We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Problems, good service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago
Ranked #92 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2008

This was my first trip to Chicago and Days Inn made it even better! It is a great bargain especially for the location. The hotel was clean, the staff was so darn nice, the free bfast was mmm soo good- the muffins were amazing, fresh squeezed juice, and even make your own waffles. The only complaint is the drain in the shower wasn't working as smoothly as it should have been. I can't see how anything could go wrong here and even if it did, front desk was just so ncie!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parabolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,556 - 2,562 of 2,771 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2008

I booked a room (for two) with double bed at this hotel through Travelocity for $100 for Veteran's Day weekend.
This hotel is a little way out from the closest metro (Belmont on Brown line) but easy enough to get to (10 min walk).
Staff at front desk were very nice. The hotel has only 4 floors.
We lived in Room 232. First impressions of the room: it was clean, on the small side, located at a busy junction in the lobby (so one could hear people walking by to their rooms and banging of doors). Funnily, a set of ear-plugs were supplied in the toiletries area - but only one set. Pointless if there are two people sharing!!
The room had a certain pungent smell which I thought came from the toilet - the bathroom windows did not open so this is most likely the case.
Other than the obvious bad smell, TV worked, coffee was available and also included a free continental breakfast. I didn't know that this was included in the price and was a nice bonus.
Other good points, free non-secure internet access, free printing for online plane check-in, and close to all the local pubs, bars and restaurants.

To get to O'Hare airport, the 76 bus is conveniently located outside the hotel and takes you to Logan Square Station in 30 min (blue line) which you can then take to go to the airport (30 min).

Overall, not a bad deal but just wish this hotel could have invested in some air-freshner.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cheunggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

Do you like paying $265 to stay in the loop at a chain hotel or would you rather pay $90.10 and stay in the Lakeview North neighborhood just a short CTA subway ride up the Brown Line. If you are like me, you will save your money for the great restaurants and bars in the neighborhood. Yes, the rooms are small. And the elevator is small. But this is not your typical Days Inn. Clean as a whistle thanks to the Polish speaking staff. And quiet. Perfect for the single traveller on a budget. And oddly , this is one of the few Chicago hotels that has lower rates during the week (and higher rates on the weekend). Lots of Cub fans I guess. In any event, Chicago is an over priced hotel market that has only gotten worse in the last year. This is one of the few bargains.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 2Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2008

Surprisingly good. I've stayed at a few Days Inn (typically bad experiences) so I was hesitant about booking this one. Using Hotels.com I couldn't beat the price so I decided to give Days Inn one more chance. (Reading the reviews from Tripadvisor gave me a little more courage than I would have otherwise given this chain.) Clean accommodations, decent location and a convenient 7 minute walk to the 151 bus line (Diversey and Sheridan), which travels the length of Michigan Avenue. The hotel is also near DePaul University so there are a lot college-aged kids walking around. Parking at the mall (Century Shopping Centre‎ self-park) was $18 for 24 hours (somewhat below average as far as Chicago area parking is concerned.) My wife and I enjoyed dining at El Nuevo Mexicano Restaurant‎ and Sushi 28; both are just a few minutes walk from the hotel. We’d consider staying at this place again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank daniel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

Our hotel visit was booked through Hotwire. We were given a single double bed. . The desk clerk made it clear that we couldn't have two beds since we booked through a "third party". After finding a place to park a few blocks away (parking is atrocious in that area and the hotel clearly pushes their expensive valet parking) but it is possible, although the clerk also warned that it was nonavailable due to permit parking and meters. We didn't use the car again until we left, opting for CTA passes.
The common areas of the hotel downstairs were pleasant. The breakfast room was comfortable and the continental breakfast sufficient, surprisingly offering "real" orange juice. The entire hotel was kept very clean by the friendly and professional staff. Access to the Bally gym next door was certainly a plus.
Upstairs was a disappointment. Our room was really tiny. The old closet was deep and dark so retrieving items was a challenge. It appeared that the upstairs was not sprinkled anywhere, making their nonsmoking policy mandatory (although one evening we smelled someone smoking near our room). The room was incredibly stuffy and there was no way to get fresh air, nor was there any exhaust fan in the bathroom. As a result, it was necessary to run the huge and very noisy air conditioner nonstop. I guess the old clawfoot bathtub would be a novelty to some, but the corner showerhead made for difficult and long showers, since the pressure was low and modulating water temperature almost impossible.
Pluses: location! cleanliness! common areas!
Minuses: room
I would probably recommend booking directly with the hotel in order to ensure a better room.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SouthCarolinaMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We booked this hotel for a girl's trip to Chicago. I booked solely on written reviews....and boy were we impressed!!! For the price, this hotel is PERFECT!!!! The beds were great, rooms were very clean, breakfast was the best....waffles...YUMMY...and the staff was so helpful and friendly!!!! Great location to public transportation. Highly recommend this property!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MoTravelin_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

I read all the other reviews and booked it on the strength on them, how wrong was I!! The blonde receptionist was unhelpful on arriving, the rooms have no ventilation as the windows do not open and the air conditioning sounds like a 747 engine, so you have a choice between being too hot and not sleeping or cool but noisy and not sleeping!! The room (ours was a queen bed) was small but there is a dressing area and a bathroom but they should have used the space better.

It was 3 miles from downtown but there is a good selection of bars and restaurants near. The hotel does not have a bar and even though the website states a swimming pool it does not, but you do have use of the gym/leisure centre around the corning. The complementary breakfast was good however. Personally I thought it was dreadful!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mrs-H2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#79 of 192 in Chicago
955 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#146 of 192 in Chicago
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#113 of 192 in Chicago
525 reviews
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#59 of 192 in Chicago
808 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago

Address: 644 W Diversey Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60614-2068 (Formerly Days Inn Lincoln Park - North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Chicago
#51 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#51 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $99 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Hotel Versey Formerly the Days Inn Chicago, Hotel Versey is a completely renovated modern lifestyle located in the safe and exciting Lincoln Park/Lakeview neighborhood, just three miles north of downtown Chicago. The hotel features a bold design with artwork from Chicago-based artists, as well as a variety of retail outlets and a street-front restaurant & bar opening in late 2017. Located at the iconic intersection of Diversey Parkway, Clark Street and Broadway Street, the new Hotel Versey celebrates the iconic building’s history and serves as a hub for families, the sports oriented, the business-minded, multicultural guests from around the world, and the LGBTQ community. Guest Amenities The guestrooms are designed to serve as sophisticated, fun hideaways that bring the comfort of home to a guest’s stay in Chicago. Each room is equipped with modern amenities including complimentary WiFi, 50-inch HDTVs with premium programming, and SoniCast, allowing guests to stream their favorite TV shows, movies, and music directly to their room. Nespresso coffee machines and signature luxury linens round out the standard room offerings, while executive rooms accommodate business and long-term travelers with the addition of a microwave and refrigerator. Hotel guests also receive complimentary access to the neighboring L.A. Fitness center and are conveniently located close to a plethora of local restaurants and retail shops outside the hotel’s front door. Additional partnerships include an ongoing relationship with Wyndham Hotel Group and co-branding through Days Inn, which allows guests staying at Hotel Versey the opportunity to continue earning Wyndham Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chicago Hotel Chicago
Days Inn Lincoln Park
Chicago Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing