We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good priceline deal”
Review of Inn of Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn of Chicago
Ranked #144 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Good price but didn't think about the cost of parking! All we needed was a place to sleep, did the job. Comfy bed, clean but needed a fridge. Great location, can walk anywhere! Front desk helpful with directions and suggesting cab vs blue line. Didn't understand others bad review, this place is just fine!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Brianna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear b2olso,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you were able to secure a great deal for your stay with us. It gives us great pleasure to read that our location and staff exceeded your expectations. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

810 - 816 of 1,911 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

This place was old and dirty. Bathrooms were tiny. Corners carpets of room looked disgusting. Very basic, nothing fancy. I wore shoes in whole time unless I was in bed.

The beds were comfy with nice feather pillows. Rooftop terrace was nice but closes early.

Bar on main level was a joke. Did not open until 5pm and was closed early (from what I recall) as well. There was probably a whole 12 seats in the entire area. I asked for a wine glass before the bar opened and they said I had to wait until 5pm, the hotel staff could not get me one. really?

Overall, I would not stay there again. Creepy, old, and dirty.

NOTE: ONly 2 small elevators for whole hotel... WHich sometimes do now work properly and will take you to random floors before actual destination. Felt creepy. I took the stairs from then on in fear it would stall.

Room Tip: Rooms away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Adrienne B,
Thank you for your review. We regret if our hotel was not the best fit for you. Since we are categorized as a historic boutique hotel, our guest rooms are more unique than other traditional hotels located downtown. We hope that you find accommodations that best suit your needs on your next return to Chicago.
Be Well,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Me and my husband made a reservation and when we got there to check-in they said we needed to wait for an available room because they were overbooked. We wait for 20 minutes and we had the same situation: no room. The moment we started complaining magically a room appeared. The worst part was they gave us the most disgusting room. The employees were very rude and when we did the check-out don't even asked us how was everything.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaisPoletto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear LaisPoletto,
Thank you for your review. We regret to learn about your disappointing experience at our hotel. It is never our intention to provide our guests with such a terrible impression of our hotel. Please be aware that our guests praise our friendly hospitality efforts, and can assure you this was an anomaly. If given another opportunity, we hope to make things right and regain your confidence in us.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I regularly check TripAdvisor before bookings. I was concerned about noise before booking this room, based on other reviews. Yes, the walls seem a bit thin, but we only noticed this the morning after our first night's stay. We had gone to the Northwestern/OSU game, which didn't finish until 11pm local time. By the time we got back to the area, got some food, and went to sleep, it was 2am. So the REASON we noticed the noise in the hallways was b/c it was almost 9am the next day. Not a big deal. It was a good night's sleep, in a great location. GREAT location. And for the price?? What a deal! If you're looking for a spa treatment, pay triple and go elsewhere. If you're looking for a great "home base" as you see Chicago and enjoy its offerings, this is perfect. I'd stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Brian H,
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to read that you had a disturbance-free sleep experience at our hotel. It gives us great pleasure to read that you will be returning to us again in the near future.
Be Well,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

First things first, you should have no need to do anything other than sleep in this hotel. The location in the heart of the magnificent mile makes it the ideal base for enjoying this amazing city.

The room was small, but well equipped with a comfortable bed and an easy to control shower - always a big thing for me! My only negative in the room was that they used two sheets over the duvet rather than a cover... Probably not the most hygienic. Other than that the room meeted my needs perfectly.

The staff were always welcoming, friendly and had some great recommendations for places to eat. Plus they organised my cab to the airport so I didn't need to worry.

The coffee shop attached serves great coffee and Italian hot chocolate which is so hard to find outside of Italy.

I'd certainly return as the location was amazing and made exploring Chicago after my meetings easy.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank CYHSYF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear CYHSYF,
Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on our central location in downtown Chicago, and glad you felt the same way too. Our staff does a phenomenal job at exceeding our guests expectations, and glad they left an indelible impression on you as well. Lavazza is very convenient for guests staying with us, and all their hot beverages are delicious! We can't wait to welcome you back again soon.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

my sis and i needed an overnight for chicago's mag mile and ran across this deal on groupon. the inn was conveniently located, the staff very friendly and helpful, the rooms clean. this is an older, less roomy hotel, so the bathroom was small and the room needed a few more hooks and tabletops, but other than that it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Hotel was good value for money, room was adequate size and very clean. No major issues with bathroom. Checking in was done with ease and they were more than happy to help me with finding nearby bars, restaurants and things to do. Bar downstairs was nice, if a bit small.
Easy to walk around everywhere, even as far as Soldier Field and Willis Tower; there is a red line stop about 5 mins away if you wish to explore further.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank ketchupcatsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#104 of 191 in Chicago
1,832 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#143 of 191 in Chicago
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
FieldHouse Jones
FieldHouse Jones
#79 of 191 in Chicago
149 reviews
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#146 of 191 in Chicago
236 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#102 of 191 in Chicago
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago

Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3105 (Formerly Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $73 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago. Just a half-block from the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found. We offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn of Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing