We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chicago's Essex Inn
Ranked #143 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed July 20, 2010

This hotel was priced right, and was just across from Grant Park on Michigan Avenue. We had no trouble getting a cab right out front when necessary, and there is a shuttle to Navy Pier that is very convenient. It's only a few blocks from the El stops as well. Several good breakfast/coffee places nearby. Pleasant staff, small but clean and comfy rooms. The pool was warm (maybe a little too warm) and the deck area was fantastic for an afternoon nap in the sun. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntheroadagainNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,038)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,498 - 1,504 of 2,038 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2010

This hotel has been our choice on a couple of occasions when we have done bicycling events that started and ended at Grant Park. The most recent for the annual LATE Ride.

The location is better suited for those looking to visit Millenium Park, Museum Campus or Soldier Field however it still has easy access to the loop and Mag Mile shopping. If you're looking for nightlife stick to river north and gold coast hotels.

We have chosen to park our car at the Grant Park South lot a short walk north on Michigan Ave since it's cheaper than hotel parking and the in and out privilege offered by the Essex didn't concern us.

Don't expect a great city view at this hotel but you can get a great lake view if you choose a east facing room.

Another note is that the Chicago double decker bus tour has a stop right across the street to the north along Michigan Ave and you can purchase the hop on/off tour ticket and make a loop right back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We have stayed at the Essex three times, all as an overnighter before catching the train. On this particular trip we wanted a room that faced Navy Pier so we could watch the fireworks from our room. The desk clerk worked with us until we found just the 'right' room. We were given an amazing room with the perfect view. The clerk was so helpful and friendly, we felt quite pampered. The location is fantastic. We have had queen, king and suite type rooms and all have been clean and comfortable. Folks who don't like the Essex most likely don't like old nostalgic hotels. This one evokes an Old Chicago feel with modern day comfort. Perfect for the middle-aged who appreciate good service, good value and don't need a lot of modern-day frills.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherokeechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Here's the pros...good location across from Grant Park which was walking distance for us to go to Taste of Chicago. It was also close to the Red Line train that we took to Wrigley Field. The Hotel has a free shuttle to N. Michigan Ave.,a helpful bellman and good beds. Here's the cons - front desk staff was a bit surly(especially April) our request for a late check out was denied (they could have been booked and needed rooms), it's an older hotel and the bathrooms are small with showers There were a lot children and we think maybe the hotel caters to groups. I didn't get to the pool area/patio buy I heard it was nice.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthernBelle85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Great place to stay for a weekend trip. Small lobby area small bar, No FREE wireless internet. But overall it's a great place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank my66olds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Booked hotel because of great deal. Usually only trust AAA ratings but the Essex Inn was not listed. Took the pludge and was pleasantly surprised. Room was great, clean and modern. Bed was very comfortable; indoor pool and gym an added plus. I was there to spent quality time with my college age daugher. It was very close to Musuems, college campus', and transportation. Perfect stay for me. Negative was the lobby; needs a new look. Park on the street instead of the $37 a night hotel rate.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLITZMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

This is a good hotel overall if you can overlook the people at the front desk. It is a great location, close to museums, the lobby is open and clean. The restaurant bar has the best service people who were great to us even with 3 kids between 7-9. They were friendly and went out of their way to accomodate us. The pool is awesome, the kids had a great time and unlike most hotel pools, this one had a lifeguard. The rooftop garden is really nice but it would have been fun to be able to sit out there and order a glass of wine to watch the city go by. The rooms were comfortable and the bed was great. The showers were a little small but not unlike any older hotel.
The key card had an ad on it which says purchase Shedd VIP tickets at the hotel front desk. When I went to the front desk, no one seemed to know about what the VIP tickets meant and couldn't tell me what the price difference was.
The website offers free shuttle services which makes several stops on Michigan Avenue, etc. We took the shuttle to the Shedd Aquarium on the first day we were there. The driver not only dropped us off at the Field House and advised us to walk to the Shedd, when I called to ask what time the shuttles ran to pick people up, I was advised they don't pick up anyone, it's only drop off service. The person I spoke with said we TOLD you we don't have pick up service and NO, he didn't. Otherwise, I would not have expected it. We had to take a cab back to the hotel. When we checked out, we asked if they would hold our bags after we checked out because we wanted to go to one more museum before we took the train. They held them for us at a fee of 50 cents per bag...can you say "nickel and dime your guests"? If the service in the restaurant/bar hadn't been so good and the food reasonably priced and fairly good, or the location was different, I would not recommend this hotel. The price was right but the attitude of the staff was definitely lacking.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debi57SaintLouisMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 192 in Chicago
5,234 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#90 of 192 in Chicago
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-7101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $92 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago. From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing