We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Experience of my Life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Ranked #139 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My first impression of the hotel was outdated and old. When we got into our room there were no blankets on the bed. I got locked into the bathroom the first time we used it. When we called the front desk for help the front desk person laughed at us. Later that night we were locked out of our room for 2-3hours and the front desk told us it was our fault and we wouldn't be able to get into our room until 8am the next day. After almost 2 hours they started to try to fix the door because I wouldn't leave the front desk and was about to call the police. The next day I found out that my friend in the room next door had access to my room because they gave him a master key. While we were leaving we tired his key in 7 other rooms and could have gotten in them. We check out right after i found this out. Poor Service, Lack of amenities. Loud because its next to the L. Will never stay in a Travelodge again!!!

Room Tip: Don't Stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,300 - 1,306 of 2,205 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

The location of this hotel is its main plus. Located close to the loop and 5 minutes walk far from Anish Kapoor's famous "bean artwork". The hotel is simply and good for families. Rooms are big and not too noisy, the hotel staff is friendly and the room-rate compared with other hotels in this area is extremely competitive.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Katie20412
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Everything was fine, but the noise. The stuff was very friendly and inspiring (they recommended many things!), the elevators were not as slow as in the reviews, the location was awesome. My room was clean and comfy, but it was extremely loud. I could hear every whisper of my neighbors, every step at the corridor, there was also some funny noise coming from the pipes. In addition there was only single glazing and there is a railway few meters away from the window, with trains running every few minutes. Luckily I was exhausted every day, so I was able to sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Kellee W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Latisha L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed at the Travelodge in September and it is perfect for people looking for a convenient location but don't want to spend $400 a night for a room. Some people leaving these 1-2 star reviews are insufferable. Yes the hotel is old and might have imperfections here and there but in no way is it gross or nasty as some people have said. Clean room and up to my standard of being comfortable to walk barefoot in the room. The staff were all super friendly (except for one person at the front desk, but hey we all have bad days) especially the bell hops. The only thing that prevented me from giving 5 stars was the elevators were super slow. I once timed it took over 3 minutes for an elevator to open. It's a small gripe but it's really no big deal. I would stay here again for another trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#97 of 192 in Chicago
590 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#144 of 192 in Chicago
2,063 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Address: 65 E Harrison St, Wabash St & Harrison St, Chicago, IL 60605-1614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $84 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago 2*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Travelodge
Chicago Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing