We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service , a couple of issues but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago
Ranked #88 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Service , a couple of issues but great location”
Reviewed July 4, 2010

This hotel is perfect for coming into Chicago for the Cubs or for Boystown and the Pride Parade. I have stayed here for many years at this location and have already booked for next year. The staff here is wonderful and works hard to insure you have a great stay. Kudos to Vince the Bellmen for his wonderful and accomodating service to meet the guest needs. You are an asset to this location.

I would not have given the ratings that I did for the hotel had it not been for the staff. I was extremely disappointed by my business queen room based on its size. I have been in business rooms before and they are usually larger. I accepted the room but was very upset when my friend checked into a Standard queen room and got a room 3 times in size which just didnt make any sense. The staff here was the lifesaver and made it right.
The hotel is always spotless and well maintained. The staff is always friendly and positive. The exception to this is the outside company that does the valet, not very friendly and not reflective of the Days Inn team at all. LOL they actually brought the wrong car but I dont hold that against the Days Inn team.
If you want a clean comfortable hotel in Lincoln Park that is in an excellent location and has a great staff that cares about there guests then this is the place to stay. Thanks Days Inn for making it right for me and look forward to seeing you for Pride 2011.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brijoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    1,081
    323
    78
    57
See reviews for
974
638
309
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

This hotel has all the quality and service of an upscale boutique hotel with the price of a budget hotel. Staff was helpful and knowledgeable, the room was huge and very comfortable. Located in a fantastic neighborhood. This is a GREAT value!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coloradoroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okla
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

This was our first trip to Chicago so we had no idea what to expect of any part of the city. We wanted to stay around the Loop area so we would be closer to things, but there was a large convention in town and the Blackhawks were also playing for the Stanley Cup. I read some pretty good reviews so I felt comfortable about choosing this hotel.

When we arrived on Sunday around 1:00 we were unable to check in as a room was not ready. The girl at the front desk said a room may be ready in an hour or it would be guaranteed at 3:00pm. She said we could check our luggage at no cost until that time. This was fine with us because we were ready to eat lunch and take a walk down to the beach near the lake. By the time we returned it was very close to 3:00 and our room was ready. There was a different person checking us in and when he pulled up our information he said that we were now upgraded to a larger room. We didn't know what we did to deserve the upgrade, but we were very happy about it as I heard some of the rooms were very small.

Our room had plenty of room. We had a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. It had a futon type couch in the room that would double as a bed for someone (sheets and blankets in the closet). We did not have a view because we were facing the inside of the building which was fine with us as I had heard the outside rooms were a bit noisy due to the traffic on the streets. The airconditioner worked really well in the room. Of course it was pretty rainy and cool while we were there so it wouldn't have had to work too hard. A plus to the airconditioner is that it helps drown out noise from other rooms. While we didn't hear our neighbors too much you could hear all activity in the hall. They do give you one set of earplugs just in case you are bothered by noises. The bed was very, very comfortable. The room and bathroom area was very clean.

The front lobby is very nice and would always have people gathered around the seating areas which seemed so inviting. The breakfast area is very small and narrow though and felt too cramped when we went down two mornings. We only grabbed a coffee and juice because there were too many people.

The elelvator is very small and only room for about 4 people - without luggage. The hallways to the rooms are very dark, but not scary. The numbering to the rooms is confusing.

The staff was always very friendly and very helpful when we had questions.

The elevated train is about four blocks from the hotel and very easy to use. There are several shops and good places to eat close by.

I was very pleased with our stay. The hotel has a great follow up email program so you can express your opinions about your stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovevegasbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

1. Called to see if there was valet parking and was informed that there was. However, there were cars parked directly in front of the hotel, so we self parked around the corner.
2. Scary elevator
3. Room numbering is a mess,,,,,
4. Corner room, VERY tiny. had to walk in the door sideways
5. Tiniest bathroom on the planet, no counter space at all.
6. Whenever anyone else in the building or adjacent rooms or what have you, flushed or used water-the temp of the shower water SKYROCKETS!! This happened to me as I was washing my face. Nothing compares to scalding hot water!!!
7. Front desk staff very impersonal
I would definitely not stay here again.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luvmotox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caney, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We book the room several months ago because of our Amtrak connections. Was very pleased with the accomodations and the staff were all very helpful by providing directions that were needed and helped load our luggage when we left.

The breakfast was very good and plentiful. Everything kept well stocked and fresh.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington, fl
Level Contributor
317 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

This is not the upscale, pretty part of Lincoln Park area (you need to be S. of Armitage for that) but it's not dangerous and this is a good location for getting around via the bus ($2.25 per ride), either the #22 Clark or the Broadway bus.

Room was small but ok...very clean if you overlook the used bandaid I found on the back of the black plastic-covered guide to the hotel book. The A/C wasn't noisy, so I didn't have to use the earplugs that come with the room. No view; but, given the location, I didn't expect a view. Pillow cases were a little scratchy. Room was quiet even though it was near the 1 elevator that serves the whole hotel...no long waits for the elevator either...amazing.

Breakfast is 6:30am to 11am and I always got there early when the selection of cheese danish was still there...fresh oj was nice...some protein or yogurt would have been nice.

The staff was helpful and friendly but they might need more maids as I couldn't check in early...but, they held my luggage for free.

There was a huge convention in town, so I stayed further north than I normally would...but, I would consider this hotel a pretty good value (via Priceline). They will put $60 charge on your card to cover any mini-bar (which is basically micro-wave popcorn & a granola bar) or damage charges. But, they take it off within a few days.

There are vending machines with chips, water, soft drinks (all reasonably priced!!) on the 1st floor and there's one washer & dryer too...which is a big plus when I travel light!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsybaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Very nice hotel - not your typical Days Inn - in cool area of Chicago with bars/restaurants all around and close to other cool areas on the North side ... FUN 15 walk up Clarke to Wrigley and close to beaches. We took cabs & walked a lot so no input on bus/train.... Breakfast was a little above most with belgian waffles and a few other niceties...

Place was pricey but we stayed over holiday weekend during Cubs/Cardinals so take that into account......... I would def stay here again, especially if back for a Cubs game.....

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ndee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#146 of 189 in Chicago
226 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#73 of 189 in Chicago
873 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#111 of 189 in Chicago
505 reviews
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#52 of 189 in Chicago
755 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago

Property: Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago
Address: 644 W Diversey Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60614-2068 (Formerly Days Inn Lincoln Park - North)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Chicago
#51 Business Hotel in Chicago
#51 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Hotel Versey Formerly the Days Inn Chicago, Hotel Versey is a completely renovated modern lifestyle located in the safe and exciting Lincoln Park/Lakeview neighborhood, just three miles north of downtown Chicago. The hotel features a bold design with artwork from Chicago-based artists, as well as a variety of retail outlets and a street-front restaurant & bar opening in late 2017. Located at the iconic intersection of Diversey Parkway, Clark Street and Broadway Street, the new Hotel Versey celebrates the iconic building’s history and serves as a hub for families, the sports oriented, the business-minded, multicultural guests from around the world, and the LGBTQ community. Guest Amenities The guestrooms are designed to serve as sophisticated, fun hideaways that bring the comfort of home to a guest’s stay in Chicago. Each room is equipped with modern amenities including complimentary WiFi, 50-inch HDTVs with premium programming, and SoniCast, allowing guests to stream their favorite TV shows, movies, and music directly to their room. Nespresso coffee machines and signature luxury linens round out the standard room offerings, while executive rooms accommodate business and long-term travelers with the addition of a microwave and refrigerator. Hotel guests also receive complimentary access to the neighboring L.A. Fitness center and are conveniently located close to a plethora of local restaurants and retail shops outside the hotel’s front door. Additional partnerships include an ongoing relationship with Wyndham Hotel Group and co-branding through Days Inn, which allows guests staying at Hotel Versey the opportunity to continue earning Wyndham Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chicago Hotel Chicago
Days Inn Lincoln Park
Chicago Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing