We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Little Hotel That Could!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago
Ranked #91 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I really felt like this hotel was "The Little Hotel that Could!". Here are the awesome parts: The location is really good, the hotel was very clean and orderly and the staff (especially Neil at the front desk!!) was super friendly and nice. It was obvious to me that the people who run this hotel really care about providing a quality atmosphere to their guests - even the stairway was spotless and had pictures hanging at every level! My husband and I stayed there for one night, and I would definitely stay there again. Here's the downside: It is an older hotel and it shows. The TV's are the big tube kind and the decor/furniture, while super clean and in good condition, is kind of old looking. Overall, I'd say this hotel is an excellent value in a great location and it really seems like the people who run the place care.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DONA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,409 - 2,415 of 2,770 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2011

This was a perfect place for us to stay while visiting our college kid who lives In Lakeview. We were walking distance to everything we needed. The hotel was clean and everyone was very friendly. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you have a problem with street noise you might want to request an inside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margiemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for three nights. It is located about six block from the CTA brown line Deversey Station. You can take the train directly into downtown or with one transfer to either airport. The neighborhood is very safe and walkable with numerous restaurants, bars, stores and markets within two blocks.

The hotel itself is proably the most upscale Days Inn you would ever find. The building is older but has been updated. Rooms vary from quite small to roomy.A free breakfast is served until 11am each morning. All rooms have free wi-fi which works very well. Be aware it is valet only parking. It really is quite a nice hotel. The only downside is it is in a busy neighborhood and rooms that face the street get A LOT of street noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the interior courtyard. You wont have a view but you will have quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsguyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

The whole family met up in Chicago for a fun-filled weekend. We chose Days Inn Chicago and were delighted! We had an awesome room with a funky floor plan and plenty of space. The beds were very comfortable as were the pillows! (very important to me!) There was some toiletries provided - shampoo, soap and even earplugs! The noise for us was a non-issue - except for the ice machine right outside our door...but I didn't hear the street noise.
Breakfast was included and that was a nice touch (great coffee). The location is perfect with all sorts of places within walking distance and the el just a couple blocks away. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coopergoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I always try to stay here if possible--must book early. It's the best value in Chicago. The room is basic but comfortable. It's in a great neighborhood--good restaurants, shops, Trader Joe's, free access to Ballys Fitness Club, and a very nice indie movie theater around the corner. Steps to the EL and a manageable walk to DePaul University. Good breakfast complete with waffles is included. No complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Otoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We booked a two night stay through Priceline- although not "name your own price" so actually no cheaper than if we had gone through hotel directly. At any rate, our room was closet-sized and the window at the intersection of two busy streets. The noise made it impossible to sleep (did not bode well when we saw the room comes equipped with earplugs). The bed is also listed on website as a double but was smaller and shorter than any double we have ever slept in. Maybe to fit into such a tiny room? I will say the next morning when we asked to be moved to a different room they accommodated us, but it was a long, MISERABLE night of no sleep with the constant street noise of vehicles, sirens, horns honking etc. with no compensation.

Room Tip: If you stay be sure to ask for an interior room and at least a queen bed if a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hudsontravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I was very unsure about this hotel, being so small. My daughter was getting married and my SIL arranged rooms here.
What a great place! Great price, valet parking @ $22/ night (in and out privileges) was cheap (check it out at other Chi hotels) and the valet service was super fast.
Room was smallish, but very nice, well appointed w/ many amenities (Microwave, fridge, safe,and coffee maker) you never see in a small hotel and some large ones.
The complimentary breakfast was great. Coffee, juices, bagels, and waffles...what else could you ask?
Clean doesn't begin to explain it, as it was immaculate!
Special kudo to Eric (Valet, porter, the guy who brings your bags to and from the room)! You did a great job! Very fast, efficient, and friendly. We had a lot of stuff in and out all weekend and he was perfect. But so was the desk staff, maids, and valets.
There were many people from out of town staying here and I'm sure they would echo my comments.
I have stayed at many high to medium level hotels all over the country. This place could compete w/ them all and win.
Absolutely nothing bad to say.
Definitely staying there again.

Room Tip: Get the King. It had everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rr26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#78 of 192 in Chicago
953 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#146 of 192 in Chicago
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#113 of 192 in Chicago
520 reviews
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#55 of 192 in Chicago
804 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago

Address: 644 W Diversey Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60614-2068 (Formerly Days Inn Lincoln Park - North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Chicago
#51 Business Hotel in Chicago
#51 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $100 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Hotel Versey Formerly the Days Inn Chicago, Hotel Versey is a completely renovated modern lifestyle located in the safe and exciting Lincoln Park/Lakeview neighborhood, just three miles north of downtown Chicago. The hotel features a bold design with artwork from Chicago-based artists, as well as a variety of retail outlets and a street-front restaurant & bar opening in late 2017. Located at the iconic intersection of Diversey Parkway, Clark Street and Broadway Street, the new Hotel Versey celebrates the iconic building’s history and serves as a hub for families, the sports oriented, the business-minded, multicultural guests from around the world, and the LGBTQ community. Guest Amenities The guestrooms are designed to serve as sophisticated, fun hideaways that bring the comfort of home to a guest’s stay in Chicago. Each room is equipped with modern amenities including complimentary WiFi, 50-inch HDTVs with premium programming, and SoniCast, allowing guests to stream their favorite TV shows, movies, and music directly to their room. Nespresso coffee machines and signature luxury linens round out the standard room offerings, while executive rooms accommodate business and long-term travelers with the addition of a microwave and refrigerator. Hotel guests also receive complimentary access to the neighboring L.A. Fitness center and are conveniently located close to a plethora of local restaurants and retail shops outside the hotel’s front door. Additional partnerships include an ongoing relationship with Wyndham Hotel Group and co-branding through Days Inn, which allows guests staying at Hotel Versey the opportunity to continue earning Wyndham Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chicago Hotel Chicago
Days Inn Lincoln Park
Chicago Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing