We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Chicago
Ranked #84 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

This spot is about 3 miles north of downtown, and you can usually drive and to and from during commute in about 30 minutes on the streets.

This place is all about location, with lots of restaurants, stores, shops and a safe area.

Pros:
Location
very nice staff
clean rooms with decent, but very average decor
good breakfast (bagels, breads, pastries, coffee)
lots of neighborhood restaurants and stores at your doorstep

Cons:
Hotel is older, no double-pain windows, A/C units are old, bathrooms have no vents
Rooms are on small side
Not very close to trains
3 miles north of downtown (traffic can be nerve wrecking at commute)
no free parking, but I have some tips on that below,
no LCD televisions and few cable channels (if you were raised by a television like me)
wi-fi is typical hotel slow (but fast enough for very basic browsing)

Yes, lots of cons, but if you enjoy eating out, having Starbucks, Walgreens, Trader Joe's, boutique shops at your doorstep then this is your best bet. I had business in the medical district, which is about a mile our so, west of downtown, so my morning commute consisted of easily avoiding highway traffic and driving about 30 minutes to and from work.

If you need to park you can either pay $22 for daily in/out valet, $20 for daily no in/out garage around the corner, or you can pay $1.50 per hour on the street; between 9pm and 8am (unless otherwise noted) parking is free. There always seemed to be a spot, although I did have to walk about a block one night.

Room Tip: Rooms on back side and center are probably the most quiet, so asking for a quiet room is probably ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel94531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    1,045
    299
    70
    53
See reviews for
924
618
302
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

This property is, as most reviews here show, clean, well-maintained, friendly staff, great location, good breakfast, etc. However, my stay was less than acceptable due to internal and external noise. Street and pedestrian traffic are facts of city life. But that said, I tried a street view room and the noise was quite disturbing. Thought of relocating to an interior room but realized the room doors bang shut and the service staff carried on loudly so this would have been moot. I believe it wouldn't take much to replace existing windows with a more soundproof variety. Only other complaint was the under-window AC/heating units, which, even on the lowest fan speed setting, would preclude a normal conversation in a room and require TV sound to be up very high to hear it. I will not choose this property again, unless and until I learn that appropriate noise limiting features have been added, and I know they could be.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brucegordon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

I really felt like this hotel was "The Little Hotel that Could!". Here are the awesome parts: The location is really good, the hotel was very clean and orderly and the staff (especially Neil at the front desk!!) was super friendly and nice. It was obvious to me that the people who run this hotel really care about providing a quality atmosphere to their guests - even the stairway was spotless and had pictures hanging at every level! My husband and I stayed there for one night, and I would definitely stay there again. Here's the downside: It is an older hotel and it shows. The TV's are the big tube kind and the decor/furniture, while super clean and in good condition, is kind of old looking. Overall, I'd say this hotel is an excellent value in a great location and it really seems like the people who run the place care.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DONA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

This was a perfect place for us to stay while visiting our college kid who lives In Lakeview. We were walking distance to everything we needed. The hotel was clean and everyone was very friendly. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you have a problem with street noise you might want to request an inside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margiemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for three nights. It is located about six block from the CTA brown line Deversey Station. You can take the train directly into downtown or with one transfer to either airport. The neighborhood is very safe and walkable with numerous restaurants, bars, stores and markets within two blocks.

The hotel itself is proably the most upscale Days Inn you would ever find. The building is older but has been updated. Rooms vary from quite small to roomy.A free breakfast is served until 11am each morning. All rooms have free wi-fi which works very well. Be aware it is valet only parking. It really is quite a nice hotel. The only downside is it is in a busy neighborhood and rooms that face the street get A LOT of street noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the interior courtyard. You wont have a view but you will have quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsguyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

The whole family met up in Chicago for a fun-filled weekend. We chose Days Inn Chicago and were delighted! We had an awesome room with a funky floor plan and plenty of space. The beds were very comfortable as were the pillows! (very important to me!) There was some toiletries provided - shampoo, soap and even earplugs! The noise for us was a non-issue - except for the ice machine right outside our door...but I didn't hear the street noise.
Breakfast was included and that was a nice touch (great coffee). The location is perfect with all sorts of places within walking distance and the el just a couple blocks away. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coopergoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

I always try to stay here if possible--must book early. It's the best value in Chicago. The room is basic but comfortable. It's in a great neighborhood--good restaurants, shops, Trader Joe's, free access to Ballys Fitness Club, and a very nice indie movie theater around the corner. Steps to the EL and a manageable walk to DePaul University. Good breakfast complete with waffles is included. No complaints.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Otoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#143 of 187 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#68 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#49 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chicago

Property: Days Inn Chicago
Address: 644 W Diversey Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60614 (Formerly Days Inn Lincoln Park - North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Chicago
#51 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#51 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chicago 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2012/2009/2004 Days Inn Property of the Year (>126 rooms)! Days Inn Chicago is located in the heart of bustling Lincoln Park/Lakeview, just three miles north of downtown Chicago. Guests are within walking distance of dining, shopping and theaters as well as Wrigley Field and Lincoln Park Zoo. A short cab ride will take you to DePaul University, Michigan Avenue, McCormick Place, Millennium Park and Navy Pier. The hotel offers guests free Wi-Fi, a free access to LA Fitness next door, valet parking and upgraded bedding. Days Inn Chicago has also been called Rock and Roll Days Inn because it has been a home away from home for many known bands. You can follow us on Facebook at "Days Inn Chicago" or on Twitter as "DaysInnChicago." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Days Inn Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chicago Hotel Chicago
Days Inn Lincoln Park
Chicago Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing