We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago
Ranked #96 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Travelled with a friend for a quick getaway. We were in a room with 2 beds, fridge, & micro(we were in room 403), room with views of Clark St. As always it was a great stay, staff very friendly, and willing to help in any way possible. If your not a continental b-fast kind-of-person, I would suggest The Golden Nugget one block south of Diversey on Clark.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,477 - 2,483 of 2,817 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

The housekeeping staff was excellent, although I got the impression that the sheets were not changed during our visit. The maintenance staff was outstanding to which when we noticed a problem with our a/c, he attempted to troubleshoot the problem (i.e. the vibrating noise). He was not successful the first time, but when we brought it to his attention the second day it was fixed... while we were out of the room, the entire unit was switched out with a new a/c unit which we greatly appreciate. I was shocked that such an excellent maintenance person was on hand and was able to resolve the issue. The shower water pressure was weak at best. This as well as the towel rod behind the door that needs to be closer to the shower. The towel holder was behind the door, which is too far away from the shower. There is plenty of space by the shower to place the towel holder. The breakfast staff was usually rude and impolite. The staff in this area need to be reminded that these are customers that they are dealing with, not their own children.

Room Tip: Comfortable, clean bedbug free room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Busy location but near train station to get into city. Big tick. Slap in the face is the $20 a day parking, but seems to be expensive everywhere, saw $45 a day in Chicago city! High quality hotel, nice rooms. Did ask for a inner facing room, but still got street view room. Was a bit noisy but noise level dropped between 12-7am so it was okay. Bathroom had a large step so stubbed my toe a bunch of times which was very irritating. Got a large king size bed, very comfortable. Decent breakfast with waffles and pastries. Slow lift and pricey internet access. Was close to an Aveda store which was like fate for me! Found a very cheap diner nearby that had main meals for $7.95 and delicious Red Velvet Cake. Overall happy but add $20 to the price of the room and decide if this is in your price range.

Room Tip: Inner facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed at this hotel when Paul McCartney came to town. This is an exceptional property. We had a suite and it was fantastic. The hotel is immaculate, the front desk staff is friendly and really helpful. My room was ready before 2 p.m. and I didn't even request an early check-in. It's an older hotel so the elevators are small, but it is also secure as you can't get on a guest floor without a room key to activate the elevator. The valet parking is great. The breakfast was more than I expected for a complimentary offering at a Days Inn. Everything was fresh and continually replenished. Great location within walking distance to anything you could possibly need or want. I will stay here again and have recommended it to others who want to spend a weekend in the city at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

On a recent visit to go to a night Cubs game, we stayed at this property. The staff was amazingly helpful and courteous. The accommodations were spacious, tastefully decorated, and very clean. Everything associated with this hotel was wonderful! We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone else, also.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The hotel seemed to be an after thought between two buildings. The enterence was long and narrow leading to a small lobby and check-in desk. The elevator was small, slow, and hopped when it stopped at each floor.

The room was small, but nice. The breakfast was good. I was most impressed with the service.

Room Tip: Don't expect a large room or a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeC196135805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Our daughter lives in Logan Square which is close to this hotel. We visit Chicago frequently and always stay downtown but thought we would check out the neighborhood where we met 40+ years ago. I was a bit skeptical as Day's Inn's usually are not to my liking. The front desk staff were great over the three days we stayed at the hotel. Our room was adequate in size, bed was comfortable. The room faced the interior deck area so we did not have street noise. They provide earplugs for this issue with noise. Parking is cheaper than staying downtown and the public transit system outside of the door is easy to use. Breakfast was adequate I wish they would have some eggs as it is very bread heavy. Juice and coffee were good and newspapers were plentiful. We had leftovers from a restaurant and the staff volunteered a staff refrigerator to keep the food cold as there wasn't a small refrig in the room. A huge bonus was the new Trader Joe's across the street

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theavailablemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#78 of 192 in Chicago
987 reviews
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#148 of 192 in Chicago
234 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#110 of 192 in Chicago
555 reviews
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#77 of 192 in Chicago
865 reviews
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago

Address: 644 W Diversey Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60614-2068 (Formerly Days Inn Lincoln Park - North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#42 Family Hotel in Chicago
#51 Business Hotel in Chicago
#51 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $77 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Hotel Versey Formerly the Days Inn Chicago, Hotel Versey is a completely renovated modern lifestyle located in the safe and exciting Lincoln Park/Lakeview neighborhood, just three miles north of downtown Chicago. The hotel features a bold design with artwork from Chicago-based artists, as well as a variety of retail outlets and a street-front restaurant & bar opening in late 2017. Located at the iconic intersection of Diversey Parkway, Clark Street and Broadway Street, the new Hotel Versey celebrates the iconic building’s history and serves as a hub for families, the sports oriented, the business-minded, multicultural guests from around the world, and the LGBTQ community. Guest Amenities The guestrooms are designed to serve as sophisticated, fun hideaways that bring the comfort of home to a guest’s stay in Chicago. Each room is equipped with modern amenities including complimentary WiFi, 50-inch HDTVs with premium programming, and SoniCast, allowing guests to stream their favorite TV shows, movies, and music directly to their room. Nespresso coffee machines and signature luxury linens round out the standard room offerings, while executive rooms accommodate business and long-term travelers with the addition of a microwave and refrigerator. Hotel guests also receive complimentary access to the neighboring L.A. Fitness center and are conveniently located close to a plethora of local restaurants and retail shops outside the hotel’s front door. Additional partnerships include an ongoing relationship with Wyndham Hotel Group and co-branding through Days Inn, which allows guests staying at Hotel Versey the opportunity to continue earning Wyndham Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chicago Hotel Chicago
Days Inn Lincoln Park
Chicago Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing