We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn of Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn of Chicago
Ranked #138 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

It was our first time in Chicago - and we wanted to see all the main attractions. This hotel was the perfect location. We walked the Magnificent Mile, walked from the Willis Tower, Cloud Gate, and more. It was a little cold at night, so we took a cab back from Navy Pier (just a little over $5!). The staff was very welcoming and friendly - very helpful! The terrace on the 22nd floor has an amazing view! I wish they had duvets or comforters though - instead of just blankets on the bed. Also, I wish the rooms were just a tad bigger but I think next time, I'll just splurge and get a suite! Amazing trip!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Caroline C,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Inn of Chicago for your first visit to Chicago! You picked a great spot because our location is second to none...being only steps away from the Mag Mile, minutes to Navy Pier, and not far from the Willis Tower. We look forward to your next return and hope you book our sky suite, which is connected to the outdoor skyline terrace.
-The Inn of Chicago Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    612
    485
    212
    168
See reviews for
275
532
155
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbiaville, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on spring break trip. The location is great: easy walks to Magnificent Mile and Union Pier. The public transportation is also close by. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We were able to leave our baggage at the hotel because we arrived early and still wanted to visit some museums after check -out. Even though there is no breakfast available, they do have room service for lunch and dinner available. There is a Dunkin Donuts and Starbucks located very close to the hotel. Rooms were very clean, beds were comfortable. Air conditioner was a little noisy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear WorldTravelerP,
Thank you for staying with us over Spring Break! We are very close to many shops and public transportation routes in downtown Chicago. There are many great quick food options right near our hotel, which is very convenient for most guests staying with us! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
-The Inn of Chicago Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I believe another review said: "I'm glad I didn't pay full price!" Many of you reading this review probably didn't, either!

I'm guessing most of you probably landed this place on Priceline and are rushing to Tripadvisor to see what this place is all about. Well, this place is all about location, location, location. If you are planning a weekend outside in downtown Chicago and doing it on a budget, you'll find it suits your needs. However, if you're looking to get work done in your rooms, or impress girlfriends with classy ambiance, or spend a lot of time in there watching TV, etc, it might not be the best place. As others have said, the rooms are small, older, and have these little tiny old windows. It's a shame because there are lots of great views, you just can't see them unless you strain your neck and look over the built-in heating vents.

I arrived at 1pm and wasn't allowed to check in early, despite coming in from the airport. I know their check-in policy says 3pm, but a major hotel chain always has rooms available and will set you up - this place doesn't have that same luxury. The staff was nice about it though, so that was a bonus but it really didn't help my problem. Another issue was the cost of the Internet, I hate paying for Internet in hotels and it will cost you $15 per night for a decent MBPS speed. In short, it's a bit depressing if you are spending your time here up in the room on a cold, winter day - which was what I did. However, that's just my experience. If you are out and about in Chicago during the spring or summer and just need a place to crash, this place will work just fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltheworld3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear traveltheworld3,
With the cold Winter now behind us, we will start to enjoy sunny days in Chicago...we have no doubt you will change your mind when the sun is shining, and plenty of outdoor festivals and activities begin around the city. We strive to create positive experiences, however, regrettably it seems we fell short of this mark with you. Please be aware that our team does their absolute best to accommodate guests arriving early at the hotel, but sometimes there is very limited availability before 3pm. If given another opportunity, we hope to welcome you back for a much improved experience.
-The Inn of Chicago Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
179 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

The hotel was very pleasant. The only real complaint was that they took forever to get our room ready, we had to come back two times, and the second time they seemed a bit bothered by our request that our room that was supposed to be ready needed to be ready. That said, they were generally friendly and the hotel was clean and quiet which is important. Also, great location

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Glubetrutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Glubetrutah,
We are never bothered by our guests coming to ask questions regarding their stay, and regret if this was your perception. We are happy that you enjoyed our great location, and hope to welcome you back again soon!
-The Inn of Chicago Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leszno, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Nice location, clean, comfortable, big room, nice lobby, and the most pleasant and helpful person ius the concierge, his name is VIC! Such a nice person!!!!!!!! Also I think, the price was very reasonable!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Monika P,
Your kind remarks will be shared with Vic, and he will greatly appreciate hearing this! You can't beat our great price right in the heart of downtown Chicago. We hope to serve you again soon!
-The Inn of Chicago Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The friendliness of the staff and the location are the major advantages of this hotel - really near the Magnificent Mile and the Downtown loop. However, that's more or less where the advantages stop. The bed was comfy enough and the bathroom clean, but the corridors were shabby, the room was incredibly dark (despite being on the 12th floor), and bits of the furniture were falling apart - the back was off the wardrobe, and the bottom was coming loose on a drawer. The heater vibrated loudly all night long, making it virtually impossible to sleep without earplugs. For the $94 I paid per night, I didn't mind the rough-around-the-edges elements, but I would have been extremely disappointed had I paid full price!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petiteminuscule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear petiteminuscule,
Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for sharing your observations. While it is disappointing to hear that you did not leave the Inn of Chicago completely satisfied, we thank you for pointing out areas in which we can improve, especially in regard to the HVAC unit. If given another opportunity, we hope you will reconsider and give us another try in the near future.
-The Inn of Chicago Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I purchased a Groupon for $155 ($180 with tax) to stay at this hotel when my sister came to visit. The Groupon pictures looked great and the hotel seemed to be centrally located. When we arrived, however, we could immediately tell that the pictures were deceiving. Our room looked like a room from a Best Western in the 80s. Extremely dingy, with paper-thin walls. It looked nothing like the pictures. I went online to check the nightly rate for that date and found it was only $75! I was charged double. We immediately went back down to the front desk and checked out, telling the staff we were unsatisfied. They just shrugged and said "sorry." Even though we had only been there 15 minutes, our parking was already $22 so we decided to just leave it overnight for the $52 and take a cab to a different hotel. We ended up going to a brand new hotel, The Godfrey-- which was gorgeous and only $116.

The worst part of all of this, after contacting Groupon for a refund, they had me call the hotel to get a cancellation number. I spoke with the manager who eas extremely rude and didn't seem to care about my complaint at all. She refused to provide the information I needed and the hotel told Groupon they wouldn't refund the stay, even though we didn't touch anything in the room and they would have been able to re-sell the room. I used to work at the front desk of 3 different hotels and I cannot imagine treating guests in this manner.

The worst experience. Such a waste of money. Avoid this hotel and its rude staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Erin W,
We are so sorry to hear about your brief experience at our hotel. Everyone here is extremely passionate about delivering an amazing experience to each guest who walks through our doors and when we miss on one, it really hurts. We are very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations; however, your experience is certainly not a typical one. It is never our intention to come off rude or unhelpful with our customers, and will address your concerns internally. The frustrations you expressed about your Groupon refund can only be resolved with the company directly, and we regret if our team cannot be of any further help.
-The Inn of Chicago Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#102 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago

Property: Inn of Chicago
Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3105 (Formerly Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile. Just a half-block from the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found. We offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Choice Hotels so you can book your Inn of Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing