We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay Here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Days Inn Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Chicago
Ranked #85 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay Here.”
Reviewed April 10, 2010

My family and I stayed at the Days Inn for a spring break trip to Chicago.
Four night, including taxes, was $480. We stayed there in the non-peak tourist season, but still, that rate was absolutely unbeatable for Chicago.
The location of the hotel is excellent -- right in the middle of the upscale-hip Lincoln Park neighborhood, walking distance from numerous stores, restaurants, Lake Michigan, and the Lincoln Park Zoo. There are also a lot of bars in the neighborhood, but they were classier establishments, not the dives you'll find in Wrigleyville. We felt safe walking on the sidewalk and there were no problems with noise. We had fun just walking around and exploring the neighborhood.
The hotel is about three blocks from an El station, and there are numerous bus stops nearby. It's just two or three El stops from Wrigley Field, and the bus ride to just about anywhere downtown is less than a half hour.
There is one computer available for guest use, but it's really slow and has no features, so if you plan on using the internet a lot, you should probably bring a laptop. (According to the front desk, the hotel has free wireless access.)
The lobby and rooms themselves were fine, but nothing to get excited about. They were clean, but not particularly large or fancy. Our room came with a safe, refrigerator, and microwave, which was nice.
The hallways are kind of narrow and the hotel is arranged in a maze of corridors that can be a little confusing, but that wasn't a big deal for us.
The free breakfast was pretty standard hotel fare of cereal, bagels, pastries, juice, etc.
The main disadvantage to this hotel was the lack of free parking. (Admittedly, it's probably impossible to find a hotel with free parking anywhere near downtown.) There is a parking garage behind the hotel which charges $20 for every 24 hours. We just left our car there for the week.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angeleena08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,096
    1,057
    304
    72
    54
See reviews for
940
623
302
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We are currently sitting in this hotel writing this review. We are so afraid to even walk down the hallways by ourselves. This place has a very scary feel to it that makes us a little but weary and nervous. The worst part about all of this is that the lock on our door was putvon incorrectly, and thus it does not lock. We currently have a chair in front of the door and we are in the process of stacking our bags in front of the door as well.

Knock knock!
who's there?
Orange
orange who?
orange u glad that u stayed at the
days inn in Chicago!
No! The rooms are clean and it's in a great location but I'M FREAKIN SCARED OUT OF MY MIND and I want my mommy!


Hope this review helped!

Oh btw the remote doesn't work and the toilet won't stop flushing! And the walls are paper thin. The people next door are taking a shower and we can hear it very clearly!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Do_not_enter_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnChicago, Manager at Days Inn Chicago, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Dear Do_not_enter –

After reading these comments I can only assume that you have the wrong hotel. This would not be the first time that somebody has confused us with another hotel in our area. This is a very serious complaint and I have discussed this with the front desk manager and reviewed our maintenance logs. The staff is not aware of any guest comments to this effect and our logs don’t indicate any type of door problems.

In our long history we have never been told that the hotel is scary. Rooms as well as guest room corridors can only be accessed with electronic keycards, we have security cameras, security personnel, as well as an extremely observant long-time staff.

If a guest calls the front desk to inform us of a problem with the room – (whether with the lock or anything else) we would have our maintenance staff check this. If we are unable to fix a problem – specifically a major problem such as this – we would immediately move the guest to another room. Resolving guest issues immediately as well as providing a safe and clean environment for our guests is a top priority of ours.

I would truly appreciate it if you could review your hotel information to verify where you stayed. Please don’t hesitate to contact us directly if we can be of any assistance. We do hope that you will join us at the Days Inn Chicago next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Very clean but we weren't all that impressed with size of the room. The bathroom was very small - virtually no counter space. Bed was also very small but at least the sheets were clean. We just went for a weekend trip over St Patrick's Day so we didn't plan to spend much time in the room. We joked the biggest object in the room was the television. Our hotel confirmation listed "Private Parking for 22.00 a night". After we circled around the block, looking out for a garage, we called the front desk and they told us it's valet parking only. 22.00 a night we thought was reasonable. Breakfast was good and open till 11am unlike some other places which only offer till 9 or so. Only complaint is the walls are PAPER thin. We could hear word for word conversations from next door. Really not a bad place to stay for a quick trip. No bad vibes here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissaosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We just stayed at the Days Inn Chicago when we were visiting DePaul University. First the good news. The staff was wonderful. Very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located 3-4 blocks from the El -- very convenient. Breakfast is included and had everything from cereal to waffles. The orange juice, although from a machine, tasted like fresh squeezed. The neighborhood is nice, too. Now the not so good. The hotel is old but updated as much as possible. We hated the heater in our room -- didn't work right and we melted the first night. Someone fixed it the next day and things were better but it was very noisy. The bathroom is old and very small. The housekeepers took our box of tissues after the first day which was bad because my daughter had a wicked cold. It's the only hotel I've ever stayed in which provided ear plugs along with the soap and shampoo (no conditioner provided by the way).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imasportsluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

Without question, we would stay here again! Excercise facility is around the corner at "Bally's" no charge for suana/steam, lap pool, or equipment. I have walked further in a mega hotel to get to the suana so this was not an issue for us. Great bus and taxi access. "AA" for attitudes of staff and management. This facility is a great value for the cost. If you do not care for smaller spaces or need bigger for special occasions do not take the value room. There are double queen rooms with desk, safe, ironing board, and good sized bathrooms. Shower pressure is great and housekeeping is impeccable!!!! Everyone knows the story of why you don't lie on the bedspreads. Well these actually get laundred here!! Washer/dryer on premises. Driving? Valet parking here is $22,(this is approx 1/2 the rate of other hotels, especially in the loop). Leave your car and do bus (5.00 all day or 2.25 one time)or taxis, anywhere from 8 to 15 with tip just about anywhere!! Movie theater within 1 mile and food galore, in this Lincoln Park section. Also there is a FREE breakfast in the am and coffee all day!! Good luck and happy travels!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oooooooooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2010

This is an upscale Days Inn located in the trendy Lincoln Park area of Chicago. It's conveniently located near many fine eating and beverage establishments. The facility was very clean. All staff encountered were friendly and customer focused. Paulina, in particular, is deserving of praise.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baseball48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

The staff at this hotel were extremely gracious and went out of their way to welcome me. I arrived early and the staff had a room cleaned and ready for me promptly. Property is located right in the heart of Lincoln Park and there are numerous dining and nightlife options at the property doorstep. I will definitely return to this property. The Days Inn brand gets a serious upgrade in my mind with properties of this character.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0teln0mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#142 of 187 in Chicago
222 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#70 of 187 in Chicago
837 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#113 of 187 in Chicago
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#49 of 187 in Chicago
735 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chicago

Property: Days Inn Chicago
Address: 644 W Diversey Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60614-2068 (Formerly Days Inn Lincoln Park - North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Chicago
#51 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#51 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chicago 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2012/2009/2004 Days Inn Property of the Year (>126 rooms)! Days Inn Chicago is located in the heart of bustling Lincoln Park/Lakeview, just three miles north of downtown Chicago. Guests are within walking distance of dining, shopping and theaters as well as Wrigley Field and Lincoln Park Zoo. A short cab ride will take you to DePaul University, Michigan Avenue, McCormick Place, Millennium Park and Navy Pier. The hotel offers guests free Wi-Fi, a free access to LA Fitness next door, valet parking and upgraded bedding. Days Inn Chicago has also been called Rock and Roll Days Inn because it has been a home away from home for many known bands. You can follow us on Facebook at "Days Inn Chicago" or on Twitter as "DaysInnChicago." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chicago Hotel Chicago
Days Inn Lincoln Park
Chicago Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing