We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient for sightseeing in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Chicago's Essex Inn
Ranked #139 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Convenient for sightseeing in Chicago”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Chicago:
Essex Inn. Staff helpful always, ideal position for everything. Our 17th floor room was so quiet, spacious and very clean. Suited us perfectly. made coffee in room, The open topped tour bus picked us up outside and was really informative, so much to do in that wonderful City......Hop on Hop off so much used over 2 days. Also convenient walk to Metro, was so easy to get around. Chicago did not seem to have any litter or graffiti ANYWHERE. Millennium square very nice to spend an hour or so in....... and walked along the beautiful lakeside with miles of parks fronting.

Room Tip: We asked for room overlooking the Lake, but it did not face directly over Michigan Avenue so no nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M0tap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    823
    482
    173
    152
See reviews for
512
563
120
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay in downtown Chicago if you are on a budget.
Not very far from all the main touristic places if you like to walk a bit. If you don't, they have a free one way shuttle very useful. Subway is 2 blocks from. Easy to catch a cab cause of its location on Michigan av.
Rooms are standard, quiet, clean, old fashion's (that doesn't mean bad).
Staff was very professionnal. Desk and concierge are top notch. Room service pretty good too.
Ask for a high floor to avoid the pool view and a bit of street noise.
I was with my little daughter, we enjoyed the pool. It's family friendly


Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was in Chicago for 5 days for a conference and stayed in this hotel. Was on the 2nd highest floor and from the side, the view of Lake Michigan was just fabulous. There are some rooms which have a direct view of the lake but from my room, I could only see from the side. There is a swimming pool and gym on the 4th floor which I found quite good for relaxation. Hotel is also conveniently located a few blocks from the CTA (trains) and you could take a stroll along the park (just opposite), visiting various attractions and ending up at the shopping avenue.

One thing I did not like about the hotel is the heating system which is automatic and quite noisy throughout both day and night. Corridor is a bit dark and I think they can improve on the lighting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfbfbfbfbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a suite on the 12th floor looking out to the lake. It has a spacious bedroom and an even larger lounge, but the bathroom was impossibly small. The hotel is undergoing renovation, but that had no impact whatsoever on our visit.
There is a metro station only a couple of blocks away, and that was how we arrived from O'Hare. We returned to the airport by taxi. Enough said!
Hotel is in a good location and an easy walk to downtown, and there is so much to see whilst walking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view, and see a stunning sunrise if you are lucky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The king corner suite has a living room with large windows facing Grant Park, as well as windows facing the side street. There is a fridge, coffee maker, work desk, tv, hides bed couch, and two chairs. Very comfortable. The adjacent bedroom had a king bed, small tv and closet, along with windows facing the park. The bathroom is very small -the one disappointment in an otherwise excellent room.

Ate at the French place downstairs . Excellent onion soup.

Highlight of the hotel is its pool and workout room. Be sure to checkout the shower in the restroom at the pool. It has a huge rain head as well as side sprays.

Clientele when I was there had lots of folks from Europe.

The old Hilton is next store and has a good Irish bar/restaurant, a very good grab n go deli, and other stores.

Hotel looks very nondescript rom the outside. Nicer inside.

Room Tip: King corner suite is worth the splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auroraclubjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Cons outway the pros on this hotel. When we arrived the hotel was under renovations, so the front lobby was extremely loud and I could not hear the desk attendant. She was helpful but not friendly at all! I expected a more pleasant response due to the inconvienance of walking around ladders and tools when I entered the hotel. We got a simple king bed room, and it was so small! There was literally room to walk around the bed and for a desk. No extra space at all! The bathroom toilet looked like it should belong in a gym locker room. Just old and not very nice at all. The only thing I liked was the pool, and although it was colder than heck, you can tell they tried to put some money into it and make it enjoyable. All I can say is don't expect much for the rooms and there is no lobby at all!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the lake, otherwise you're view is a brick wall of the next door skyscr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Enjoyed our stay. The hotel was under renovation however the service was great. The bulb in the bathroom was out within a few minutes the maintenance staff had replaced the bulb. The room was clean great value and great location for family friendly activities. Also there is a great restaurant ,the yolk, about two blocks south .n

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPhif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#101 of 190 in Chicago
5,084 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#89 of 190 in Chicago
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Property: Chicago's Essex Inn
Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-7101
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago. From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing