We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice one-night stay”
Review of Inn of Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn of Chicago
Ranked #145 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel was easy to find, easy to check-in to, and a great price. We walked all over the place from the hotel (including the Magnificent Mile, Millennium Park, etc) and found a couple of great restaurants really close by. The lobby has definitely been updated more recently than the rooms - which were a bit small and poorly retrofitted with more modern style fittings - but we were out so much that it hardly mattered. In the end, the shower had plenty of hot water, the bed was comfortable, and though it would have been more convenient to have breakfast at the hotel (they don't offer it) Wildberry was phenomenal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestTXTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear WestTXTravelGirl,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us if only for just one night! We are happy that you took advantage of our location to walk all around downtown Chicago. Since we do not offer continental breakfast at our hotel, there are plenty of restaurants nearby that serve full american breakfasts. Wildberry is a very good option! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
-The Inn of Chicago Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

If you are looking for a decent place to stay in Chicago for a decent price, this hotel will work for you, Great location, right by Magnificent Mile and only 4 blocks from Navy Pier, surrounded by Restaurants, Friendly staff, it could use a little work, but it's a great value, small elevators though

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amishcowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Amishcowboy,
Thank you for recommending the Inn of Chicago to fellow travelers. We look forward to your next stay!
-The Inn of Chicago Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Upon checking in to our room, we were greeted by the friendly staff and pleasant lobby space. But the room itself was small, a little dirty, and smelled funny. We got switched to another, larger room which was much better. Lots of torn carpet in the hallways, and a slightly run-down feeling in general when you get outside of the lobby and bar.

Fine if you want to be close to Michigan Avenue and you just want a place to sleep. Certainly not someplace you will want to hang out and relax your day away though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Webtrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Webtrain,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that our location and staff exceeded expectations during your stay. Our team is aware of the furnishing conditions throughout the hotel, and takes action where necessary to ensure that everything is in tip top shape. If given another opportunity, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
-The Inn of Chicago Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Inn of Chicago falsely advertises that they provide a certain level of quality service. There was an “additional” fee charged for the room at check-in, which I was unaware of when booking the room that I paid for in advance. Had I known that there was going to be an additional fee for staying at this hotel (not for any additional services or taxes mind you), I would have selected a better-known hotel. The hotel and room were also very dirty. The pictures posted on the hotel internet site does not correctly reflect the current state of the hotel. The carpet in the halls and room were dingy and had stains. There were patched holes and stains in the ceiling of the room and bathroom. There were large cracks in the wall of the bathroom and the tile around the tub was peeling away from the wall. The sink looked like they tried to retro-fit a smaller sink exposing unfinished wall and large gaping holes around it. The air/heating unit did not work and maintenance had to come and replace the entire unit. This hotel is not what they advertise and the rates they charge are deceptive and clearly misleading. The “additional” fees charged to stay at this hotel would have been better spent at a nicer quality hotel down the street.

Room Tip: Don't pick this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rob21202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Rob21202,
We regret to learn about your disappointing experience. Please be assured that we value every one of our guests, and do everything to make sure their stay is as enjoyable as possible. It seems we fell short in delivering this basic promise to you, and for that we sincerely apologize. Most times the additional fee which you referenced to in your review, is the cost for an upgraded guest room. Please be assured that the photos featured on our website accurately reflect the inventory available at our hotel, and are never intended to exaggerate our accommodations. We understand that our hotel is not a perfect fit for everyone, and hope that you find a hotel that better suits your needs moving forward.
-The Inn of Chicago Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

After finishing a conference in Chicago, I extended my stayed and found a "Groupon" for this hotel. I was surprised and how great the location was for the price I was able to get. You are a very short walk to the Magnificent Mile. Our room wasn't as nice as those pictured but it was very large. The bathroom was small which was fine for two of us. The lobby and lobby bar are modern. There is a nice coffee/pastry shop right next door.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife & I were lucky enough to get a top-floor suite facing the Lake. The Skyline Terrace on the top floor of the hotel was amazing and provided great views of the city! The hotel was close to everything, so it was easy to get around the city! The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. The room had a "modern" design, but it wasn't anything very fancy, but it was good enough for us!
We found it odd that there was not an alarm clock/radio in the room, but other than that, we thought everything was perfect! They were even nice enough to provide a bag of Garrett Gourmet Popcorn from the store around the corner, as well as a bottle of wine that was enjoyed outside on the Skyline Terrace! It was a great, romantic way to end a perfect day in the city!

Room Tip: Suite upgrade was WELL worth it! The Skyline Terrace was the icing on the cake :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear pamason,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Inn of Chicago! We are glad that you and your wife enjoyed the Skyline Terrace during your time at the hotel. Our hotel is one of the best kept secrets in the heart of downtown Chicago, offering friendly service, comfortable accommodations and just a block away from the famous Garrett Popcorn shop. We look forward to welcoming you both back again soon!
-The Inn of Chicago Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed here as part of a tour group. It is described as a "boutique hotel" but although very individual it is much larger than the terms normally means. The room was good generally. The public areas are pleasant with a bar. The wifi is free in the public areas but there is a charge for wifi in your room. There is no restaurant but there are plenty of cafes, restaurants etc in the immediate area. The hotel is close to Navy Pier, the Magnificent Mile, the John Hancock Building and the Loop is within walking distance.
A good value choice in a premium area of downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LightAleCavalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear LightAleCavalier,
We are one of the best kept secrets in downtown Chicago, only steps away from world-class dining, shopping, Navy Pier, and the John Hancock Center. The Inn of Chicago is a landmark boutique hotel in the city, offering both contemporary and traditional guest rooms with comfortable amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
-The Inn of Chicago Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#107 of 191 in Chicago
1,808 reviews
Near North Side
FieldHouse Jones
FieldHouse Jones
#91 of 191 in Chicago
132 reviews
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#101 of 191 in Chicago
603 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#143 of 191 in Chicago
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago

Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3105 (Formerly Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $65 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago. Just a half-block from the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found. We offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn of Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing