We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE .... FOOD.... QUITE TASTY”
Review of The Gage

The Gage
Reserve with OpenTable
The Gage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 9,530 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Cross street: Madison
Transit: The Brown, Purple, Green, Orange and Pink Lines drop you off at Madison St. and Wabash St. (just a few blocks from the restaurant). The Red Line drops you off at Monroe St. and State St. (just a few blocks from the restaurant. The 3, 4, X4, 14, 26, 127, 145, 147, 148, and 151 bus routes all stop within a block of the restaurant.
Description: The Gage is an iconic restaurant and tavern on Michigan ave. We invite you to savor our delicious, upscale comfort food, fine wines, boutique beers and whiskeys while enjoying the relaxing ambience of our vintage decor.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“NICE .... FOOD.... QUITE TASTY”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Loved the apps.... Pate on Board..... excellent. Lamb meatballs... very tasty. Then had Venison burger with a side of their very filling and different "poutine fries" . Excellent. The only reason I would give it 4 instead of 5.. The place is crazy busy... The wait staff are good but the busboys stand around a bit making a table top even in the bar area a longer wait then is necessary. It also seems to be the new "professionals and business owners" place. Therefore some of the patrons were always checking themselves out...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rkounsny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    909
    598
    143
    39
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
385 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Excellent business lunch spot”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

When it comes to places to meet a client this is a great spot. It can be loud though depending on where you sit. Always full during the week for lunch and they serve some great food. Haven't been for dinner before but heard great things. Overall a good place. Not a destination restaurant for tourists in my opinion, but great spot for locals who work or live in the neighborhood. Reservations recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank App19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I joined friends here recently for a really great evening of dining; the duck breast with house made sausage was excellent, as was the scallop appetizer. Our waitress was very knowledgable about the food and wine and numerous staff attended to the table, a job well done. It seed to be quite a boisterous after work crowd when we arrived,though it did calm down a bit. Lots of dark wood booths, and a great vibrant downtown city feel offering very well put together dishes and competent service; we were all quite pleased despite a noticeable noise level.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Capecodchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A Chicago Must Try”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I met a friend here for lunch during the week. Not only was the food amazing, but the service was even better. The space is wide open and tables are well placed. Our server was well informed about the menu and was able to help us mace great choices. What a great "taste" of Chicago. I can't wait to go back for the Buffalo Chicken Thigh Sandwich.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Love this place! If you live in the city or are a visiting tourist, I absolutely suggest checking it out - ask for the server named Stephen, he is awesome! We were a table of three girls and he tailored his drink and food suggestions to exactly what we were each looking for.

The atmosphere is great - it's full of people and has a great decor, but isn't jam packed so that it's uncomfortable. It's like an upscale version of a great Chicago pub with great food. Come for drinks after work or a great meal. The scallops are amazing!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTravel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gage also viewed

 

Been to The Gage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing