We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Inn of Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of Chicago
Ranked #138 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
“Excellent location”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights and it was pretty good. The location is incredible and the staff is really friendly. Had all we needed for our stay to be pleasant. The terrace has a great view with some chilling music and it is a very nice place to relax and have some quiet time if you're stressed out or just want to get comfortable. Even though we were not there most of the time, the time we spent around, was surrounded by very friendly people who were staying at the hotel as well and staff. Couldn’t miss the “good morning” greeting from the porter at the entrance every time we left the hotel in a search for a nice breakfast. Average it was pretty clean and had our towels changed every day and the whole room clean whenever we were back. Our room was pretty spacious and quiet. Never had an issue.
I would just as to the people at the reception to be a little more kind with their clients, as they looked pissed most of the time. Still very nice place, great location and at a very reasonable price. Would definitely stay there on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anticraista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    619
    496
    217
    173
See reviews for
279
544
160
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

i stayed here in a twin room for 3 nights. The reception staff are very friendly, helpful & efficient. The hotel is very close to Magnificent Mile so if you are in Chicago for shopping, its location is perfect! However if you want to sight-see, its a bit more of a walk to places such as the Shedd Aquarium, the Field Museum, Willis Tower, Millennium Park etc. It IS within walking distance, but you may get sore feet. A taxi across town from the hotel to the Field Museum for example costs about €10. The hotel is in a safe area at nighttime and there are some good eating places nearby (Pizza Uno, Rock Bottom). The only complaint I have would be the fact that wifi is so expensive in the rooms. €10 for 24 hours, and you can only connect one device at a time. There is free wifi in the lobby however. I would return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney_chris86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Inn of Chicago over Labor Day weekend. We had two 40 year olds and two seniors in their 70’s. We arrived very early because of our flights. The front desk was amazing. They stored our luggage and gave us great suggestions on what to do before our ballgame at Wrigley Field. We expected to take cabs around but they told us how to use the subway and we made out just fine. There is a nice breakfast restaurant nearby called Mary’s Café. It is just a small place but the food was awesome. The rooms were small but no problem for just two people. They do have 3 elevators and we never waited more than a few minutes. I read a lot of complaints and even with the holiday weekend we never had a problem. We enjoyed two games at Wrigley Field and then each night we relaxed at the InnBar. I’d like to give a special thank you to the bartender Jimmy. He was really nice and fun to talk to. We also enjoyed getting to know the other bartender Dan. Both of them really made our experience special. I loved the outside terrace on the 22nd floor. I’ve attached a few pictures. I would stay at the Inn of Chicago again. This was a very busy weekend and the staff made us feel special and welcome. They made our reservations for a Wendella Boat tour of the river and lake. It was the only time it rained all weekend. We did not let the rain spoil this amazing tour. Lastly, I have to agree with everyone that the location of this hotel cannot be beat.

Room Tip: The fresh squeezed orange juice at the coffee shop is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beagle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUSKEGON
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The room was very small, but the location was wonderful. My husband and I checked in and the Magnificent Mile was right around the corner so I went shopping for the afternoon. The hotel itself has been remodeled and is very nice. The lobby has a bar and its convenient to get in and out back out on to your next destination. However, be prepared to pay $52 for parking in addition to your stay, but this occurs everywhere in Chicago. We would stay again due to the reasonable price of the room.

Room Tip: Rooms are very small. Request an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIMBERLY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

the staff was excellent, friendly and helpful. location was fabulous and the location could not have been better. we were upgraded to a king room which was very roomy. will go back. great resturants in the area and a short walk to the lake and parks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginnyhotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at the Inn of Chicago for Lollapalooza in August. The location was fantastic; we walked to and from the festival every day, there are takeout restaurants within a block, and a 7-Eleven across the street. Dominick's grocery store two blocks over. Magnificent Mile a block over.

Our room was a good size. There were three of us staying there, and with a queen bed and a pullout couch we were comfortable, and friends came by a few times and there was plenty of room for everyone (we were in a corner room junior suite.)

We hung out on the rooftop patio the first night and it was really nice. Lots of room, nice sectional sofas with coffee tables and tables and chairs. We hung out in one corner and there were other people relaxing in other areas of the patio too. Great view of the downtown area. We had a cooler with booze and hotel security made us take it back to our room (he said, "sorry, a cooler means a party,") but he was really nice about it.

The hotel is old but has been redone in most areas and the lobby was nice. It's a historic hotel with a really fascinating background if you read up on it. (It was the place to be back in the 1920s and 30s.) The elevator is old and small and slow, but we didn't care about that. Other people might, but really, is that such a big deal? Who's in that big of a hurry on vacation?

Overall, the Inn of Chicago was awesome. Would definitely stay there again. I only knocked off one point on my rating because while it does have a lobby bar (which we never went to) it doesn't have a restaurant, so no room service. :( And no drinks on the rooftop patio.

PS - Oh yeah, and the look on the housekeeper's face when she looked in our room after we left to go out and were at the elevator waiting - priceless. Sorry about that. :/

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cozumel
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013

It was a renewed old hotel, with an excellent location. They do not have restaurant, not ecological oriented, the have a tag asking to put the towels to be wash on the floor however the washed everything, They do not have pc or business center to check mails, I supposed now a days everyone has a tablete but I didn´t want to carry anything. Their services are the basic however the prices were the regular of any other full service hotel. However the location was worthed.

Room Tip: The hotel is one block from the magnificent mile and close to tours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calcerre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#101 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#73 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago

Property: Inn of Chicago
Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3105 (Formerly Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago. Just a half-block from the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found. We offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn of Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing