We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great, room an after thought”
Review of Inn of Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn of Chicago
Ranked #145 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is right off the Magnificent Mile and close to all the shopping and restaurants you could want. The room we had is a little drab, but efficient. The best thing about the room was the shower, good water pressure, and the marble floor classed it up a bit. The towels were soft and fluffy, if not big. We had a nice reception even though we Pricelined this stay. My membership in the frequent stayer program was recognized and we asked for and were given a refurbished room on a lower floor. Room air conditioning was working well and we were as warm as we wanted to be. The bed sagged, so it doesn't seem to have undergone the refresh with the room. Even though we were on a lower floor (4th) we had no trouble with street noise. There is a big hospital and emergency vehicles pass, but I didn't hear them. The room was spartan. Good flat screen with satellite that lost reception occassionally. Two small elevators were in service and we didn't have to wait much. Noticed several Amtrak badged guests and found that they stay here during layovers between trips in and out of Chicago.
Location was perfect for us, close to Magnificent Mile, shopping, restaurants, Trader Joe's a block away, public transportation very convenient. Three famous pizza places in walking distance. There is a coffee shop/ cafe attached to the hotel. We had breakfast items there one morning and found it OK. Good for a quick breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrenchieFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear FrenchieFlyer,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property. We are happy you had an overall positive experience. We agree that our location is ideal for every type of traveller. Please visit us again soon.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 967 of 1,892 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

It's a shame the rooms aren't as nice as the lobby. When I arrived the staff was very pleasant and I was able to check in a few hours early. However, after a very slow elevator ride upstairs, I was disheartened to see the room. The furniture was dusty and it looked pretty beaten up. The room also had a funky layout. The room was small, but it's an old hotel so I can't fault them for that.
I booked this on Hotwire and was stuck with it. I wouldn't choose to stay here again. It is at least a block off Michigan Ave and an easy ten minute walk to the Loop.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Brian L,
Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that our rooms didn't meet your expectations. We have passed along your feedback to management so they could address anything within our control. We do hope you reconsider and decide to join us again in the future.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

stayed here with my family in august and i'd have to say the hotel is mediocre... The lobby is really nice and the location is near everything which is a plus.. however the rooms are on the small side... i mean i went with 7 people all of which were women.. so you can imagine how that turned out! it was quite difficult to get around. But again like i said the location was what mattered most... and we barely spent time in the room anyways!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meds177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear meds177,
Thank you for your review of our property. We agree that our location gives our guests unparalleled access to all Chicago has to offer. We apologize that you found our rooms to be on the small side. Please do visit us again soon.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you are staying in Chicago you should spend the bare minimum of time in your hotel room. That said, for the price of admission, The Inn's rooms are a little on the small side and cold. The location is great, walking distance to lots of great restaurants and bars, and the proximity to public transportation means that attractions and sites around the city are readily accessible. The front desk personnel were helpful and friendly. Overall, its an OK hotel-nothing offensive, nothing amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boone406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Boone406,
Thanks for your review of our property. We agree that our location provides great access to plethora of Chicago landmarks and attractions. We are also heartened by your feedback of our wonderful, hardworking staff. We hope to have you visit us again soon.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here once. We were impressed by the lobby when we walked in, it was better than we expected. The location is on the lake side of Michigan ave and close to a lot of the downtown shopping and restaurants. The room is a pretty standard room thats a bit on the small side. There was really nothing wrong this hotel but nothing that made me want to come back either.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jawkurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Jawkurt,
Thanks for your review. We are happy you enjoyed our location and hope you do visit us again in the future, as we consider ourselves one of the best values in the downtown Chicago market. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location, close to public transport, close to Navy Pier and the Mag Mile. And most of all only 3 walking blocks of the Sheraton which held the Cub Convention. Small rooms/bathrooms, however very clean and a great value. Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Marta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Marta S,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to learn how much you enjoyed our close proximity to Navy Pier and the Mag Mile. Thank you for recommending our hotel to fellow travelers, and it would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel was right near Magnificent Mile and had all we needed. The room we had was standard and not overly roomy, but fine for the amount of time we spent in it. The I of C might be slightly overpriced but we didn't have any issues other than having to go to the lobby for internet, more an inconvenience than a problem. I would stay here again for the convenience and a bed to sleep in.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 02KJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear KathBoyd,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to learn how much you enjoyed our close proximity to the Mag Mile. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#107 of 192 in Chicago
1,793 reviews
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#144 of 192 in Chicago
2,063 reviews
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#124 of 192 in Chicago
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago

Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3105 (Formerly Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $64 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago. Just a half-block from the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found. We offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Inn of Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing