We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pluses and minuses, but still worthwhile” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Days Inn Chicago
Ranked #75 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Nashille
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pluses and minuses, but still worthwhile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel was the perfect location for a two-night stay to visit a daughter and her boyfriend who live in the neighborhood -- and it was rather surprising, too. From the outside, I just don't think you would believe the hotel was as extensive as it turned out to be -- nice-sized fitness center and roomy breakfast room (coffee, tea, bananas and apples, four cereals, breads and pastries, and waffles). My room was definitely on the small and "cozy'' side, but it was just me and it was just for sleeping; the compactness was appealing rather than claustrophobic. The full-size bed was a little on the too soft side for me, but I bet most would like it. The view wasn't great, either -- the roof of the courtyard. No matter. I liked the tight but clean bathroom (note: just a stall shower, no bathtub), and the urban feel of the whole place. I also liked the price, which was noticeably less than most in-town hotels; a definite value, given the handy location with plenty to do in the area. I cut the bill two other ways, too: belonging to AAA saved me 10%; and I opted to park on a side street on my own and skip the $26/day charge (I arrived mid-afternoon and found a spot without trouble; it might get iffy later as area residents return home). This ain't the Ritz, but I wasn't looking for that. Even given the minuses, I'll be back for the overall value and convenience.

Room Tip: Others have noted the noise level, but perhaps inner courtyard helped me there -- I didn't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael H, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Chicago, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Diane,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Days Inn Chicago and for sharing your comments with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, fitness center, and breakfast room. We're glad to be a AAA approved hotel, and just last year we earned the 2012 Days Inn Property of the Year award in the large property category. We do have a variety of room types at our hotel, so if you would like a bathtub, let us know when you make your next reservation and we'll do our best to provide you with a bathroom that has one. We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you visit your daughter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    1,026
    286
    67
    51
See reviews for
900
604
296
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The front desk staff was very helpful, the room was immaculate, the breakfast was satisfying, I liked the starbucks coffee machine in the vending area, the doormen were helpful in hailing cabs for me. The location was great with stores are restaurants practically next to the hotel, and although on a busy street, I didn't hear any traffic noise but for a few sirens. I would stay here again. The only drawback was that the room was a little small even for one person, one double bed room, would have been very tight for two people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael H, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Chicago, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Emily R.,
We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your last stay with us at Days Inn Chicago! We're glad you were happy with the service of our front desk and bellmen staff, and we're proud to share that just last year we were awarded the title of Days Inn large property Hotel of the Year. We do understand that our one double bed rooms can feel small as they are our smallest and least expensive room type, but we do offer several other room types and sizes at various price points from standard queen and king rooms, to business class rooms with additional amenities. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future, and to continuing to excel in service, ensuring that your next stays are always as pleasant as your first!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Loved so many things about this hotel, but major things let it down!
First the positives: clean and airy, got upgraded to a business room - large room comfy beds.... The complimentary continental brekky was lovely and unexpected. And the location was quite central. Laundry facilities available. Staff friendly and helpful.
The negatives - this place needs double glazing- omg the noise from the construction next door and the traffic was awful!!!! It actually sounded like it was in our room (and if you are going to provide ear plugs , provide enough for all the guests in the room,) please if you are going to provide coffee facilities in the room - what about tea and not everyone drinks full cream milk! An option of skim would have been nice.
There were so many areas this place almost made a higher rating!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chrispy75-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael H, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Chicago, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear chrispy75-12,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you loved many things about our hotel, including our comfy beds and complimentary breakfast! First, allow us to apologize for the construction noise from next door. Unfortunately that is outside of our control, but along with the ear plugs provided in the room, we do have additional complimentary ear plugs available by request. Also, if your room was on the exterior of our hotel, we would have been happy to move you to an interior room if one was available to help lessen the noise from the construction as well as the traffic. In regards to the coffee service available in the rooms, we do provide tea and are sorry if for some reason yours was not replenished. We also always have complimentary tea available in our vending area. Thank you for the suggestion of adding a skim milk creamer option in the rooms; we will look into doing this. In the meantime, we do offer skim milk in our breakfast area during breakfast hours. If your travels bring you back to Chicago, we hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
199 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

After our last Days Inn experience I was REALLY hesitant to stay in this place. The reviews looked good though and this was a really great location. We pulled up to valet-he was great (pick up at check out took less than 10 minutes-nothing wrong with the vehicle and parking was less than $30.) We walked into the lobby, small but well-appointed. We checked in-front desk service was REALLY amazing. Our room was HUGE. I wish I could make the word huge bigger! We had 1 full bathroom and 1 toilet room, a king bed, and a huge amount of space to do kart wheels, line dancing or put a couple more beds in (we did NOT do any of those things even though the space would have allowed it!) The room was clean and the pillows and mattress were extremely comfortable. We laughed about the ear plugs but did not need them-maybe because our room was not street facing? The hotel is just a few short blocks to the lake and we had spectacular weather for running to Navy Pier! The fitness center with lap pool was right by the hotel and hotel guests could use that for free, there were a ton of restaurants and shopping places all within 2 blocks. The fitness center in the hotel was small but good and breakfast was good as well. Typical continental fare of waffles, yogurt, juices, coffee, muffins, bagels, breads, cereals, and fruit. The breakfast room was busy but well stocked and kept clean. I was told by many people that this is a very European hotel. I've not been to Europe but if by European hotel they mean really nice and not at all a typical Days Inn than I like European hotels!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latasha M, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Chicago, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Days Inn Chicago. We are so glad that we fooled you with our charming boutique decor and exteme cleanlness. We are glad to hear that you took advantage of our great area and was able to experience the charm due to the weather. I believe you described one of our Business class rooms which are definitely more spacious and have more added amenities than the standard rooms. We do offer the earplugs just to counter the noise if the room is located on the streetside. Glad to hear that was not an issue for you. We do hope when you come back to Chicago you stay with us again. Thank you again for finding the value in the Days Inn Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were looking for a hotel to stay in for the Chicago Marathon 2013, and lucked out here. Although we waited till the last minute, we were finding many hotel rooms available near the course start for about $270-300 per night, which was more than we could afford.

We kept looking, and found Days Inn about 4 miles north, but on the METRA line, and for around $150 which was more in line with our budget.

I figured we'd be out in the middle of nowhere, in a dingy place based on the difference in price and because we didn't know Chicago. As it turns out, the place was OK, and the course ran right past our hotel.

The room was small, and the double bed (as expected) left my feet dangling off the end, but for two nights, and as an alternative to couchsurfing, it was acceptable. The room was clean, and didn't smell bad. Bathroom, though tight, was servicable but lacked proper ventilation. The view was of the rooftop AC units, but that was also to be expected at this price.

All in all, since we weren't staying in the room during the day, we really didn't care about the view or size of the room. We were thrilled to be right on the course, and by the way, the neighborhood was quite hip and had lots of restaurants and cafe's.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael H, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Chicago, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Daniel H.,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Days Inn Chicago Hotel while you were in town for the Marathon. We appreciate your comments! We are glad that you were able to reach us by public transportation, as many of our guests do, and that you found our neighborhood enjoyable as we are close to many restaurants, cafes, and clothing boutiques. We are sorry that you felt that your room was small. We do offer a variety of room types and sizes with various price points, and the rooms with the one double bed are our smallest and least expensive. We hope to accommodate you again in the future, and recommend trying out one of our standard queen or king sized rooms which may be more comfortable for you, or any of our business class rooms which are larger and feature additional amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I recently spent a night at this hotel while on a business trip. Overall, it was just the ticket for us; close to our meeting place, and so many great places nearby to shop and dine at. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. When we had problems with our air conditioning unit, they were quick to troubleshoot this for us (not broken, just on a delay). The room was large and clean. Only thing keeping it from a 5 star rating was beds that were a bit lumpy, and a very small bathroom with a step up to get into (kind of a hazard in the middle of the night!). Would stay here again, though!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buggs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnChicago, General Manager at Days Inn Chicago, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Buggs01;
Thank you for choosing the Days Inn Chicago for your recent stay in Chicago and for your great comments about our hotel and location. We are within walking distance of restaurants, dining, shopping and theaters in a safe and exciting area just 2 miles north of downtown Chicago. Some of our standard rooms do have some bathrooms with a step up, but we have eliminated those in all of our business class rooms. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope that we may welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#142 of 185 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#58 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#36 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chicago

Property: Days Inn Chicago
Address: 644 W Diversey Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60614-2068 (Formerly Days Inn Lincoln Park - North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#49 Family Hotel in Chicago
#51 Business Hotel in Chicago
#51 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chicago 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2012/2009/2004 Days Inn Property of the Year (>126 rooms)! Days Inn Chicago is located in the heart of bustling Lincoln Park/Lakeview, just three miles north of downtown Chicago. Guests are within walking distance of dining, shopping and theaters as well as Wrigley Field and Lincoln Park Zoo. A short cab ride will take you to DePaul University, Michigan Avenue, McCormick Place, Millennium Park and Navy Pier. The hotel offers guests free Wi-Fi, a deluxe complimentary breakfast, on site fitness room and free access to LA Fitness next door, valet parking and upgraded bedding. Days Inn Chicago has also been called Rock and Roll Days Inn because it has been a home away from home for many known bands. You can follow us on Facebook at "Days Inn Chicago" or on Twitter as "DaysInnChicago." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chicago Hotel Chicago
Days Inn Lincoln Park
Chicago Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing