We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money hotel in fantastic location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn of Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn of Chicago
Ranked #138 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money hotel in fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights immediately after the Labour Day weekend and we would tell anyone who wants real value for money to try this hotel. This property is in an outstanding location - 1 block off Michigan Ave, 2 blocks north of the river and a 5 min walk to train station. First impressions were good - the lobby area is pleasant with seating areas, a bar area (we didn't usethis facility but it looked fine), a reception area and an attached coffee shop (the morning coffee and muffins we had there were good and well priced). There is also a roof terrace area with seating and some shade - was too hot for me during the day but would have been a great spot in the evening had we been around at that time of day.

The doorman was always lovely and went out of his way to help with directions, advice on how to get to places etc. The reception team member that I encoutered 3 times got the job done but was less helpful. The housekeeping staff did a good job.

We were on a high floor in a queen room (1 bed). The room was not as nice as the lobby area, it was small and nothing special but it was clean and functional. The bed was very comfortable. The air conditioner was a bit noisy however we found that just running the fan at night was enough to keep the room comfortable and the noise manageable. (However we were so exhausted each night that we could have slept in any conditions!!). We didn't have any other noise issues (from street or hallways/other rooms). The bathroom was small but functional and had updated fittings. No in room safe or fridge - the later would have been a useful feature.

Cabs are available just outside the front door. Convenience stores and sandwich shops are just across the street and with the Magnificent Mile 1 block away the options for shopping and restaurants are endless. Navy Pier, John Hancock building, Gold Coast area and beaches are all within easy walking distance (and as mentioned above the river and Loop are 2 blocks away).

I love a glam hotel and this certainly isn't one but as a tourist there was so much to do in Chicago that we were only in our room to sleep and shower. The pleasant lobby made it nice enough to leave from and return to and the location was just fantastic. We were happy to use the money we saved by booking this hotel (compared to others) to enjoy the delights of Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Sharon M,

Thank you for your thorough review and thank you for choosing Inn of Chicago. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and our functional, clean accommodations. It would be pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    612
    485
    212
    169
See reviews for
275
532
155
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

First, you cannot beat the location or price. I am on the 2nd night of a 3 night stay. Skyler at the front desk is a doll. Don't complain without reason. I brought my friends over for a drink at the rooftop terrace and they were amazed (we can bring our own wine and not pay $15/glass Michigan Ave prices at their hotels). 22nd floor with awesome views. No Lake, but Michigan Ave and the skyline.

My complaints though they can easily be rectified. Throw a mini-fridge in each room. Probably a one-time cost of $75/room. Chicago meals are so huge, it would allow refrigerating them. Cost in bulk would be less than the Keurig coffeemakers and provide more bang for the buck. The air conditioner is a bit loud, but the windows open on the 22nd floor. You don't stay in your room anyway.

I went to the Four Point Sheraton, and except for their mini-fridge, my room was equal. I asked the front desk for a better room and was granted it. I can't speak for the rest of the rooms.

Probably the best value on the Magnificent Mile. If you value real value, stay here.

Room Tip: Ask the desk when you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sportinggoodsusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Sportinggoodsusa,

Thank you for your helpful review and thank you for choosing Inn of Chicago. We really appreciate your feedback and have shared your thoughtful suggestions with our managers as we strive daily to offer higher quality of service for our guests. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and our beautiful Skyline Terrace. It would be pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights and it was pretty good. The location is incredible and the staff is really friendly. Had all we needed for our stay to be pleasant. The terrace has a great view with some chilling music and it is a very nice place to relax and have some quiet time if you're stressed out or just want to get comfortable. Even though we were not there most of the time, the time we spent around, was surrounded by very friendly people who were staying at the hotel as well and staff. Couldn’t miss the “good morning” greeting from the porter at the entrance every time we left the hotel in a search for a nice breakfast. Average it was pretty clean and had our towels changed every day and the whole room clean whenever we were back. Our room was pretty spacious and quiet. Never had an issue.
I would just as to the people at the reception to be a little more kind with their clients, as they looked pissed most of the time. Still very nice place, great location and at a very reasonable price. Would definitely stay there on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anticraista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

i stayed here in a twin room for 3 nights. The reception staff are very friendly, helpful & efficient. The hotel is very close to Magnificent Mile so if you are in Chicago for shopping, its location is perfect! However if you want to sight-see, its a bit more of a walk to places such as the Shedd Aquarium, the Field Museum, Willis Tower, Millennium Park etc. It IS within walking distance, but you may get sore feet. A taxi across town from the hotel to the Field Museum for example costs about €10. The hotel is in a safe area at nighttime and there are some good eating places nearby (Pizza Uno, Rock Bottom). The only complaint I have would be the fact that wifi is so expensive in the rooms. €10 for 24 hours, and you can only connect one device at a time. There is free wifi in the lobby however. I would return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney_chris86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Inn of Chicago over Labor Day weekend. We had two 40 year olds and two seniors in their 70’s. We arrived very early because of our flights. The front desk was amazing. They stored our luggage and gave us great suggestions on what to do before our ballgame at Wrigley Field. We expected to take cabs around but they told us how to use the subway and we made out just fine. There is a nice breakfast restaurant nearby called Mary’s Café. It is just a small place but the food was awesome. The rooms were small but no problem for just two people. They do have 3 elevators and we never waited more than a few minutes. I read a lot of complaints and even with the holiday weekend we never had a problem. We enjoyed two games at Wrigley Field and then each night we relaxed at the InnBar. I’d like to give a special thank you to the bartender Jimmy. He was really nice and fun to talk to. We also enjoyed getting to know the other bartender Dan. Both of them really made our experience special. I loved the outside terrace on the 22nd floor. I’ve attached a few pictures. I would stay at the Inn of Chicago again. This was a very busy weekend and the staff made us feel special and welcome. They made our reservations for a Wendella Boat tour of the river and lake. It was the only time it rained all weekend. We did not let the rain spoil this amazing tour. Lastly, I have to agree with everyone that the location of this hotel cannot be beat.

Room Tip: The fresh squeezed orange juice at the coffee shop is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beagle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUSKEGON
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The room was very small, but the location was wonderful. My husband and I checked in and the Magnificent Mile was right around the corner so I went shopping for the afternoon. The hotel itself has been remodeled and is very nice. The lobby has a bar and its convenient to get in and out back out on to your next destination. However, be prepared to pay $52 for parking in addition to your stay, but this occurs everywhere in Chicago. We would stay again due to the reasonable price of the room.

Room Tip: Rooms are very small. Request an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KIMBERLY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

the staff was excellent, friendly and helpful. location was fabulous and the location could not have been better. we were upgraded to a king room which was very roomy. will go back. great resturants in the area and a short walk to the lake and parks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginnyhotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#102 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago

Property: Inn of Chicago
Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3105 (Formerly Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile. Just a half-block from the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found. We offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Inn of Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing