We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Chicago's Essex Inn
Ranked #137 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location and city”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our East coast to West coast holiday. Very clean with good sized rooms and very comfy beds. Request a high room on the front for a great view over the park to Lake Michigan. The city tour bus stops outside the Hilton hotel on opposite corner of the street which is a great way to see the city if you're only staying a short time. ( Curtis is by far the best guide if you are lucky enough to be on his bus.) 10 mins walk to the nearest subway trains and 20-30 mins walk to Milennium park and the Cloud. Great hotel and location would definatley recommend this hotel and will stay here again if we go back. Nice pool area too if you have time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thevillain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    819
    477
    171
    147
See reviews for
506
556
120
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Essex Inn is a spotlessly clean hotel that matches the spotlessly clean city; nice employees, great location, good beds, attractive prices. My one complaint was the batroom sink: 10 3/4 inches across..roughly the same size as my dentists spit bowl! I have never come across this in any hotel so this was a surprise. But don't let this stop you from staying there. Again, the employees from the check-in to bellmen and housekeeping keep this hotel lively and will make you want to come back..(except for the bathroom sink).

Room Tip: You may here faint sounds of the "L" train which is two blocks away, otherwise rooms are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portaferry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I came across this property by chance and was not disappointed. The hotel is very well located in a central location on Michigan Ave. Across the road is Grant park and a short distance away is the start point for old route 66. The hotel is convertible and has a swimming pool and gym as well as a sun terrace. When I visit Chicago again I will most certainly be looking at this hotel.

Room Tip: Front or outside if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located if you want to explore Michigan avenue and the shops on it. It is almost right across millennium park, the bean and the buckingham fountain is in close proximity. Lake Michigan is about a 10 minute walk in scenic surroundings.
The hotel and the room was very clean and the staff very friendly. The bed very comfortable.
I did not care for the cooling system in the room, since it could not be adjusted to my taste and was very noisy on top of that.
Also, though I could not hear the guests in the next room ( not sure if there actually were any), I could hear everybody walking up and down the hallway and there where some inconciterade guests that were very loud when coming back to the room at all hours of the night.
I did not use the pool in the hotel, but I could look down from my room into it. It looked very inviting, clean and fun. Unfortunately I had forgotten to bring a suit.
I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Germanswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

husband and i stayed here as part of a large tour group.

Essex is ideally located near the major parks of Chicago. Although you could stay at hotels closer in to all the action, there's going to be more noise, which seems to be a major complaining point for many reviewers - you're staying in a big city! Starbucks, Walgreens etc all within 1-2 blocks.

Essex is an old building, and has dated plumbing and heating / air conditioning. Not the most up to date, but I was never uncomfortable or had any issues. The beds are comfortable, with the most fantastic reading lights above each side of the bed (husband is prone to being disturbed by my reading when he tries to sleep - no such problems here). Toiletries are lovely. Lots of towels. Mini fridge in the room!!!! Reasonable coin laundry ($1 for powder, $1 to wash, $1 to dry).

Excellent free wifi throughout the hotel. I've heard reports from the tour group that breakfast at the restaurant is delicious. The hotel staff were lovely and while spending time in the lobby I heard guests being checked in in an incredibly friendly, thorough and welcoming manner - really nice to hear!

I would definitely stay at the Essex again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham Wales
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed at the Essex for two nights following Amtrak trip from Seatlle with another couple. On arrival we were very surprised to find that we had not been booked into the same room for the two nights - we would have to change rooms the next day. Supervisor was called to the desk and following lengthy discussions and making it very clear that we were not happy with this arrangement and would want to see the manager he suddenly found a room for both nights for us.

Although the lobby and recetion area are very nice, modern and light it was a dissappointment when we arrived at the bedroom floor (floor 3) Very dark and a lot of noise which we thought was coming from the air extraction unit at the end of the corridor. Unfortunately our room was next to this and the noise continued throughout the night in the room - almost impossible to sleep what with this noise and the dated air conditioning (which we at least were able to turn off once we found the switches) The rooms need updating, very tired and the bathroom was awful - small sink, inadequate shower, broken extractor cover which was dirty. The windows had minimal double glazing which allowed a lot of road noise.

One redeeming factor for this hotel was its location - just across the road from the park and the city tour bus stopped just outside the Hilton which was next door. Well worth doing the bus tour as the buildings of Chicago are amazing.

The bell boy was very helpful giving directions to local diners for breakfast and also for getting taxi at the end of our stay.
Enjoyed Chicago but would not stop at Essex again

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room with a view of the park - may not be as noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wgj78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and found the Inn very conveniently situated for main attractions, especially nice to walk along by the Park. The pool was good, though the lifeguard didn't seem particularly pleased to see us early in the morning. Our coffee machine was missing the mugs when we arrived, and we had to ask twice before we got them. We'd requested a taxi, and the desk forgot to book it, so we felt slightly disappointed. Traffic and train noise can be disturbing so book a high level room.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrighty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#101 of 190 in Chicago
5,026 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 190 in Chicago
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Property: Chicago's Essex Inn
Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-7101
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago. From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing