We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago
Ranked #89 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Ft. Smith, AR
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We booked 5 nights through choosechicago.com and got a nice rate (under $100). The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and fairly spacious. Best bed I've had in a hotel. Free breakfast was decent. The staff was friendly and the Lincoln Park location was convenient (15 minutes downtown by bus). Certainly not a full-service, downtown hotel, but more than adequate and much, much cheaper. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Beds, clean rooms, price.
  • Disliked — Didn't really dislike anything.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank geoffg32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    1,081
    326
    78
    58
See reviews for
976
638
309
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2008

I stayed three nights at this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised by my room here - I expected something small and cramped, but I found the room to be spacious. The bathroom was a little small, however, but still not bad. Every staff member I encounted was friendly. And the breakfast is worth getting up for - a variety of juices, breads, pastries, and waffles are offered.

It's a little out of the way for tourist-y attractions, but I felt it was worth it. It was easy to hail a cab out front. The one downside I found was that the stairwell was rather narrow; however, the hotel does offer an elevator.

  • Liked — Size of the room
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2008

I stayed at the Days Inn on my first trip to Chicago. The price was very reasonable, the rooms very clean and the staff friendly. The surroundnig area of Lincoln Park was very nice, although a way out from the Loop. Would definately stay again.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank pumpkinhead2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

Stayed here for one night on New Years Eve 12/31/07-1/01/08, since we were clubbing in the area. Great location to Clark/Broadway/Diversey. Great neighborhood. The hotel staff was very friendly! The room was a double queen bed room, the beds were more of the size of a full bed. Bathroom was ample in size. The hotel rooms vary in size because the property used to be a condo bldg converted into a hotel. The room I had faced out to diversey, considering it was New Years Eve, it was very very noisy with people passing by all night and talking loudly. It's a run of the mill hotel but it was better than anticipated. The breakfast buffet in the morning (9am - 11am) was free and it had fruit, cereal, waffles, bread, bagels, muffins and croissants. It also had coffee, and dall different types of juices and milk. Very unexpected and a nice touch!

This location would be good for those that want to be close to Lincoln Park Zoo, Wrigley Field and tons of bars. You are also a short cap ride away from Downtown.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cubsgirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2007

Given the high cost of much Chicago accommodation, the Days Inn at Lincoln Park is excellent value.

Not only is it in a great neighbourhood, with good transport nearby, but the staff are great and the hotel is immaculately maintained.

OK, so the room wasn't the biggest (particularly the bathroom), but the hotel is a cut above the typical chain. On check-in, for example, we were given a list of local restaurants, with recommendations in each section.

The breakfast area was one of the tidiest and best maintained, with a large selection of food and free copies of USA Today. A free internet access PC was also a bonus as we were travelling without laptops.

The local 'L' stop Diversey was closed during our visit, but the buses along Clark, Broadway & Diversey served our needs perfectly. There are lots of cafes, shops & restaurants nearby, and we had access to Bally's Gym, had we felt the need!

We could certainly see why this Days Inn has won a number of awards within the group.

  • Liked — Staff, Location, breakfast
  • Disliked — Very small bathroom
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KaleneAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
213 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

This is a great hotel. The rooms are small (European style) but the housekeeping is first rate. The staff are very accommodating and helpful and the hotel is extremely well managed. It's in a lively location, convenient if you're traveling by bus. Bus 22 and 36 stop right on the corner as does 76. From O'Hare, take the Blue line to Logan Square then the 76 bus to the hotel. With all the subway construction on the Brown line, it's just not practical to take the subway to get to the hotel.

One word of CAUTION! There are about four rooms that do not have the combo heat/AC units installed yet. If you're "lucky" enough to get one of those rooms, you probably should request a room change. Those rooms have a small air conditioner in the window with side panels that let the cold winter air right through. Supposedly the steam radiator provides heat but it "cycles" on and off and no one seems to know whether it will cycle on during your stay (or even your lifetime) and it does get cold in Chicago during the winter. But if you get one of the other 120 or so rooms you will find a modern HVAC unit that will keep you comfortable all winter long. Not sure why the hotel has not installed these in all rooms yet.

  • Liked — Location, Value, Cleanliness
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 1NicePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

I came to Chicago for business October 24th. I searched all of downtown for a good deal. Everything seemed to be so expensive or gross and scary. I came across the Days Inn in Lincoln Park and found it to be fairly close to downtown. It is a hike from Ohare but fairly easy to the city. There is plenty of restaurants and stores within walking distance. The rooms are quiet and very clean. All white bed linens. Not the biggest room (queen size bed) but it is exceeds your expectations of a Days Inn. The bathroom is very clean and nice. I found the front desk to be very helpful and friendly.
For my first trip into a big city alone, the hotel made me feel very safe, secure and comforted. An unhappy hotel experience was the last thing I needed. I would highly recommend and encourage others to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ash2882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#146 of 189 in Chicago
226 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#73 of 189 in Chicago
874 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#111 of 189 in Chicago
505 reviews
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#52 of 189 in Chicago
755 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago

Property: Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago
Address: 644 W Diversey Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60614-2068 (Formerly Days Inn Lincoln Park - North)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Chicago
#51 Business Hotel in Chicago
#51 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Hotel Versey Formerly the Days Inn Chicago, Hotel Versey is a completely renovated modern lifestyle located in the safe and exciting Lincoln Park/Lakeview neighborhood, just three miles north of downtown Chicago. The hotel features a bold design with artwork from Chicago-based artists, as well as a variety of retail outlets and a street-front restaurant & bar opening in late 2017. Located at the iconic intersection of Diversey Parkway, Clark Street and Broadway Street, the new Hotel Versey celebrates the iconic building’s history and serves as a hub for families, the sports oriented, the business-minded, multicultural guests from around the world, and the LGBTQ community. Guest Amenities The guestrooms are designed to serve as sophisticated, fun hideaways that bring the comfort of home to a guest’s stay in Chicago. Each room is equipped with modern amenities including complimentary WiFi, 50-inch HDTVs with premium programming, and SoniCast, allowing guests to stream their favorite TV shows, movies, and music directly to their room. Nespresso coffee machines and signature luxury linens round out the standard room offerings, while executive rooms accommodate business and long-term travelers with the addition of a microwave and refrigerator. Hotel guests also receive complimentary access to the neighboring L.A. Fitness center and are conveniently located close to a plethora of local restaurants and retail shops outside the hotel’s front door. Additional partnerships include an ongoing relationship with Wyndham Hotel Group and co-branding through Days Inn, which allows guests staying at Hotel Versey the opportunity to continue earning Wyndham Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chicago Hotel Chicago
Days Inn Lincoln Park
Chicago Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing