We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great terrace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel
Ranked #133 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Madrid
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location, great terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

The room wasn't very big but it was very clean and comfortable. Being located in downtown Chicago there is a lot of noise coming from the street, but I think it is inevitable if you want that location. And the location is great, really close to the Magnificent mile...
The hotel has a terrace in the 26th floor with some tables and chairs. Beautiful place to have something to drink at dusk...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bertismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    574
    452
    193
    155
See reviews for
250
491
145
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Great location! We were right in the center of everything. The malls were literally across the street from our hotel. We did not need a rental car for anything! Awesome location!

I think the hotel staff were very nice, accomodating and courteous. Very nice lobby however the rooms could use more work. The elevator was only big enough for 3 people not even including their luggage! The hallways smelled like urine and the hotel is very old. I did not like the hotel but loved the customer service I received. When we reported mold in our bathroom ceiling we were given another room which was a lot better than the first one. The Inn of Chicago is not a bad hotel just not my preference when it comes to hotels. If you are only staying in town for a few days it fine but I wouldn't recommend for an extended stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shonie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOC162, Guest Relations at Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Shonie29, thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Inn of Chicago, I apologize for any shortcomings and your comments have been noted. Thank you for bring this to our attention and we hope that you will not let this tarnish your relationship with the Inn of Chicago; we look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

northeast Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed here recently for our first trip to Chicago. Our room, though not huge, was spotless, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. I was amazed at how quiet our room was considering the location. The roof top deck is especially beautiful at night. The location was great, we were able to walk to so many things and cabs and buses are readily available. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rubydove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOC162, Guest Relations at Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Rubydove, thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent trip to the Inn Of Chicago we are pleased to hear that you had a great stay. The hotel is in a great area for sight seeing or walking along the Mag Mile. Thank again and we hope to see you back at the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

My wife and I and another couple had rooms on the 21st. floor and the hotel was awesome, clean, modern decor and comfortable, in a great area in the heart of downtown Chicago close to everything. After shopping and sightseeing most of the four days we were there we could go up to the rooftop terrace and unwind, BYOB and sit in comfort with a great view of surrounding area, the rooms were great and of good size and spotless, the service excellent, and the employees professional and ever wanting to help in whatever way possible. This hotel is a gem and for what we paid , less than one hundred per night, it was a steal and hidden gem in Chicago where there are so many pricy hotels just because of their name or location. I recommend this highly

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCOTIAGOLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOC162, Guest Relations at Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
Scotiagolf, thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Inn of Chicago we are glad that you had and enjoyable stay. The terrace is a nice place to relax after a long day. We hope that you will be back in the future, seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

I was so confused by the conflicting reviews, I called to see if there were 2 hotels. I booked with some trepidation. I needn't have and I'm hoping that I can save you second thoughts. The hotel location was outstanding, The bed was exceedingly comfortable. There was a great 27 inch flat screen TV in our double double room.

I have long curly hair, so water pressure and a decent showerhead are pleasant surprises. My expectations were surpassed. The water pressure and volume were great.

Overall a fantastic experience and great value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fairness4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOC162, Guest Relations at Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
Fairness4all, thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at the Inn of Chicago. We are pleased that the entire stay was wonderful and we hope that you will be back to visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

For the price we paid, it was a fantastic hotel!

Location: the hotel is located just off the Magnificent Mile, which big shops such as Guess and Forever 21 being right around the corner. The John Hancock Tower is just a couple of blocks away. It is on the other side of Chicago to the museums, but Chicago is very walkable.

Room: our room was quite spacious. It was clean and had a modern furnishings. There was a large TV with a range of channels and the bathroom was of a decent size. There is no complimentary wifi directly into the room, but there is complimentary wifi in the lobby. We didn't have a view of anything through our windows, but it was still quite light and airy.

Hotel staff: the staff are on a whole friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sej144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOC162, Guest Relations at Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
Sej144 thanks for staying at the Inn of Chicago while visiting Chicago; we are very pleased to hear that your stay was fantastic. We are conveniently located with in walking distance from many local attractions. We hope that you will come back to stay with us again for another fantastic stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, Missouri
Level Contributor
364 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We got it for a good price and only used it to sleep, shower and regroup. The bathroom is too small and the wooden vanity pedestal made it hard to even get in or around in it. However we were steps from breakfast, late night snacks, meals, Magnificent Mile, river etc. It worked good for us.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank recorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOC162, Guest Relations at Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
Recorder, thank you for taking time to share your feed back about your recent stay here at the Inn of Chicago we are pleased that you had a wonderful stay. We hope to see you in the future should your travel plans bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#113 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel

Property: Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel
Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile. Just a half-block from the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found. We offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing