We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another successful visit to Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chicago's Essex Inn
Ranked #129 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another successful visit to Chicago”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I love Chicago's Essex Inn - it rates as one of my favourite hotels in the world. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are always very spacious, clean and welcoming. The beds are among the most comfortable I have slept in. I highly recommend this hotel for all the above and the location - you have Buddy Guy's Legends Club just at the back of the hotel for world class blues music. A bus stop for the hop on hop off open top buses - just out of the hotel and straight on, brilliant. I will be returning the Chicago's Essex Inn.

Room Tip: We booked through Trailfinders and asked for the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEssexInn, Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dave S

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for being a loyal guest and we cant wait to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    815
    468
    164
    142
See reviews for
496
549
119
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with the Groupon special which was a good deal ($97/night during high season). The Shoreline 30 minute boat tour was included and we really liked it.
However, you see different details in the hotel room that look a bit rundown. Our room smelled very strongly from somebody's perfume which was disturbing but we didn't complain either...
The pool was nice with an outdoor deck and the lady at the entrance was pleasant.
I thought the rate was outstanding and so we were more willing to put up with less quality. I probably wouldn't go again and pay full price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purpula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We used the Essex for a two day and a three day stint in Chicago before and after a tour of Indiana, these were our third and fourth visits to the hotel. Most of the stay was great, location, and a good base to explore the city. The only downside was on checkout, we booked via Virgin who told us we had free parking, free water in the room and a 2pm checkout. We did get these(apart from the in room bits) but after a standoff with the desk staff who insisted parking wasn't free and that a late checkout was 50 dollars. After the first stay I called Virgin to ensure I didn't have an argument on checkout after the next stay, they rang the hotel and I was assured all was sorted, it wasn't, again I was billed for parking which I refused to pay. I rang Virginwhilst at the desk and told them to sort the mess. The Essex staff wouldn't speak to the Virgin rep and gave me a new bill minus the parking charge.

Not sure who's really at fault but either the hotel, or Virgin need to sort their act!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gilly0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEssexInn, Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Gilly0111,

I am so sorry to hear that your check out experience was less then satisfactory. I assure you I well look into this matter. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We do appreciate you being our guest and are grateful that you brought this to out attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I bought a Groupon for the Essex Inn for $125 for a king size bed, for one night. Check in was set for 3pm. We arrived in Chicago around noon and didn't want to drive around with our luggage so we went to the hotel early to see if they could let us check in early. The hotel was super easy to find and the valet parking was easily accessible as well. It was $48 to park for one night, but you could get your car in and out as many times as you wanted to. There is a cheaper ramp a few blocks down, but you also don't have the security you have with this lot.
They were able to check us in early, at noon, when we arrived. The front desk clerk was very nice and even showed us a few awesome restaurants to try out.
The view in our room was to be expected, a view of Grant Park and in the distance, Navy Pier. The room was clean, smelled fine and had everything that we would need for the one night.
The hotel is within walking distance to pretty much anything, we walked up to the Bank of America Theatre for a show, as well as down to Yolk for breakfast the next morning. A very good hotel, and I would definitely stay here again. No issues at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZombiePanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were booked into this hotel as a part of a tour we took to see a ball game in Chicago. There were at least 3 other tour groups and a family reunion in the hotel at the same time so it was quite busy. As quite a few other reviews have mentioned, the reason to stay at this hotel is because it is close to the museum district, Grant and Millennium parks, Buckingham Fountain, and is just a short walk from the primary Chicago shopping area along Michigan Av. It is also close to a number of nice restaurants; Lou Malnati's is just 2 blocks away. Also, for Lou Malnati's, if you decide to go have pizza at this great restaurant, ask the Essex concierge for the voucher for a free appitizer or dessert. We had the warm chocolate chip cookie for dessert... AWESOME!!! Our tour included breakfast each morning but I wouldn't use the restaurant if we hadn't received the vouchers. There are a couple of Dunkin Donuts, a Corner Bakery, and a Pannara all within easy walking distance so you should be able to get breakfast without any problems. Although we didn't use the pool on the 4th floor, I'll agree with the other reviews that say it is nice. We especially liked the small roof top garden just next to the pool. All in all, athough the Essex is an older hotel, it is well maintained and close to much of the Chicago action. We will certainly consider it again when we got back to Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the parks and the lake. The train runs all night just a few blocks aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEssexInn, Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
MoBiker,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in Chicago. You were able to hit up a lot of great attractions. Please contact me directly when your travels bring you back to Chicago. I would be more then happy to assist you with any of your reservation needs. jscott@essexinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec, Qc
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very close to park, museums and other activities. Nice terrasse. Rooms were comfy, and nicely decorated. When we made our reservation we were not so sure we would stay, but were so pleasantly surprised we decided to extend our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEssexInn, Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear M A

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time and letting us know. All of our staff strive to provide nothing but the best service and amenities to our guest.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Essex Inn. I'm actually giving it a late review because we recently went and stayed somewhere else. It was nice, but it couldn't beat the Essex's location. It is an older hotel, but clean and well cared for. No breakfast, but countless nearby affordable options. We walked to a couple museums and Grant Park and Millennium Park and Buckingham Fountain. This location can't be beat! They also have an indoor pool enclosed in glass. Nice view and a courtyard right next to it so you can watch your family swim while you sit out and enjoy a book and beverage!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEssexInn, Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Jennifer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us how your stay was. We do have a great location and we are happy that you were able to take advantage of the attractions that Chicago has to offer.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#99 of 189 in Chicago
4,946 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 189 in Chicago
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Property: Chicago's Essex Inn
Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-7101
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago. From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing