer House) and so booked rooms at the Travelodge. I was expecting the worst (I've stayed in some NASTY Travelodges before), but the location and price were excellent so I figured I'd take a chance.

First of all, the front desk staff was so nice - I wanted to check in early so I could attend some meetings at the conference, and they didn't even blink (most hotels try to make you feel bad for not waiting until 3). The room was quite large, bright, clean and cheerful and the bed was really comfortable. There are two restaurants downstairs - the little diner was perfect for a quick breakfast or lunch (and surprisingly inexpensive) and the Thai place was fabulous. Every hotel staff member I spoke with was friendly and chatty (especially the maintenance guy - I needed help with the in-room safe and he took care of everything quickly!). My only complaint is that their cable menu is missing some obvious channels (Weather, Comedy Central), but no one should be watching TV when there's the whole city to explore. Speaking of exploration - the Art Institute is just up the block and the hotel is also a block from the shopping on Michigan and State Streets, so everything is really convenient.

Altogether, the hotel is old and not nearly as nice as the Palmer House, but it was so inexpensive and much better than I expected. Would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downstateburnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

A horrible experience. Ancient, slow elevators, surly desk staff, uncomfortable bed, lots of noise in hall, avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsfNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Very close to the Loop. Furniture is a bit dated, but comfortable. Great free wireless internet in rooms. Very nice Thai restaurant in the house, or a cheapy fast food place with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoloTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Good location right in the centre (The Loop).Bought Breakfast in adjoining diner,Well priced.Hotel a bit noisy due to being in The Loop and trains passing by all through the night but probably same everywhere.Good sized room.Value for money.Reception staff very knowledgeable and helpful.Hotel just around corner from Buddy Guys Blues Legends Club.Well worth a visit.Make sure to visit Field Museum,excellent.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Cindertown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

My daughter stayed here and brought home bedbugs. Check the mattress before staying here. I know bedbugs have become a serious problem in American hotels, but they are an expensive, aggravating and horrible problem when you get them in your house.

The hotel offered her a free stay in their hotel as compensation! I am advising her not to go back there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packedlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Travelodge downtown Chicago was very accomodating, the front desk was great with directions and any of our many questions. There were two restraunts, both were good to eat at and the Chicago carryout was pretty reasonably priced as well.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hteVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#102 of 191 in Chicago
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#144 of 191 in Chicago
2,075 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#133 of 191 in Chicago
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Address: 65 E Harrison St, Wabash St & Harrison St, Chicago, IL 60605-1614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $95 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago 2*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Travelodge
Chicago Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing