We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chicago's Essex Inn
Ranked #126 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit the hotel is well located for all Chicagos attractions we had breakfast in the restaurant both mornings and have no complaints about the food on our first night we sat in the bar and availed ourselves of the days offer of Miller beer at $2 a pint
The second night we wdnt to Buddy Guys club which is just around the corner next time we visit Chicago I would be quite happy to stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volpetervo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    807
    451
    156
    135
See reviews for
486
537
117
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Check in was smooth when we arrived at the hotel, despite arriving at the same time as a performing arts school (I think).

The room was basic but that's all we needed for our short stay in Chicago. The room was a little dated and dark but the bed was comfy and clean. The bathroom was very small and the bath was definitely not one for lying in and having a good soak!

The Brasserie is a great place to eat and the service great.

The hotel staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

Overall, the decor is a little dated and a bit dingy but its a good, clean hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Location is very good, close to a lot of attractions. Average taxi ride was $12 with tip. Their shuttle needs more trips to more places. Shuttle was drop off only and limited runs to Nearby museums. Request a shuttle schedule for planning. Service was top notch! Workers were awesome and very helpful. Rooms were small, beds were small, and our room needed a thorough scrub down.
General cleaning missed several dusty areas. Their resturaunt was pretty good but a bit pricey-a family of 2 adults, 2 kids breakfast $75. Overall it's a good deal for the price especially if you have kids. Hotel needs to remove smoking area near pool. Smoke smell was everywhere. Designate/move smoke area to sidewalk near garage

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FunDaddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

If ever given the chance between paying for this hotel, or paying more a bit more in town, go towards town.
This hotel, although historical, deserves a 2 star, definitely not 3.
Beds were similar to sleeping on the box springs, bathroom is quite small and cramped feeling.
The view from our room was of another building, I am sure there are better views, but at least this entire side gets to see a building. Welcome to Chicago, here's a building. Enjoy your stay in our room where you have no temperature control (building controls heating/cooling, it's either heat or cool depending on time of year) and you can hear pigeons cough a block outside your window..
On a positive note, the L train noise might not sound exactly like a snoring lumberjack..

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NukedNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Macclesfield
Level Contributor
191 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Although this hotel is a little dated in its decor the rooms are clean and the location is excellent for Downtown Chicago. Our bathroom was a little small but the bedroom and twin beds were a good size and our room had a view of the lake. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Very close to Shedd aquarium and the Field Museum.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParqueTropical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEssexInn, Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Parque,

We are delighted to her that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of Chicago's attractions.
All of us take great pride in our roles and we are so happy to have been able to provide you and your family wonderful guest service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
250 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at the Essex for 2 nights as the starting point for a Dixieland & Rythms tour by Cosmos. The hotel was well placed for all local amenities and the staff and receptionists warm, friendly and helpful. A bonus for me was that there were smoking rooms available which saved having to keep going outside. A comfortable and clean hotel - we were very impressed.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a much better view of the park and no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEssexInn, Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Peter G,
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay. We are so happy you enjoyed yourself. Enjoy the rest of your tour and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

good hotel downtown great pool and sauna nice fitness room.compliments to the pool boy did a excellent job garding the kids in the pool never sit down on his chair react immediatly at the kids actions never saw this annywhere.only thing that has a minus is the hotel parking is expansive.its a lot cheaper to park 100 FT furter in the street.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madmackNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#96 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,746 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Property: Chicago's Essex Inn
Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago. From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing