We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older but clean and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chicago's Essex Inn
Ranked #126 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Older but clean and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Don't stay here if you are looking for a posh, luxury hotel room. However, if you don't mind an older (retro?) hotel that is simple, clean and much less expensive, then you'll be okay with Essex Inn.

My friend and I spent the weekend in Chicago and stayed Friday and Saturday night at the Essex. The rooms were average size but the bathroom was a little small. I may not want to have to share it with a family of 4. However, it was clean. And we weren't in the room very much anyway.

Also, be advised that it is a little south of where the bulk of restaurants, shopping and clubs are. We had no problem walking the few extra blocks, and the night we wore heels, we took a taxi for $10 (with tip) to drop us off in near some of the live music venues.

For the price and location, I think it was a good deal. Next time I may look at splurging on a hotel a little further north, but it will just depend on the price. I would consider staying at Essex again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GJB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    810
    458
    156
    138
See reviews for
489
541
117
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights (Sept 14/15). The big 'plus' for this hotel is the great location - right across the road from Grant Park and the Buckingham Fountain. In fact most of the Chicago sights such as The Navy Pier and the Metro 'Loop' are also close by and walkable.
The hotel itself is very clean and comfortable with friendly and helpful staff. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to 'leisure' travellers in particular who are looking for a good quality hotel in a terrific location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Essex Inn and greatly enjoyed our stay. All of the staff were very helpful and polite. Checking in and out (and everything in between) was therefore a smooth and painless process.

The room was immaculately clean and had excellent views over the park and the lake. The bathroom was more like a closet - tiny and quite dark however it was as clean as the rest of the room.

In terms of location, the hotel was very convenient for the Shedd Aquarium and Field Museum and a reasonable walking distance to Navy Pier, the Magnificent Mile and other attractions. Your legs will definitely ache if you walk there and back however.

Overall, our stay at the Essex Inn was very pleasant and we would return although if visiting Chicago as a tourist I would probably look into alternative hotels a little more conveniently located.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for five days and really enjoyed this experience. The staff was very friendly and never hesitant to help without even asking. The location is pretty nice as well, with a nice view of Grand Park. I would definitely recommend this for anyone who needs a stay in the Chicago area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed with my son for 6 nights in August, 2013. Had double-double room on 15th floor. Good amount of room, window opened, A/C was simple but effective even on 90+ days. Very clean. Beds and linens/pillows were comfortable and reasonably good quality. Half-size fridge very convenient as we shopped at Trader Joe's at Roosevelt Station and had fresh fruit, drinks, smoothies, etc in our room.

Some inevitable street noise, but generally no noise from hallway, although room was away from elevator and vending machines. Separate sink area from toilet, ironing board, hair dryer, towels, toiletries all adequate.

Real plus in the good weather is the rooftop pool and garden area. The pool is large for a hotel, and the outside deck has a wonderful view over the lake. Several loungers and chairs/tables available in sun and shade. There is an entire shower and change area for guests at the poolside, so that even before your room is ready, or after checkout, you can really enjoy the facilities.

Our plane left very late on our last day, and we were allowed to check out in morning and return and use the pool area all day without hassle, then return to lobby for GO Airport pickup to airport in the evening. Had a good deal through American Airlines Vacations. Would recommend for families.

Room Tip: Some rooms with connections available for families. Pool is on 4th floor, so avoid if you want quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torontogal-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Amiable staff, great location, nice views. I was extremely tired after a long day walking a convention, and found the welcome at the hotel to be very nice. About the only thing that was a negative is the hotel's hvac system, which is very, very old. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_from_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEssexInn, Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Richard,
Thank you so much for letting us know how your stay was. We are glad you enjoyed your self and look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel is smaller hotel next to 2 large ones on Michigan Avenue. Great value for the price. Rooms have been updated. I would have preferred 2 queen beds rather than 2 doubles. But overall clean and served the purpose.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xKAKx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#97 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,793 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Property: Chicago's Essex Inn
Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago. From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing