We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anywhere but Essex”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chicago's Essex Inn
Ranked #131 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Sussex England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Anywhere but Essex”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were booked in here at the start of our trip along route 66.
If you enjoy brown & orange furnishings looking quite scruffy. 1950's style decor, tiny bathroom,
Miserable looking breakfast room, then this is the place for you. On the positve, the location is great. Just a 20 minute stroll up Michigan Avenue to Chicago central. Oddly enough it did have a good swimming pool. O.K. for 1 night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian Phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    815
    469
    165
    142
See reviews for
497
549
119
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Capri, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel itself is well-located, but my problem was that the air conditioning in the passageways (particularly the 9th floor where I stayed) was infernal!! I woke up at about 2am with such a bad chill I thought I was in the Antarctic. I couldn't understand what was happening because I had turned off the aircon in my room. I realised the morning after that the cold was coming in under the door from the passage, where they had turned the aircon to such a point that it was freezing. I was there in August during the summer so I can understand the need for air conditioning but it really seems a waste to use such a lot of it. Besides the waste of electricity, it really made my stay quite unpleasant. The next night I plonked a towel under the doorway of my bedroom to stop the freezing air entering! Otherwise, rooms are big and fine and the location is good. Re hotel reception, some of the staff (not all) are quite surly and look like they hate their job - I understand though - I couldn't bear to live with that horrid air con every day!

Room Tip: The corner suite my friends stayed in was sunnier and nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We took Amtrak from Portland to Chicago with our grandchildren. The Essex was a short taxi ride from the train station. Our room was small and the bathroom even smaller, but the location was great. Right across the street from the park which borders Lakes Mich. The Hilton, across the street is one of the stops for the city bus tours so it was easy to board for the sightseeing trips. Restaurant was good food. A little pricey. If you enjoy walking, many of the "must see" Chicago sites were within walking distance. Nice pool with a deck that looks out over the city.
Two elevators and they were slow.
Across the street was Kitty Oshea's restaurant and pub. Excellent food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank washingtonobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, South Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here recently, clean and acceptable room. Plenty of eateries in the locality. Great for visiting Buddy Guys Legends Club, only 5 mins away. Location is good for visiting the city and is just over the road to the waterfront and parks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musicman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for two nights and the room was spacious and comfortable. One downside was that it advertised free wi-fi but it was actually extremely slow and they obviously wanted you to upgrade to one of their paid packages. However, apart from that, we were happy with everything. The toiletries in the bathroom were good quality, and we had a side view of the lake.
Probably the best thing about it was the location as it is right on the park front and all attractions are nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisdsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My mom and I stayed here for 4 nights last month in a "deluxe" king room and found it to be vastly overpriced. Based on the description, we thought we would have a view of the lake but from the 3rd floor, you only see the park. The room was rather small and the bath tiny. My mom's side of the bed was uncomfortable, the windows were dirty and the bedside lights were not bright enough for reading. That said, the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatureloverSanLuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is in a good location, its only about 2 blocks away from a CTA station and the staff are very helpful.. The restaurant on site is also a good choice and has many nice dishes to choose from. The decor is in need of a revamp as the overall appearance is dated but it is clean. We were on the 15th floor of the hotel but the noise of trains in the background was quite loud. If I was to go to Chicago again for a short 2 night break I would most likely stay somewhere a bit closer to the magnificent mile as that was all we seemed to be doing was walking to get to it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#99 of 189 in Chicago
4,955 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 189 in Chicago
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Property: Chicago's Essex Inn
Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-7101
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago. From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing